We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterford is more than just Crystal”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterford is more than just Crystal”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Travelling with a large motoring group the Fitzwilton met almost all of our needs. Location is good but it's almost as if Waterford lets the hotel down - the town is suffering redevelopment which means roadworks all over. The staff are very helpful and the food was good. If the rooms had air-conditioning then I would have marked this review up one point.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Good afternoon Reviewer,

Thank you for your very favourable post. We were delighted to have you and your colleagues and all of your wonderful vehicles at the Fitzwilton Hotel recently. I am delighted to read you found our staff helpful and the food was to your satisfaction also. The roadwork's nearest the hotel have thankfully ceased. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you all again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    399
    266
    156
    102
See reviews for
217
632
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We just got back yesterday from a two night stay at the fitzwilton from the moment we arrived the overall friendliness of the staff was unreal you wouldn't find nicer people :) room was great food was great will defo be back again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford which I am happy to see was a very enjoyable one. Thank you for your kind words relating to our friendly staff and great food. I will be more than pleased to pass on your comments to all concerned. I am delighted to read you will be back again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely hotel with lovely staff , hotel is really close to the town centre and it has a good location for people who are travelling to the city and i would def go back again plus the breakfast was really good too and the rooms are clean and modern with plenty of space :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and in particular your spacious room and really good breakfast. I am delighted also to see that you will definitely be back to visit us again.
Thank you once again for your kind words.

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel has a four star rating, but it does not come up to that standard in our opinion. The hotel is entirely adequate but our room was a bit shabby, and the colour schemes are vivid to say the least, and it had a nylon shower curtain around the bath which is not four star standard.
The dinner was adequte but the breakfast was good; the bar area was good and the staff were all very helpful. The parking was also good which was important for us.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was quiet, the ones on the street side we were told wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi Patricia,

thank you for your review. We were delighted to host you and all of your wonderful cars recently at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am sorry to read that certain aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for your kind words relating to our food and friendly staff and I am happy to see that Parking was also adequate. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We hope to welcome you and your colleagues again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Clean modern rooms , friendly helpful staff , central location , really enjoyed our stay there .. Came for one night - stayed for three !!! And an amazing breakfast - complete works .. What more could you ask for :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelmadonald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you for your very kind comments - I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our friendly staff right through to your amazing breakfast. More importantly, I am delighted to see you were able to stay with us a little longer than planned and I will be happy to pass your very kind words to all the team at the Fitzwilton. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds, good sized room. Friendly staff at reception who was more than helpful recommending things to see in Ireland and how to get there. Breakfast was amazing! Couldn't get Internet in our room so had to sit outside the room to organise the rest of our trip. Other than that small detail, very nice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and will happily pass your comments on our amazing breakfast to the kitchen team. I will also inform reception of your kind words related to their friendliness and helpfulness, thank you again. I am sorry to read the wi-fi dropped out as we have just invested heavily in a new system throughout the property. Apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you once again for taking the time to write and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Waterford and Ireland.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night during the day tripper festival in Waterford. Parking was a breeze no problems finding a space the staff were more than helpful and very friendly. Although check in wasn't until 3 we were allowed to check in at 2 by making a simple phone call. Although we didn't really spend much time in the hotel itself there seamed to bit a vibrant friendly atmosphere about the place. The rooms were very clean and breakfast the next morning was top notch and plenty of everything. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briamki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello reviewer,

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope you enjoyed the festival too? I am happy to read you were able to avail of our free on site parking and enjoyed your breakfast too. I will pass your kind words to our friendly and helpful team also. Thank you for your recommendations, they are greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing