We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free car park.....not necessarily so.”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Free car park.....not necessarily so.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked into this hotel for the viking festival weekend. The hotel advertised free parking on a first come first serve basis. When we tried to enter the car park we were told it was full even though it was only 2.30 in the afternoon. We inquired if spaces would be available later and were told no. On our way out we looked into the car park only to find that there were at least 10 free spaces. We returned to reception and demanded they allow us to park there which they grudgingly did. The hotel appeared to be keeping spaces for others and not adhering to their own advertised policy.
That evening we went to the bar for food. There was a party night on in the hotel and some of the revellers were in having a pre-party drink so the place was busy. We asked the waitress/manager if there would be a table available later to which she replied "you may go elsewhere as we are too busy". We subsequently joined a couple who didn't mind us sharing their table.
Overall our stay at the Fitzwilton wasn't a pleasant one. The staff weren't helpful or welcoming. In fact we were made to feel like an inconvenience. The hotel itself was clean and easy to get to. The food in the bar was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marleypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    401
    275
    158
    102
See reviews for
218
640
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Colleagues and I used the Fitzwilton for a business meeting recently. I didn't book so can't comment on how that process went. We chose it on the basis that it was convenient to the railway station - just a short walk across the bridge - and reasonably priced. Check-in went smoothly and any dealings with the staff went well. They were always polite and attentive. Decor in the foyer and bar is very glamorous but smart and sombre. Tea and coffee brought to the meeting room was good and not of the "left stewing in flasks" variety, so well done on that.
On the downside, our meeting room was obviously a bedroom that had been deemed unfit for that purpose as it is on a busy corner with lots of traffic noise. We finished our meeting and headed down to the bar for a quick lunch, keeping an eye on the time because of our train. While I would have liked the seafood chowder, I was advised against it because of the time needed to prepare it. Fair enough. So I opted for the soup of the day: namely tomato and fennel but tasting like liquidised tinned tomatoes with perhaps some ground fennel seeds. Very disappointing. My colleagues were not impressed by their sandwiches, but liked the generous accompanying portions of potato wedges.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uranus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel wouldn't rate it as a 4 star though. Stains on the carpet in the bedrooms minimal toiletries towels etc... breakfast was satisfactory, smoking area at the front of the hotel which was cleaned once over the 2 days no ashtrays provided. Staff were not friendly or helpful throughout complaining about us going outside to smoke as we had to walk through reception each time. Overall we enjoyed the stay despite this.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location in Waterford city . Staff welcoming and friendly most helpful . Food in bar and restaurant excellent and good value . Accommodations very clean and comfortable . Great location from which to explore a very interesting city .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on 1/2/14 for one night to celebrate my husbands birthday and it was beyond fault. The price was amazing as we went b&b including evening meal in the restaurant. The food was first class and the staff were absolutely fantastic. When we arrived a lovely young girl took our booking and went through everything that was available to us. We then asked her about the local pubs and if there were any good venues that had live bands and she proceeded to print off a map of Waterford city centre and wrote the names of the suitable pubs down for us. The staff in the restaurant were second to none and the young lad that served us was amazing. He was so efficient and so helpful that the hotel are indeed lucky to have him. We saw him again the next morning as he served the breakfasts (sadly not us) and he was bright and cheery once again.
Over all this experience was wonderful and if someone asked me to give at least one negative point it would be that perhaps the temperature in the bedroom was extremely high. It was very warm in the room but not so much that we felt we had to say anything.
We were lucky enough to find a space in the underground carpark and even though it was a bit of a walk (about 15 minutes) to the centre of things we managed without effort to catch a taxi back costing €7.
Over all we could not fault this hotel. Value for money was excellent. Food was amazing. The staff were without fault. The room was clean, bright and had all we needed.
We will definitely be back. 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello Ann,

thank you so much for your glowing review of the Fitzwilton Hotel, our staff and facilities. We are thrilled to read that you and yours enjoyed your visit to Waterford so much. I have circulated your post to all of our team who will be also delighted to read it as I am. It is also wonderful to read you will be back to us again and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Once more, thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted you and yours experienced the service and quality we strive to provide to all our guests at the Fitzwilton Hotel.

kindest Regards and best wishes,

Geoff Dawson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on business regularly. It is well located, upmarket, comfortable, clean and friendly. It represents good value. Food is good and well presented. Highly recommended to business people and tourists alike.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_L_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Good afternoon Derek,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your very kind words relating to our good location, food and value. Your recommendations for both the tourist and business traveller are also much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next visit to Waterford City.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went to Waterford for our anniversery and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is very well situated, only a few minutes walk from the town and the town is lovely and lively at the weekends with lots to do. The rooms in the hotel where perfect for what we were looking for. One of the nights we enjoyed a nice meal in the hotel's restaraunt and had breakfast each morning. The breakfast had an okay selection of food.

However all in all, we both enjoyed our stay and would return to the Fitzwilton.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayAddict212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello reviewer,

thank you kindly for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel in Waterford City. I am delighted to read you had a great anniversary stay with us and that you enjoyed every minute. Thank you also for your kind words relating to our fabulous restaurant menu which I will be more than happy to pass on to the hard working team here at the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is also great to read you will return to us and hopefully we will get to welcome you and yours again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing