We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but a little dusty...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but a little dusty...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

I stayed at the Fitzwilton for three nights a couple of weeks ago and was happy with the experience overall. Like a previous reviewer said, it was the little things that brought this hotel down... in this case the little thing was once again cleanliness.

I'm not saying that it was filthy, however over the time I was there it was evident that the housekeeping staff literally vacuumed around the bed and no place else. Dusty patches inside the door of the room were left during the entire stay - hoovering in the corners was certainly not done regularly. The ledge over the bed seemed to have layers of built up dust on it and it certainly wasn't touched while I was staying there. Not what you'd expect.

I realise it is only a little dust, but it is these things which could be solved in a few extra seconds during a room clean that make you wonder about the hygiene of the place in general.

There needs to be much higher standards of cleaning in the bedrooms and more inspection of these standards by management.

  • Liked — comfortable bed and free wifi
  • Disliked — lots of dusty surfaces in the bedroom!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank behand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    385
    261
    156
    100
See reviews for
212
615
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We stayed here in September 2007 for two nights. Very reasonable price and very good service and facilities for what you pay.

The very modern bedroom was cosy with a large soft beds and clean sleek bathroom.

Breakfast in the restaurant was nice and the service was faultless. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — Nice large and modern rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here along with another couple. We weren't supposed to be stayin here (we had booked into another hotel through a website that will remain nameless only to find the hotel we had originally booked was closed and a building site!!!) We were virtually stranded in Waterford when a cab driver told us about a new hotel that had opened. It was the Fitzwilton. They were so nice to us, they sorted us out with rooms for the weekend and were so friendly and helpful. Only really ate breakfast in the hotel but the food was very good, waiting staff were a little on the slow side but after a night out in the city the night before we were all moving at a snails pace!
I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel, I would have no qualms whatsoever recommending this hotel to a friend or family member, in fact I have already!! Top marks!!!!

  • Liked — The rooms were lovely!!!
  • Disliked — Waiting staff a bit slow at breakfast time, but they were fine really
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGirl353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

Booked this hotel through its parent group website for the incredible rate of €19/night for the room! The room was modern and relatively spacious with a double and single bed. Location is great, less than a five minute walk to the main square. As has been mentioned, parking is *tight* and very limited - 36 spaces (they're numbered) for 91 rooms. Staff seemed fine from the limited contact we had with them - we didn't eat here.

A few minor negative points. The pillows were really uncomfortable and need to be replaced by something a little less cheap and the shower/bath used a curtain rather than a door and naturally billowed all over you as you showered! There was also quite a bit of guest noise in the corridors one night - I get the impression that the hotel is used by stag/hen groups at weekends.

These points excepted, we were very happy with the hotel, which we felt bordered on four star.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Drzava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

My husband and I stayed here on the 31st of December, drove up from Dublin. It looks like a new hotel, easy to find- too bad we couldnt park in the hotel parking lot as it was full, reception could have been friendlier.
Bar very nice, ok staff. They ignore you until you actually wave at them for attention.
Hotel restaurant "Dish" outstanding food, rude asian waitress that almost bit our head off when we went in the next morning to sit down for breakfast.
All in all i would go back as the rooms were lovely, clean and new but for this to be a top class hotel the staff needs to be told to be a bit nicer.

  • Liked — Room/Food/Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalianinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2007

Was not sure what to expect when I booked this Hotel for a weekend. The minute I walked in through the door of the hotel I knew I had nothing to worry about. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left we were treated excellently. Staff were both friendly and helpful. The rooms were top class and the whole hotel was spotless at all times. Food was also great and very well priced

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean rooms
  • Disliked — Car park was a little tight for room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

I have stayed in the fitzwilton before with my Girlfriend back in feb of this year. So we decided to vist it again after the lovely time we had the first time.
First visit:
Food was great
Nice staff
great rooms
Lovely hotel

Second Visit;
Staff were rude
food was not nice what so ever
Rooms were great
Lovely hotel


When we were checking in the lady(seemed to be Scottish) at the front desk would not even look at me while speaking to me I gave her my name and she took the details and handed me the room key without telling what room or floor we were on.
Went to the bar to have some food and after our first vist I thought it would have been great I was mistaken. I ordered the steak and it came out with in 4-5mins I was quite shocked and said to my girlfriend wow that was super quick, as we ate I found the steak to be dry and cold in the centre and it seemed to be cooked early on and just pan fried to quickly heat it up.

On leaving the same girl was at the front desk I told her the room number that we were checking out from and she said ok........That was it no receipt no thank you nothing.
Why ruin a great hotel with staff and food like that Im sad to say I WONT be staying again for the 3rd time due to the food and staff.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonnytraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing