We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with superb staff.”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on business regularly. It is well located, upmarket, comfortable, clean and friendly. It represents good value. Food is good and well presented. Highly recommended to business people and tourists alike.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek_L_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Good afternoon Derek,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your very kind words relating to our good location, food and value. Your recommendations for both the tourist and business traveller are also much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next visit to Waterford City.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went to Waterford for our anniversery and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is very well situated, only a few minutes walk from the town and the town is lovely and lively at the weekends with lots to do. The rooms in the hotel where perfect for what we were looking for. One of the nights we enjoyed a nice meal in the hotel's restaraunt and had breakfast each morning. The breakfast had an okay selection of food.

However all in all, we both enjoyed our stay and would return to the Fitzwilton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayAddict212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hello reviewer,

thank you kindly for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel in Waterford City. I am delighted to read you had a great anniversary stay with us and that you enjoyed every minute. Thank you also for your kind words relating to our fabulous restaurant menu which I will be more than happy to pass on to the hard working team here at the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is also great to read you will return to us and hopefully we will get to welcome you and yours again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked this hotel via pigsback.com and stayed there for 2 nights this weekend. Found the hotel perfect for a city break, Room was large with a double and single beds which were heavenly. Breakfast was great and there was loads of everything in the buffet. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night which was excellent especially the seafood chowder. We had some bar food again on Saturday which was exceptional and very reasonably priced. I couldn't recommend the hotel enough and all the staff were extremely nice and welcoming especially the bar man (Michael) and the lady on reception on the Friday night!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Comerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Good afternoon Derek,

Thank you kindly for sharing your wonderful experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We are always overjoyed to see our guests enjoying every aspect of our services and am delighted this was the case for you and yours. I will be more than happy to pass your very kind remarks to all departments and to Michael our wonderful bar person also. Thank you once again for your glowing review and for taking the time to do so. In addition, your recommendations are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with breakfast included. Hotel was in a great location, very stylish and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate in the hotel restaurant both nights as the food was just amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiNiR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Nikki,

thank you kindly for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will be more than happy to pass your comments on our amazing food to the kitchen team and to all of our friendly and helpful staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location, just over the bridge from the train station. I wouldn't say it's a 4 star hotel though, I'd have it more a 3 star. The biggest problem with this hotel was they had no air conditioning and you couldn't open the window to the room. This made for a horrible nights sleep. When I complained in the morning they said it was against the law to have air conditioning in the room which I was very dubious about. If that is true, then at least put some fans in the room, providing that's not against the law. I had a look at the breakfast in the morning and decided it didn't look good quality so left it. Not sure if I'll ever be in Waterford again, but if I did, I would look at other hotels. There was one which was down the road by the waterfront that had a great pub as part of the hotel, can't remember the name but maybe one to consider.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I agree our location is fantastic and just a mere 2 minute walk from the city's main train and bus station. Air conditioning is not all that common in Irish hotels and I am sorry the heat led to an uncomfortable nights sleep for you. all our windows do open, they are fitted with security/child friendly locks however. Fans are also available at reception and this should have been offered to you upon your complaint of the heat. Sorry this was not the case. I am also sorry you did not get to try our award winning breakfast which as you will see from past reviewers comes highly recommended. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay and I apologise it was not a more pleasant one.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for New years eve, check in was fine and the bar seemed quite lively as you would expect for new years eve, we went to our room which was perfectly acceptable, clean and fresh and nice bathroom although missing that nice 4 star look. Room a bit warm so needed window opened. Went down to the bar at 10pm to be met by about 20 small children running around the bar, I found this extremely disappointing as I really would have liked a nice adult evening. We ordered drinks but decided to take them to our room, not really a new years eve night. Very disappointed. Also, woken in the middle of the night by a very loud member of staff delivering room service to a room near ours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzykDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Suzy,

thank you for your review. I am happy you found the bar, your room and check in to be fine/acceptable. I am sorry however that you were left disappointed that there were kids in the bar. I have checked our numbers and we had 7 kids in house that night. That said, children should not be in the bar at that time and I assure you I will address this personally. I am sorry you left disappointed with your stay and hopefully you will visit us again soon so that we can improve on our shortcomings. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I wish you and yours a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Lovely room, bit warm but you would get over that. Loads of fluffy towels, very nice receptionist checking in, bar is awesome serving some lovely cocktails that tasted amazing. Taking a point away as the room was boiling.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMinihane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am sorry to see your room was too hot for you and hope this did not infringe too much on your stay/sleep. I am happy however to see that all other aspects of your stay were pleasant. I will be delighted to pass your kind comments to our wonderful reception staff also. We look forward to welcoming you and yours again soon.

Kind Regards,
Geoff Dawson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,209 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing