We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our stay”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in Fitzwilton as a group booking. From start to finish, our stay was great and we couldn't fault it. All the staff at the hotel were extrememly friendly and helpful and catered to our every need. The hotel is in a good central location and most of the main shopping areas are within walking distance. We had lunch in the Met bar at the hotel and we sat outside in the sun. The staff catered to any dietary requirements we had. Later that evening we also had dinner in the hotel. The service was fast and efficient and we were made to feel at home. The food was lovely. Again, breakfast the following morning was delicious with a wide range of food on offer. The rooms were clean and well presented, exactly what we would expect from a 4 star hotel. If I was to give any negative feedback, I would just be nitpicking as on the whole, our experience was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    409
    278
    160
    106
See reviews for
224
649
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel this year and the high standards experienced on my first visit have been maintained in the passing 4 months.
Spacious comfortable rooms. TV has less "fuzzy" channels than the standard for Ireland but still not what 1st world patrons might be used to.
Breakfast is good and like the bar menu features the famous Waterford Blaa.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

It is always very nice to welcome guests back to the Fitzwilton Hotel, and it makes us very happy when they find that the high level of service is consistent and maintained.

We are in the process of upgrading our in-house TV systems, so hopefully when you next return you will see another noticeable improvement.

Once again thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Fitzwilton Hotel for 2 days. It is a clean, neat hotel that serves a hot breakfast - the variety is not much but all in it is good value for money. On the first night there was a party at the bar (it closes at around 3am) so the night owls gave us a noisy night. Apart from that this is a good place. It is close to all sights.

The service at the hotel cannot be faulted - all very gentle and polite, helpful and always friendly (much like all the Irish we found everywhere in this lovely country - so I am not sure where the "A+" stereotype comes from!).

Room Tip: Pick a high floor and try and stay away from the side where the bar is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was pleased to see that our staff had a lasting impression on you, and that they provided both you and your guests with helpful and friendly service.

My apologies for any discomfort you encountered from the other residents moving around the building. We do try our hardest to minimise any noise pollution but unfortunately sometimes it is encountered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Good location. A few minute walk from the train station. Checked in quickly. Spacious room for our girlie weekend! Only negative thing was the heat of the room at night time! Reception gave us their fan which helped the second night though. Good value and would go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Groovylibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was glad to hear that our reception team provided you with a quick and effective check in.

I hope you enjoyed your weekend in Waterford, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel last weekend for 2 nights. Nicely situated only 5 mins from both train and bus station. Parking wasn't great but we were lucky to get a space. The hotel itself is very modern and the room wasn't bad for the money we paid. Not quite 4 star but it was ok. Rooms are very warm and corridors very hot. Shower was a nuisance and kept turning cold. The hotel itself isn't very noisy but we were woke up on our first morning by a loud lady with a prominent English accent. It seemed like she was shouting at cleaning staff in the corridors. Obviously this worker had no respect for her fellow workers or the residents asleep. Breakfast was lovely and the full irish hot buffet was delicious. The staff weren't very friendly and we were left waiting until we realised ourselves it was self service. We went to the bar for lunch and some drinks and were greeted by a very friendly barmaid Adele who helped us choose our food and took care of us with table service for the afternoon. She gave us directions for shops clubs etc and nothing we asked her seemed to be a problem. And her cocktails were extremely delicious too. All in all our stay in this hotel was a good one and both the great girls on reception and the lovely Adele in the bar would entice us to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFarmersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel on tripadvisor.

Let me start by saying I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast selection, and that you found it be "delicious". You have my apologies that the breakfast team did not clearly explain to you that the breakfast buffet was self service.

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our bar staff, I have passed these onto Edel who very much appreciates them.

I would like to offer our sincerest apologies that you found yourself to be woken, on your first morning by someone in the corridor outside your room. I have checked with all staff that were on site that morning, and I can assure you that we had no one with a "strong English accent" working at that time. I can only assume that it was another customer talking to a member of the housekeeping team.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From start to finish. From the check in procedure to the check out no problem. Am a critic regarding customer service as deal in same. Reception supervisor 100%. Had bar food service fantastic. Fish and chips yum. And as for the girl behind the bar excellent customer service. Best nights sleep rooms spotless. Excellent training will be back and very recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frantheman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience when staying with us recently.

I have passed on your kind comments to all members of staff concerned. We are very proud of the team of staff that we have here at the Fitzwilton, and It is very much appreciated when our customers observe the high level of service we aim to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at the Fitzwilton for one night while on an organized tour. Its on the main street, close to restaurants.

If the weather is good, stroll along the water. Breakfast was very good

Rooms are comfortable and ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was very glad to hear that you availed of our locally sourced breakfast selection.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in Waterford City, and that you went on to savour the rest of your time in Ireland.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing