We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Got a present of a groupon voucher for this weekend from friends. When we arrived I got parking in the hotel car park and it was great to have off-street parking. On Checking in the lady at the reception was very nice and welcomed us to the hotel and said she hoped we would have a great stay with them and if we have any issues to contact reception. Our room on the 4th floor (421) was great, large clean room and my wife was delighted with the full length mirror. The bed we found very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping.
The breakfast which was self service was very good and relaxing. The breakfast Staff were good.
We found the met bar very good and even got table service, the Staff here were Second to none, they were great and well able to make cocktails too.
Overall I think this is a great hotel and the staff are A1. Will be back again soon.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Thebiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Myself and my husband have been to Waterford 3 times and have stayed at this hotel twice. I would highly recommend it - Staff where very friendly, room was lovely and spacious, Fantastic location and the food was delicious! We really enjoyed ourselves and couldnt falut the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I recently organised my sisters hen in the Fitzwilton Hotel and I was delighted with the weekend. The bar and restaurant staff as well as house keeping were extremely nice and helpful throughout our stay. We had a meal in the restaurant on the Friday night which was beautiful. Could not fault the food and there was great variety on the menu.We also organised a cocktail class with the hotel which was one of the highlights of the weekend, the girl who did the class got everyone involved and made sure we had a great day. The hotel in general was immaculate and very modern. The location of the hotel was amazing and everything was in walking distance. The only thing that left the stay down was one member of staff in the reception who was quite rude on arrival and was totally confused with regards to our booking. I would however highly recommend this hotel especially to hen groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMccarthy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had booked a weekend stay for my wifes birthday, however was told by e-mail 2 days before our trip that the hotel was closed for 3 weeks due to flood damage.
In the e-mail it said that "The booking deposit you have paid will be refunded directly to your card." I was disappointed, however I presumed that it was beyond their control and thought by the wording of the mail that my booking had been cancelled. I then got a call 2 days later asking if I wanted to rebook a different date or cancel. I thought this was strange as the mail had made out that my booking would be cancelled. I asked for it to be cancelled and presumed that the deposit would be refunded straight away as it was a laser card not a credit card.
Fast forward 4 days and I send a mail asking where my deposit is and am told that I can take up to 10 days to process.
In my eyes this is not good enough and I felt that the least the hotel could have done to alleviate the disappointment of having your weekend away cancelled at the last minute was to refund the money straight away.
Anyway in the end it took 16 working days and numerous e-mails to have my deposit returned. The reason for this I was told was "Unfortunately you were the only guest who the system missed on the list of auto refunds."
It seems coincidental that out of 1200 refunds (a number given to me by the hotel) that I was the only one to be left off the refund list after complaining about the delay.
Anyway, this experience underlines the fact that some people should definitely not be in customer facing roles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank DublinPeterw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi again Peter,

Thank you for your comments - to reiterate my explanation to your complaint which as you are aware I have replied to you peronsally, through social media and through failte Ireland and Tripadvisor already - the hotel was badly damaged by water and closed for three weeks. Thankfully, we are now back up and running after a full refurb and the hotel lobby, bar and restaurant has been given a full makeover and looks fantastic. I have sent confirmation from the web company that was dealing with depsoit refunds to Failte Ireland as requested which states 'that they somehow missed your depsit for €17.00'. I am deeply sorry you had to wait so long for the monies to be refunded but as explained - our servers, computers and such were also damaged in the flood which further delayed some issues being resolved. I apologise for the inconvenience but the temporary closure of the property was out of our hands as we were unaware we would be closed for 3 weeks due to flooding.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and I do hope you will accept this by way of apology for the inconvenience that was experienced.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After a 5 hour drive we got a great welcome from the Reception staff in this city based hotel. The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished and it shows; the room was lovely and spacious with a full bathroom and there was plenty heat to keep my wife comfy.
The restaurant and bar had a modern theme, were both very comfortable and offered an extensive menu. We ate in the restaurant on the first night of our 2-night break and found the choice and quality of the the food excellent. Breakfast on each morning was the usual self service with a really good selection of good quality hot and quality food. My particular favourite was the homely brown, almost black, grain breads on offer.
The actual city of Waterford was a pleasant venue for weekend break with enough to see and, of course, a good selection of shops for my wife to browse.
The only negative point over the entire weekend was the amount of dog 'mess' on the pavements throughout the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900Divvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hi Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write. Yes you are correct, we have just finished a complete refurbishment of the hotels main lobby, bar & restaurant area and I do agree they look fantastic. I am delighted to see you room was to your liking and also that you enjoyed the wonderful food on offer at Restaurant Chez - K's & The Met Cafe Bar. I will be happy to pass your kind words to our chef also about the wonderful homemade breads we bake freshly at the hotel each morning - I am glad you enjoyed them and hope you got to take a loaf with you when you were leaving. I am delighted to see also that you enjoyed our central location which is within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, bars etc...

We look forward to welcoming you and yours to the Fitzwilton Hotel on your next visit to Waterford.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Myself and my husband stay here every single time we visit Waterford and on every single occasion we really really enjoy our selfs. We couldn't fault this beautiful hotel in any way.
Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Good morning reviewer,

Thank you once again for sharing your recent visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. We are delighted you and your husband enjoy your visit so much on every occassion and that is what we strive to achieve at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We greatly appreciate your very kind words and we look forward as always to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Overall the hotel was very average, we were very disappointed in the standard of the room, it was extremely basic and the bed was very uncomfortable.I find it hard to believe it is a 4 start! On the upside, the food is the hotel was very nice and extremely reasonable and the location was fantastic!

Room Tip: We didn't upgrade but I did noticed when we were leaving that upgrades were only 15euro so I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear reviewer,

I regret to see you found your visit to be average. All of our rooms have to be of a certain size, and standard to comply with Failte Ireland 4* Standards for which all of our rooms do. We have in fact some of the most spacious rooms in the City. All of our rooms have a large en-suite bathroom, plasma tv, iron/board, Free Wi-Fi, safe, Tea/Coffee making facilities, 24 hour room service, seating area, work and vanity station and are all very spacious.
I am dleighted to see you enjoyed the wonderful food on offer at the Met Bar & Restaurant Chez -K's and also our wonderful city centre location.
We do sincerly hope you will get to visit us again soon and perhaps avail of one of our great value upgrades.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience,

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing