We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, not so friendly, and no atmosphere.”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
1 review
“Average, not so friendly, and no atmosphere.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay in this hotel and it was, just ok. The hotel, inside and outside, looks stunning. The hallways are typical hotel style and the rooms look just great. But there is no atmosphere in this hotel. It's dead.

The reception is a large room, with a tiny desk, squashing in 2 people. They were unpleasant, rarely smiled and only communicated when they have to. I recall there being only one staff member at reception being exceptionally friendly.

There was also an incident regarding a "free meal" with our stay. On the phone when booking, we were told we would receive a 3-course meal and a drink for one evening. When we decided to have our meal, we booked a table that morning. When we arrived, we were presented with a menu, with no prices, and were given a drink. At the end of the meal, we were given a bill for €30. They had charged us for drinks, and gave us a discount on the meal. I asked the staff which referred me to reception, and they told me that there was never any mention of a free meal. Even the email confirmation mentioned it...

Also, location. In ordered to get to Waterford centre, you have to walk down some back-streets which are quite rough at night with some dodgy faces.

If you're looking to stay in Waterford, check The Towers hotel. Location, atmosphere and food is 10X better.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackDooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    396
    264
    156
    101
See reviews for
215
625
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel was in a great location and very comfortable. One staff member, Stephen was amazingly helpful and is a great asset to the hotel. Price wise it was good and we would recommend highly. Having stayed at The Four Seasons in Dublin and spending 3 times more, the Fitzwilton was very good value. Would highly recommend. Shane and Liz Murray.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will also be more than happy to pass your kind words onto Stephen. Thank you also for your recommendations they are very much appreciated. Thank you for staying at the Fitzwilton Hotel and we hope we get to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed there for a weekend with a group of friends. The hotel is located in the centre of Waterford and is close to all amenities. The food in the bar is good value and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were all very courteous and helpful.

One downside is the parking at the hotel. There is a shortage of spaces in the car park. If you arrive late you can expect to find the car park full. Some of the group arrived late on Saturday and there were no spaces at the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit to Waterford and the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your visit, our central locations and our wonderful bar food and breakfast. Also thank you for your kind comments regarding our great staff of which I will be happy to pass on. We do have limited parking at peak times but there are a number of options within very close proximity to the hotel we are happy to advise of prior to arrival should need be. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcoming you and your colleagues again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Got a room at literally the last minute here. (8 at night for the same night!) Fair price considering the situation, lovely comfortable room, great views!

Would stay again, and would recommend to others!

Staff were extremely helpful!!

Room Tip: Definitely a room on the Mary St side, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hello reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read we were able to accommodate you at the last minute and also that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you kindly for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here before room was amazing.. ate in the resteraunt there was a bug in my food but i got a free coctail and the room was so nice i overlooked it. Stayed here again - phoned before I booked to request to stay in the same room as before as this was the main reason we wanted to stay again! was told yes that room is available go ahead and book it. Got there to find they had put somebody else in the room I understood was somewhat "reserved" at the time of booking. Was really upset as this was a suprise for a very close friend who is migrating shortly and I wanted everything to be perfect. A phone call to let me know sombody else was a priority and had been put in that room could have allowed me to reshedule or arrange somthing else, With no time to cancel or reschedule we were put into a room half the size of the requested room with chips out of the walls and a poorly fitted carpet. Also we ordered from the menu - sandwiches that came with a side of chips, the chips were not delivered with the order so we had to send for them seperately.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheriHynes-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Sheri,

Thank you for your review. I am not in a position to comment on your last stay as I am unsure when it was or the situations that arose as I am not familiar with anybody finding a bug in their food as long as I have been here. As described to your colleague above, the room requested was provisionally reserved and subject to availability. As we had families in the hotel with kids, we had to allocate them to family rooms. As there was only two people in your room, we felt a twin room would be more than sufficient with a double and a single bed available. I am aware of the issues with your room service and I apologise that you did not receive both items ordered together as should have been. Thanks you once again for your review and I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel on this occasion.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Possibly one if not the best hotel my wife and I have stayed at staff really friendly rooms really spacious and the Food was so good Gordon Ramsey would be proud of the chef! We have two weddings in waterford city this year so we can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crixos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you kindly for your glowing review of the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am thrilled to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay so much . I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to all our staff members and I am sure the Chef will be pleased with your Gordon Ramsey references also. Its great that you will be returning to Waterford later in the year and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and yours again. Thanks again for your very kind words.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

room was clean but after booking a exceutive room i expected a bit more. the room was not much bigger than that of a normal hotel room except for the free mini bottles of wine. because of location we were woken early by the sounds of the church bells and guinesses plant. also during the night we could hear noise from the apartments across the road.

that said the staff were very friendly and helpfull and the bar was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlaith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing