We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burglary”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Burglary”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Fitzwilton hotel is a very modern nice hotel. The hotel offers great services and a great view of the river . Although this is all nice and fancy there was a burglary that occurred during the night as I was asleep with my family apart from my father . My father had gone to the bar to meet up with friends and have a couple of drinks. As my father was gone my mother who is a very light sleeper heard somebody come into the bedroom. She knew it was not my father as she checked the time after the person had left the room anyway . she hear somebody enter although she stayed where she was quietly while I was still asleep. In the morning I woke up to see my father and mother searching desperately for something . she was looking for her handbag which was taken by the person who came into the room . she rang the guards and told them the story . a few weeks later she got a call from the police saying that 8 more handbags had gone missing and they were suspecting that it was one of the staff members which the main swipe key .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasmine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Hi Jasmine,

thank you for your post regarding your visit last July. I am very sorry to hear what happened to you and your parents. It was actually the hotel who called the police immediatley to have this awful matter resolved for which we are deeply sorry and had no control over. I have to say in this instance there was not 8 handbags robbed and I doubt very much the local guardai would firstly call you with this information and secondly, falsley accuse a member of our staff without any proof of who was in your room. I appreciate the fact the handbag was stolen for which we greatly apologise however elaborating the story helps nobody. PLease feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    401
    275
    158
    102
See reviews for
218
640
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I alongside two other bridesmaids were organising a hen for 30 odd people and the hotel were very helpful and accommodating before we arrived, but once we were there they went above and beyond their call of duty, reception , housekeeping everything and everybody, the food was delicious, the waiting staff were great but danny in the restaurant ( do not know surname ) went above and beyond to organise our clubbing activities and could noo have been more helpful in getting the best deal possible for us whn we arrived, true gent. I hand on my heart cannot praise this hotel enpough and will always recommend people go to waterford and 100% stay with the fitzwilton...and give danny a pay rise!

Room Tip: No tips all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you kindly Jenn for your review.

We are all delighted you and your colleagues had a lovely stay at the Fitzwilton and enjoyed your visit to Waterford city. I am also happy to see your dining experience was delicious. I will be more than satisfied to pass your very kind words on to all of the team - especially Danny.
Thank you and your colleagues once again for taking the time to write. We sincerely hope we get to welcome you all again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Arrived at the hotel on the Saturday during the Waterford Harvest Festival, for a one night stay with husband and 2 kids. Booking in was smooth, our family room on the second floor had floor-ceiling windows overlooking the river, bright, airy room, spotlessly clean. Plenty of toileteries in the bathroom, brilliant shower. Beds some of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. Also, no noise from the street below. The staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. The bar was modern with comfortable seating, looking out onto the street, great selection of drinks (even Mojioto on tap!) The highlight though was the breakfast, vast selection to choose from, both cooked and continental, and again the staff very efficient and friendly. Will definitely return to this hotel, well done to all there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WexfordLizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hi Wexfordlizi,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and that your room was to your satisafction. I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to our friendly staff. I will also let the chef know how pleased you were with our extensive breakfast buffet. (and our Mojito's :) )

We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I took advantage of a great mid week offier to visit Waterford for hsitorical and genealogy reasons. I was delighted with the location of the hotel, friendliness of the staff, dleicious breakfast and opprtunity to relax. i would defintiely recommend as good to stay in. The bar was a bit on the dark side and could do with brightenting up the evening meal there was adequate, didn't eat in the restaurant but would suggest to give it a go judging by the breakfast served there. The cost for 2 at €170 was excellent value with 2 brekafast and 1 dinner included.

Room Tip: As the hotel is slightly off the main road none of the room have aparticulary good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor and the room was perfect. It was lovely and clean and i couldnt of asked for a nicer room. As it was my boyfriends bday i asked for a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. When we got to our room there was a bday card from the hotel which was so thoughtful. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel was in a perfect location. Reception staff were lovely especially linda (i think that was her name) who made our stay extra special. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, will def be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Would recommend this hotelfor sure. We stayed in this hotel on a one night trip to Waterford. Prices we got from the hotel directly were very reasonable for B&B. The hotel is very well located in the centre of the town. The pictures on the website shed a very good light on the hotel and may be a little deceaving when you arrive in. There is parking onsite which is a bonus. The rooms were a very good size with a nice bathroom. Due to the central location the rooms are noisy in the mornings so probably not the best location if you are looking for a lie in. The hotel bar is roomy with friendly staff willing to point you in any direction around the city. Staff in reception are very friendly upon arrival, although this is another hotel who has adapted the recent trend of not letting people check in until 3pm but check out is 12pm! Breakfast is fine, it wont blow you away and we were lucky that people at our table had already got tea as we were not offered any during our breakfast. In general we were happy with out stay and will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I really can't understand how this hotel has managed to hold 4 stars.

We were put in room 209, on the second floor looking out into an apartment block. A few little things that took from the room were; the handle broken off the window, surfaces are in urgent need of a sanding & revarnishing, there was a few drops of what looked like blood on the floor and the shower hose holder was broke which resulted in my partner being hit on the head several times while trying to shower. My main problem was the noise, luckily I was up at 6am to start working, because that's when the bin tuck stopped outside the room and caused a terrible racket! You can hear almost everything outside, from people talking to cars going up and down the lane. It felt like the window was constantly open. The room was fairly clean, however it didn't feel it due to the surfaces being in a disgraceful condition. The TV remote didn't work, and there was a huge mark across the screen. There was also only one cup on the tea tray, which doesn't really suit a room with two people staying. I know all I've mentioned are little picky things, however they do all add up.

The hotel decor could do with a face lift, it's extremely dated and a more modern approach would be much better suited for this hotel. Better sound proofing could be beneficial. I couldn't help but overhear several couples enjoying themselves in the two nights I stayed there. Not so much from our room, but from the corridors it bounces around the walls and can be heard everywhere. The lifts could do with some upgrades, I often felt like the lift was about to break down when I was in it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing