We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband, sister, brother in law, nephew and I stayed here for three nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Nice modern hotel in a great location. Very friendly staff and a great service is offered. The food is very good too with a lovely breakfast each morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here foe 2 nights recently. Great value in city centre location. Free car park, walking distance to all attractions. Lovely pubs nearby. Superb restaurant in the hotel, one of the best steaks I ever had. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. Found all the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danno678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

first impression of the fitzwilton upon arrival was a mixture boutique/budget hotel. the room was clean but toilet seat was broken and the door rattled continously with any movement outside in hallway. we were on a meal deal but weren't allowed to eat in the restaurant and had to dine in the bar which was uncomfortable and lacked any atmosphere. food was nice and waiting staff were friendly. this is a non smoking hotel with no heated outdoor space. overall this hotel did not live up to our expectations of a 4* more like a 3*/budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owensmark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your review,

I am sorry to see you had mixed feelings about your visit. May I firstly say that it was not that you were not allowed to eat in the Restaurant, the great value package you booked including 2 nights B&B, plus a 2 Course Meal from our all day bar menu, including a glass of wine/beer/soft drink + tea/coffee for €79.00 per person. It states clearly upon booking that this offer includes a Bar Menu.

I am delighted you found the food nice and the staff friendly also. We also state on the website that the hotel is entirely non-smoking and that there is a smoking area to the front of the Bar area on the ground floor.

In addition, I apologize that your toilet seat was damaged, this should never have been the case. We would have been more than happy to move your room if notified - but as mentioned, it should not have been in that condition upon your check - in.

Thank you for your comments,

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice hotel and very friendly staff. Food was good as was the location. rooms are nice and clean just little things in terms of 4 star experience I missed. I thought the dinner menu was quite limited in terms of the dishes it offered. Breakfast was nice but no fried or poached eggs or yougurts on offer.
No leisure facilities such as a pool or gym or even a games room for children or no dvd players in the rooms. No option of pay movies either.
No buscuits or hot chocolate on tea trays in rooms.wifi was hit and miss. As I say all minor little things

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated. I will happily pass your comments to our friendly staff also. I am delighted to see you also enjoyed your dining experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. Fried/Poached eggs and yoghurt is readily available every morning at our breakfast buffet and I am sorry to see you were not able to avail of these. We do not have leisure facilities on-site but are affiliated with the nearby Kingfisher club at discounted rates for all guests. I am sorry we fell short on some details for you. I do hope you will chose to stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel on your next visit to Waterford. Than k you once again for taking the time to share your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

spent weekend in hotel was good let down by the restaurant on sat night dinner how thry can run out of something by half 8 is strange to me apart from that everything else was quite good would say its a good 3 star not 4 star

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hello Dublinbeko,

thank you for your review. Though I am pleased you found the hotel to be good, I am disappointed to see your restaurant experience was not up to the standards we aspire to achieve. I too find it strange that we could run out of a food item by 8pm, and I assure you I will give this my personal attention.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and I hope you will visit the Fitzwilton Hotel on your next visit to Waterford.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst on business in Waterford, all staff were very helpful and knowledgeable a credit to the Fitzwilton. The Hotel is tastefully decorated and rooms large and well fitted out. Breakfast had very good quality selection on buffet and both bar and restaurant meals nice. I left a shirt in my room upon departure and upon realising this contacted them and they posted on to me without hesitation, they really do have 5 star customer commitment

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to all staff concerned. In addition, I will pass your kind words to the kitchen team regarding the wonderful food for breakfast, bar and dinner. Customer commitment/service is number one on our list of priorities at the Fitzwilton Hotel and I am truly delighted to see you experience this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel.


Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice hotel , probably more a good 3 star than 4. Whole team were very friendly. My room was modern and clean with a comfortable bed.


Evening meal nice with prompt room service and tasted very fresh. I didn't Have time for breakfast but the porter kindly provided me with a great breakfast to go - much needed

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hello Manchester980,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see as with many other reviewers you found our staff to be very friendly and am also happy to see you were satisfied with your room and facilities.

Thank you for dining in Restaurant Chez - K's and experiencing the great food and service. Gladly, you did not have to entirely miss breakfast next morning and I will pass your kind words to our porter who looked after your needs.

We hope to welcome you to the Fitzwilton Hotel again soon,

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing