We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a two night stay with dinner included. Our room was nice, furniture a bit dated though. breakfast was self service the usual fried breakfast. Had dinner in the restaurant was very nice also. The scones in the bar are fab well worth a try! The car park has very limited spaces so we parked at the quays just 5 euro so very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel and hope to return myself in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maud11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad that you took the opportunity while staying with us to try our award winning restaurant "Chez K's". Our chefs take great care in preparing all our pastry's and scones freshly on a daily basis. It is then very much appreciated when such descriptive words as "Fab" are used to describe them.

Thank again for such kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

we returned for a second visit to the hotel to see had there been any inprovement
the check in was fine and professional the room was very good we decided to go for the penthouse as it was on special offer and was glad we did was real treat
the last visit we had here we had problems with the restaurant this time the food was of an excellent quality even though the menu is limited Ian was our waiter and looked after us very well
over all an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: see if room 401 is on special offer wort the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on trip advisor.

We were very glad to welcome you back to the Fitzwilton recently, and that you allowed us an opportunity to improve on your initial impression.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding the service and quality of food that you experienced whilst staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel is ok, but certainly no 4 star. Average 3 star at best. The rooms are clean but very small, we had "larger executive room". Hate to see the average or small one .. Breakfasts was ok not a huge choice and again 3 star hotel standard at best. Car park is very tight and limited spaces

Room Tip: Rooms are small. If you want any room to over you need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed recently on a Sunday night on a deal. Warm friendly welcome from the lad on reception. Room nice and clean and very good showers. Bar quiet but it was a Sunday night. Good selection at breakfast. Value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel on trip advisor.

I was glad to hear that you received a warm friendly welcome upon check in, and I have passed your kind comments onto the reception team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived Saturday as part of a Groupon deal. Check in was smooth. Room was small but we were told at check in. We had a 2 year old with us which when we unpacked all his toys and stuff it made the room smaller. To be honest it didn't bother us at all as we have stayed in smaller.
Breakfast both morning's were superb with loads to choose from and excellent,friendly and helpful staff on both days. Overall hotel was well run and would definitely stay again.
Just want to make one more point that every hotel should hear. The Wifi in the hotel is the best I have ever experienced. Speed and coverage was superb. Every other hotel take note!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Discsaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We have designed our breakfast buffet to make the most of local and homemade produce, including all our own homemade breads and jams. I was also very glad that you found our staff to be helpful, and that they looked after you in an efficient and timely manner.

We have invested heavily in our complimentary internet Wi-Fi, and it is good to hear when our guests avail of it and find it to be of a satisfactory level.

Once again thank you very much for your positive comments, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for a Girls night away with the family, we received a warm welcome from the girl on reception. beautiful room's very spacious & at a great price based on 3 people sharing! There was live music in the bar, great atmosphere. will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on trip advisor.

I was very happy to see that you received such a warm positive reception when checking in with us recently. We are very proud of the team we have established here at the Fitzwilton, and such positive comments from our guests make the hard work all worth while.

Once again thank you for the kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here with a friend for a girls nite away. Lovely girl on reception who was very friendly. We ate in the bar and the food was delicious, nice varied menu. We stayed on a Sunday so it was very quiet. We had one issue with the shower but it was fixed straight away with apoligies. Check out was quick and efficiant. I would definitely stay again. Just a shame there is no pool :(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc0nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on trip advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had the opportunity to sample our bar menu, and that the food was to your satisfaction. Our Head Chef and his team take their time and care to freshly prepare all dishes on our menus, so we appreciate it very much when such positive comments are made.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £56 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing