We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In the course of traveling with a tour group we stayed in 4 different hotels and I must say The Fitzwilton Hotel was the only one that disappointed. The professional pictures of the room do not look like the room we stayed in. Members' pictures better reflect the room, which is in need of some update. The desk and the bathroom vanity top needed refinishing. There were no facecloths in the bathroom nor available.

One main issue we had to do with a loud out-of-control stag party in the bar area. It made for an uncomfortable atmosphere & I am very surprised the bar manager or front desk manager did nothing to settle down this group, who prior to their entry into the bar were in the outside patio table area the hotel, acting very loud, and lifting one young man up in the air as he touched the hotel awning. They certainly did not go unnoticed! Some members of the stag party approached us as we were having a drink in the bar & started with good natured conversation. Their silly antics were dismissed as them having fun, but it quickly escalated into being very inappropriate, making us uncomfortable, so we left with our drinks. What we hoped to be a relaxing night in the lounge was far from it. I would certainly never rate this hotel as a 4 star hotel even without the bar incident.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello Reviewer,

I am sorry to read your visit was a disappointment and mainly as a result of other guests. I am disappointed to read that you were made uncomfortable and that the situation was not dealt with more efficiently from the hotels side. I assure you, this is not a regular occurrence at the hotel as we do not permit unruly behaviour or any such instances that effects the comfort of our other guests. Thank you for sharing your experiences and I am sorry they were disappointing.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night having payed the extra and booking an executive room, when checking in we were out in a standard double room on the 3rd floor, when I noticed this was not the room we booked I mentioned it to reception who didn't apologise but changed us to the 4th floor... Exact same room mind you! So I queried this with the reception again asked was it an executive room to which he informed me yes, why? He asked! So I just told him it appeared to be missing a few extras that were mentioned on the hotels website and my booking confirmation. He then had to ask me "like what" surely working in the hotel he should know what the differences are in their rooms... Anyway I had to tell him, extras such as water, wine, robes, slippers etc.. He then arranged to have these put in the room. Fair enough but not once did he say sorry for any of the mix ups. At this stage endless to say we were not one bit impressed. Especially having just come from another 4 star hotel, may I say the differences were shocking this hotel seemed like a 1 star compared to the previous hotel and also made our previous 4 star look like 5 star or above. The food wasn't even any better, we went to the Met bar for our dinner, my partner had the steak, nothing fancy about this piece of meat not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel, I had the chipotle chicken, which was just a chicken fillet on a bap with chili mayo, if the menu had read that a bit clearer I probably wouldn't have ordered this. But to make matters even worse after a few bites into the chicken I discovered it to be still pink in parts needless to say I went hungry for the night. At this stage I didn't want to further ruin the last night of our anniversary weekend away by complaining again, for no apology to be offered by the somewhat ignorant staff. Unfortunately this hotel was a horrible end to a wonderful few days away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fitzwilton. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am aware you were allocated the wrong room on arrival and apologise for the inconvenience this caused. I am glad to see this was rectified for you with immediate affect. I am surprised to read about your chicken - all our bar and restaurant food is cooked freshly and temperature probed so this would be a very strange occurrence. based on the numerous other replies on tripadvisor, I find your comment regarding our staff being slightly ignorant a little offensive as we are renowned for our friendly and polite staff. Once again, I am truly sorry this stay was not to your satisfaction and I thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Myself and the wife stayed here last week. Didn't book ahead so were lucky to get a room during the good weather,
Room was nice and comfortable and the hotel itself is decorated nicely.
Staff were very friendly and we enjoyed relaxing in the bar with a couple of cocktails.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexymatosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Good morning reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay from start to finish and also that you go to enjoy some of our new cocktails on offer. I will be happy to pass your kind words to our friendly staff.
we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here on Friday 19th July. We went for the one night special with the three course meal. First of all we checked in, we wanted to do a bit of site seeing and so we asked the receptionist did he know about the train that went around the city. He said he didn't know anything about it really that it just made a lot of noise with the bell ringing. I later found the train myself and when I told the tour guide that our recepeptionist didn't know much about it he was shocked and said they actually did city breaks with this hotel where you got the train included with your stay on a package deal. The room itself was clean, spacious with comfortable beds, as it was extrememly hot that weekend it was frustrating that there was no air conditioning but in fairness we asked for a fan and there was one provided. Our hotel room looked out on to the street which was very noisy. We then went for our meal which was included in the deal. Whilst the food itself was lovely and the staff were very nice there was absolutely no atmosphere in the place at all. Overall I found this hotel to be more of a 3 star rather than 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look out onto the road, ask for fan if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sineadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello Sinead,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not receive more information on the city train. We have just signed up for our new packages and I am sorry to say I did not get to relay this information to all the team. My apologies. I am delighted to see you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and our food and staff lovely. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, as once again am sorry for the inconsistencies you experienced during your visit.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel was lovely, glam and very clean and tidy. I was delighted with our room as we got a family room and I had expected a double, single and pull out but we got two singles and a double and the room was really nice.
Unfortunately, I was really disappointed there was no air conditioning in the bedroom. We did arrive on a hot day and I know Ireland does not usually get really hot weather, but the room was unbearable. We requested a fan, which they provided ( desk size) but in the heat it did nothing but blow hot air around the room. Very difficult to sleep in despite very comfortable beds. Food was lovely and we enjoyed a really nice breakfast in an airconditioned (!) dining room. Bar was good but I'm pregnant and was disappointed when the barman said he couldn't make me up a 'mocktail' - so I watched my hubby enjoy his mojito instead. I've often been catered to before for non alcoholic cocktails but I got the impression that it was going to be too much effort so I left it and went with a 7up.
Overall we enjoyed the stay but the lack of air con really took away from the stay. Had it been a winter visit maybe the review would be better.

Room Tip: Travel when you know it's not going to be warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived early for our 1 night stay in Waterford. We got a room straight away, no hassle. The room was very clean and spacious with a comfortable double and an additional single bed. The staff was very helpful in all the departments.
It was one of the hottest weekends in Ireland so Air-condition in the rooms would have been a plus. This might need to be addressed in the future if the hot weather becomes the norm. As there was also building work going on across the road, which only stopped between 11pm-5am, the rooms were very hot at times.
Breakfast was okay. As the air-condition was on all morning the cooked breakfast cooled down quicker than we could eat it. Lots of pastries though to make up for that.
We will definately stay here again when we come to Waterford next year. The most pleasant stay in a modern hotel.

Room Tip: no swimming pool. close to the main train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello KA,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you were allowed immediate access to your room and that you found the room to be both comfortable and spacious. We can never hear too much about how friendly and helpful our staff are. We are aware they are our best asset and love passing such kind comments on. The building work on the opposite street has thankfully stopped and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused throughout your stay. I am delighted to see you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again for your very kind comments.

Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Travelling with a large motoring group the Fitzwilton met almost all of our needs. Location is good but it's almost as if Waterford lets the hotel down - the town is suffering redevelopment which means roadworks all over. The staff are very helpful and the food was good. If the rooms had air-conditioning then I would have marked this review up one point.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Good afternoon Reviewer,

Thank you for your very favourable post. We were delighted to have you and your colleagues and all of your wonderful vehicles at the Fitzwilton Hotel recently. I am delighted to read you found our staff helpful and the food was to your satisfaction also. The roadwork's nearest the hotel have thankfully ceased. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you all again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing