We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterford Mid Week”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I took advantage of a great mid week offier to visit Waterford for hsitorical and genealogy reasons. I was delighted with the location of the hotel, friendliness of the staff, dleicious breakfast and opprtunity to relax. i would defintiely recommend as good to stay in. The bar was a bit on the dark side and could do with brightenting up the evening meal there was adequate, didn't eat in the restaurant but would suggest to give it a go judging by the breakfast served there. The cost for 2 at €170 was excellent value with 2 brekafast and 1 dinner included.

Room Tip: As the hotel is slightly off the main road none of the room have aparticulary good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor and the room was perfect. It was lovely and clean and i couldnt of asked for a nicer room. As it was my boyfriends bday i asked for a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. When we got to our room there was a bday card from the hotel which was so thoughtful. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel was in a perfect location. Reception staff were lovely especially linda (i think that was her name) who made our stay extra special. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, will def be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Would recommend this hotelfor sure. We stayed in this hotel on a one night trip to Waterford. Prices we got from the hotel directly were very reasonable for B&B. The hotel is very well located in the centre of the town. The pictures on the website shed a very good light on the hotel and may be a little deceaving when you arrive in. There is parking onsite which is a bonus. The rooms were a very good size with a nice bathroom. Due to the central location the rooms are noisy in the mornings so probably not the best location if you are looking for a lie in. The hotel bar is roomy with friendly staff willing to point you in any direction around the city. Staff in reception are very friendly upon arrival, although this is another hotel who has adapted the recent trend of not letting people check in until 3pm but check out is 12pm! Breakfast is fine, it wont blow you away and we were lucky that people at our table had already got tea as we were not offered any during our breakfast. In general we were happy with out stay and will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I really can't understand how this hotel has managed to hold 4 stars.

We were put in room 209, on the second floor looking out into an apartment block. A few little things that took from the room were; the handle broken off the window, surfaces are in urgent need of a sanding & revarnishing, there was a few drops of what looked like blood on the floor and the shower hose holder was broke which resulted in my partner being hit on the head several times while trying to shower. My main problem was the noise, luckily I was up at 6am to start working, because that's when the bin tuck stopped outside the room and caused a terrible racket! You can hear almost everything outside, from people talking to cars going up and down the lane. It felt like the window was constantly open. The room was fairly clean, however it didn't feel it due to the surfaces being in a disgraceful condition. The TV remote didn't work, and there was a huge mark across the screen. There was also only one cup on the tea tray, which doesn't really suit a room with two people staying. I know all I've mentioned are little picky things, however they do all add up.

The hotel decor could do with a face lift, it's extremely dated and a more modern approach would be much better suited for this hotel. Better sound proofing could be beneficial. I couldn't help but overhear several couples enjoying themselves in the two nights I stayed there. Not so much from our room, but from the corridors it bounces around the walls and can be heard everywhere. The lifts could do with some upgrades, I often felt like the lift was about to break down when I was in it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel claimes to be Waterfords only 4 star hotel, i'ts not even close to a 4 star hotel. We booked a double and single room, got 3 single beds. The room was clean but badly needs to be re decorated. Also very basic facilities in room. The lobby is small and also a little shabby. The so called car park is a joke. this hotel is only an average 3 star hotel and there are far better 3 star hotels in Waterford.

Room Tip: If you like a little quality dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at this Hotel at the weekend .It is easy to find was reasonably priced.
It has a carpark which is a strange shape and fills up very early.
Food was very good and the bar is nice and modern (if extremely quiet)
All the staff we met were extremely helpful and very polite.
Room was clean and had everything you needed.One little bottle of shower gel and shampoo between two people was not enough really.
We stayed at the back of the hotel which was recommended by other reviewers It was a little noisy as staff started at 6am moving barrels etc
Bed was a bit disapointing. Poor quality and not very comfortable.
The rooms on the hotel website are not the rooms we got,obviously these are limited but why hide what the majority of rooms look like on the web, they are perfectly adequate.
No wi-fi in our room,didnt need it as it wasnt a business trip and i'm sure if i had asked it would be sorted out.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time. Reception staff were wonderful really helpful. Food was fantastic, really good hotel menu for just e20. Staff all seemed to really enjoy there jobs. All in all a great hotel, well run, lovely rooms, food and staff. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,209 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing