We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay in the Fitzwilton Hotel and we were very happy with every aspect of our stay there.Every single member of staff we met was helpful, courteous and friendly especially Oresta and Danny who we met a few times.We ate dinner there one night which was nicer than the one we ate in a city centre restaurant and our breakfast was delicious both mornings.Top class cocktails made in the bar by Davy too! We were there midweek so it was quiet in the hotel and bar but Waterford itself was very quiet so I wouldn't take this as a reflection of the hotel. We would happily recommend it to others and hope to return to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for the first time last weekend - good value for the price and paid €55 for a room for the night - room perfectly fine - view from the back of the hotel not great but quiet enough - good night sleep had - the bar a bit strange in that very quiet indeed even late at night - however found that Waterford very quiet in general at this time of year.....would definitely stay here again as well located

Brgds
John Kiely

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmanc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Hi Mr. Kiely,

thank you for your visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your first time visiting and that more importantly that it will not be your last. We do indeed offer fantastic value at the Fitzwilton for all our varied room types. All of our rooms are spacious and have all been newly decorated. Sorry your view was dissappointing - we will happily allocate you a river facing view on your next visit. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again for your kind words,

Kindest Regards and a Happy New Year

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my mother for the new year and it was the worst new year i ever had. I had worked all over the christmas and i was really looking forward to my break only for it to be ruined by this hotel. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and have never felt i needed to write a review but this time i feel it is a must for other people to be aware of this hotel. We arrived at the hotel around 12.40 on monday afternoon, our room was not ready which was understandable as we were early so we waited in the bar. The service in the bar was very bad and the barman was very rude to my mother she asked him to bring the drinks over to our table and he said "No" she had to wait, she sat down after a few mins and he still never came over to us eventually i went to the bar and he left me standing for at least 5 mins before serving me, never a please thankyou nothing. At 3pm my mother went to reception to ask about the room and the receptionist said oh sorry we forgot about yous. Great start! We got to the room which was supposed to be an excutive suite which i had paid for in advance and it was just a double room to me. No robes, slippers, wine, water etc as advertised on the hotels website. We complained to the manager and they sent up 2 small bottles of wine and 2 pairs of slippers. The new years dinner was unbeliveable, although the food was barely edible, it took 3 hours to serve the meal. There is alot more i would like to say about this hotel but just dont have the room.All in all it was a awful place to stay, i would never recommend this hotel to anybody and would never stay in it again. Another thing was on new years day when we went for breakfast only the young girl at the door said good morning, the so called Manager Ms -------, who was in the breakfast room and who we had complained to the day before did not even acknowledge myself and my mother, she made us feel very uncomfortable like we had done something wrong and it was very very unprofessional. This should definitely not be classed as a 4 star hotel maybe 2/3 at best. Louise Dublin

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi Louise,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am very surprised to read the barman actually refused to serve drinks to your table as all service in the Met Bar at the Fitzwilton Hotel is table service. Plus to be left standing at the bar for an additional 5 minutes plus is unacceptable on our part. I do apologise your executive room was not prepared with all the trimmings as advetised - wine, water, robes & slippers, daily newspapers etc... I am confused as to how you found the New Years meal both unbelieveable and barely edible. I do not wish to doubt you though I am fully aware it took nowhere near 3 hours to serve the New Years Eve meal, I am sorry you feel you were waiting that long. I am dissappointed to see you would not reccommend our hotel in the future and also to see you did not enjoy your visit to Waterford and the Fitzwilton Hotel. Thank you once more for sharing your experience and I am sorry it was not a more positive one on this occassion.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

hotel was very good but bar food was poor standard and represented poor value for money. The hotel was very clean. The reception staff were helpful. The breakfast was good. Parking was provided free. WIFi was free and reasonable quality. The room was good size warm clean and comfortable. The bar food was disappointing. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Try the Gingerman pub down the town for good quality and good value food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Fitzwilton has seen better days. The interior is chipped and stained, cheap materials. The family room had no fridge, just an extra bed in a normal room. The staff did not replace tea and milk over night. The breakfast was of poor quality and taste. The staff were efficient but abrupt.

It is not a 4 star hotel, a 3 star at best.

It is clean, quiet and well located in Waterford city. The price was fine.

We stayed here a few years back and it was much better then.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have no view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMiWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is situated only two minutes walk from shops, bars and restaurants, and has it's own free car park. The food in the restaurant is very good and everywhere was clean with friendly, helpful staff.

The bar area was disappointing and set out like a New York diner with plastic chairs and benches. Our room was quite small and dark, with little storage space (no drawers at all); and there was no-where to blow dry hair near a mirror. There was a mirror in a strange place down the side of the wardrobe!!!! The bathroom was OK, but the shower was too high to reach and there was no face cloth! Unfortunately the bed was terrible - it creaked when we moved and shook when one of us turned over. There was a small TV on the wall.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading your room which could be better than the one allocated to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Halfy,

Thank you for visiting the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am pleased to see our very central location was to your benefit. I will happily pass your kind words to our kitchen and also to our very friendly staff.
I am sorry to see tha bar was not to your satisfaction. I can assure you, the booths and chairs are in fact real leather and not plastic. I regret to see also that your room was clearly not to your expectation for which I apologise. We are often complimented on how comfortable our rooms and beds are so am sorry to see your room was not to our usual high standards. As a 4* property all of our rooms need to be of a certain size which we exceed in all rooms.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us and we hope to welcome you again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We came upon the Fitzwilton Hotel via booking.com and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. They provided great advice on what to do in the city and were helpful in all matters.

The bar was cozy and even attracted locals. There was a small parking lot, but we got a space and it was free. The wifi worked well and the rooms were clean, big (for Irish standards, but not by American) and modern.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goudwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hello Goudwing,

Thank you for sharing your pleasent experience at the 4* Fitzwilton Hotel. As always, we love when people post about the friendliness and experience of our wonderful staff of which the Fitzwilton Hotel prides itself on. I am delighted also to see you enjoyed the faclilities of the Met Bar and that your room was also to your expectations. I trust you had a pleasent visit to the Fitzwilton and Waterford City and I hope we get to welcome you and yours again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing