We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
dubliner
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed one night here.
hotel is a new one in a ancient city, very narrow streets around.
staff very friendly
bar is upper class so not for the likes of me , you know a trendy bar.
bed rooms are very good.
food is excellent.
for a stay in Waterford compared to other hotels I would recommend it

Room Tip: no views from most of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchfullDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good location and nice modern rooms. Parking can be a little difficult at the hotel especially in a large vehicle but the staff are really on the ball and know what they are doing.

Didn't get a chance to try anything else during my stay. Look forward to staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

2 years ago I booked my brothers stag at the fitzwilton & had a great experience with no issues & would have highly recommended it. Last weekend I held my own stag at the fitzwilton & it was awful, first off the prices of the rooms where changing depending on who you spoke to, secondly having paid for everything over the phone I had one of my guests arrive only to be told there was no room confirmed for him even though I had paid for him & also there was no availability for him. Then I was informed that they hadn't charged me enough when I paid the total & they then took €50 from my returnable deposit of €350. I was also told over the phone that my deposit would be returned to the card on departure, then on departure I was told it would take a couple of days for them to check the rooms even though it was 3 o clock & I had checked out at 12. I had a mature group of 18 lads with me the two youngest being 24 & 33 everyone else was 40+ & apart from the girls in the breakfast area, everyone felt the staff treated us like we were a burden to them. The barman was non existent serving 3/4 people then disappearing through a door behind him for 5minutes at a time. I had to ring them this morning to enquire about the charge for that single room that wasn't available and they told me they said why didn't I dispute it at the time, I told them I was drinking at the time as it was my stags & I didn't want to argue, they told me they would ring me back I'm still waiting. I will not be booking into the fitzwilton again & will tell everyone I know that the fitzwilton was very unprofessional for a so called 4 star hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DWhelan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I'm sorry that your recent stay with us wasn't up to previous experience with us. I was surprised that your felt our staff did not pay sufficient attention to your group, as you can see from previous reviews we are always praised on the level of service we provide.

The rates for your group were agreed with our group reservations department prior to your arrival. The only fluctuation on cost to your guests was when there was a different amount of occupants in the room, this incurring small differences on individual costs.

Just to clear up any confusion regarding your group deposit. When refunding a charge back to a credit or debit card it takes a couple of working days for that charge to pass through the banking system, and back to the card. As we explained it is nothing to do with how long it takes for us to check a group of rooms, but the time the bank takes to process the credit back to the card. This would have also been explained when making the reservation.

I hope this offers some clarity for you.

Kind Regards.

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We love this hotel and stay there any time we are down in Waterford. The Hotel is lovely and well situated to Town though my only draw back would be parking but this is not worth lossing marks over. The staff can never do enough for you and it is very family friendly and great value for money . The rooms are clean and very spacious and comfortable even for the 4 of us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for a girl’s weekend away recently, and I was really impressed with the hotel. The hotel is located in a great location, within walking distance to the shopping area. The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast and the dinner in the restaurant were very tasty. We all really enjoyed our stay, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola_Mc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my friend recently organised a Hen party at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We were completely looked after from very first email to last check out. Gwen was super efficient, helpful and nothing was a problem. She went above and beyond to make the weekend special and also stick with in our budget. The rooms were cosy and the beds extremely comfortable, the food was delicious and the staff looked after our every need. We will definitely be recommending it for a hen party destination!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very happy to hear that you had such enjoyable hen night, whilst staying with us recently.

It was great to hear that Gwen looked after you so efficiently, and I have passed on your very comments to her.

Thank you for such a kind and positive review, and we hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

An older hotel but the staff were very friendly and the rooms a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was over the bath which was very deep and a bit hard to get in and out of. There was limited car parking and if you arrived too late in the day you had to park out on the street. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of hot and cold selections.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing