We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely food staff all very friendly will defo be back. The only thing was staff was abit slow food was lovely. Grand size car park. And rooms were so big and spacious. We could open are window for a bit of air. We stayed for 1 night was ment to be 2 and a family emergency came up

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amykimkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad to hear that you found our bedrooms to be "big and spacious". We are undergoing refurbishment of all our accommodation areas, so it is very much appreciated when our guests make such positive comments about the rooms.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Fitzwilton in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    385
    261
    156
    100
See reviews for
212
615
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visit Waterford once or twice each year and for the last three years we have always stayed at the Fitzwilton. Excellent location, easy to find from all main routes - 5 min walk to town centre. Spaces have always available in the clean and tidy private covered carpark which is well laid out with security barriers. Staff at reception always give a warm welcome and are extremely pleasant and helpful. Bar and restaurant are modern clean reasonable prices, great menus fantastic food and friendly staff.
General appearance of the hotel is impressive - very clean and fresh. Rooms are always spotlessly clean, and well equipped. Unlike some hotels the bathrooms have always been exceptionally clean with hygene in mind.
Because of it's location the views from the rooms are never great - but it never bothers us. Breakfasts are brilliant - would not stay anywhere else when in Waterford - highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Always allocated a really nice room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm23250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

It is always very nice to hear such positive and kind comments from our regular guests. I was pleased to read that our generously sized rooms meet your expectations when you stay with us. Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on delivering repeated high levels of cleanliness to all our residents, so it is always nice to hear when it is noticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford again in the near future. Also please do not hesitate to contact us in advance if you have any specific requirements or requests.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed with some friends in April,after my stay I spoke with the Manager at reception as I had a few issues,the first two were minor,like no sugar in the room for your coffee and no batteries in the tv remote,but the worst was the stink of cigarette smoke outside my room and in it,it was disgusting,I informed the manager and they said they know about this but cant do anything,but do try and fine the people,I found this quite unexceptable.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the first floor it stinks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I would like to start by saying that we at the Fitzwilton Hotel operate a very strict no smoking policy. This does not unfortunately mean that people abide by this at all times. Our procedures in these instances are that we notify the offending guests, that we are aware of the breach of the policy. All residents sign an acknowledgment of the hotels 100% no smoking policy on arrival, and are notified of the potential fine. This fine is implemented and charged when the policy is not abided by. Any other residents that might be affected by another rooms potential breach of the policy would be offered a room move upon request.

I can also assure you that our 1st floor does not stink of smoke as we deep clean, and aerate all hotel areas after a breech of the no smoking policy.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a two night stay with dinner included. Our room was nice, furniture a bit dated though. breakfast was self service the usual fried breakfast. Had dinner in the restaurant was very nice also. The scones in the bar are fab well worth a try! The car park has very limited spaces so we parked at the quays just 5 euro so very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel and hope to return myself in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maud11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad that you took the opportunity while staying with us to try our award winning restaurant "Chez K's". Our chefs take great care in preparing all our pastry's and scones freshly on a daily basis. It is then very much appreciated when such descriptive words as "Fab" are used to describe them.

Thank again for such kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

we returned for a second visit to the hotel to see had there been any inprovement
the check in was fine and professional the room was very good we decided to go for the penthouse as it was on special offer and was glad we did was real treat
the last visit we had here we had problems with the restaurant this time the food was of an excellent quality even though the menu is limited Ian was our waiter and looked after us very well
over all an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: see if room 401 is on special offer wort the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on trip advisor.

We were very glad to welcome you back to the Fitzwilton recently, and that you allowed us an opportunity to improve on your initial impression.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding the service and quality of food that you experienced whilst staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel is ok, but certainly no 4 star. Average 3 star at best. The rooms are clean but very small, we had "larger executive room". Hate to see the average or small one .. Breakfasts was ok not a huge choice and again 3 star hotel standard at best. Car park is very tight and limited spaces

Room Tip: Rooms are small. If you want any room to over you need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed recently on a Sunday night on a deal. Warm friendly welcome from the lad on reception. Room nice and clean and very good showers. Bar quiet but it was a Sunday night. Good selection at breakfast. Value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel on trip advisor.

I was glad to hear that you received a warm friendly welcome upon check in, and I have passed your kind comments onto the reception team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing