We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. BUT!!!”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. BUT!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was nice and clean, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms a nice size. The only problem with the room was the bathroom, well the shower was the problem. It was really high up on the wall so you found it difficult to get wet. The food was really good. Well worth the money. The other problem was the area around the hotel. It wasn't very nice. Not a place to walk at night. Wouldn't return because of the area.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Only because of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor.

I was happy to read that you had the opportunity to avail of an enjoyable meal in our restaurant "Chez K's".

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    401
    275
    158
    102
See reviews for
218
640
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We found the staff to be warm and hospitable, the room satisfactory and the restaurant better than we expected! The breakfast was not particularly exciting, only two choices of cereal, and the strangest marmalade. Yoghurt full of poppyseeds - bit weird. Neverthless, we enjoyed our stay, and had a brilliant experience at the Waterford Crystal factory.

Room Tip: Our room was 223. It was spacious, but on the street facing the Dominican Friary. Not sure if it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on Tripadvisor.

I was glad to read that you found our staff to be "warm & hospitable". We pride ourselves on the team of staff we have at the Fitzwilton, and the level of service they provide for our guests.

I was a bit confused about your comments regarding breakfast. We offer our guests 5 different types of breakfast cereals, also we provide a homemade granola to accompany the cereals. We supply both homemade jams and marmalades on the breakfast buffet, we would always receive such positive comments regarding these preserves.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Waterford City, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

One night stay - we were 4 in a 2 bedded room - size just about ok. Arrive early to secure parking, we only just managed to get in. Check in was warm & friendly, just what I expected, however breakfast the next morning, everyone was miserable. Not impressed by breakfast selection given this looks like a new hotel - end of the day, comfortable and clean, but I would probably try Dooley's next time - looks friendlier!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinacol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on Tripadvisor.

I was glad to hear that you found the check in process efficient, and that the staff were "warm & friendly". I was however surprised that you made the conclusion that our breakfast team were miserable. As you can see from previous reviews we are regularly commended on our quality of staff, and the effort they put towards creating such a high level of customer service.

I do hope that we will see you again in the near future, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for midweek break and from the initial check in to time we checked out we totally enjoyed our stay, staff very friendly and helpful particularity (Valcar) who sorted an issue we had with the room not being serviced or towels left for us after a days sight seeing but was quickly rectified when brought to attention of reception. We had dinner one night in the restaurant which was very good. The hotel is within walking distance of all attractions and shopping areas but far enough away not to be bothered by busy street noise. Perfect midweek break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzyj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations2, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed on your very generous comments to Vaclav, and I was very happy to see that he reacted so quickly to your requirements.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you returning to Fitzwilton Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dominic
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Loved our short break in Waterford. Fitzwilton was the perfect base. Easy to get to as you arrive over the bridge, straight over first right and your there.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Making it an easy and relaxed time through tout the day and night.
Restaurant recommendation from Reception, Bodega to eat; Geoff's to drink, was spot on.

The Reg rooftop cafe is a hidden gem in the middle of Viking triangle well worth checking out. Everything in walking distance. Friendly Irish welcome wherever you go.

Thoroughly recommend Waterford and Fitzwilton.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mendibweno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

4 stars is a cruel joke. Terrible room . No A/C so windows open got to listen to all sorts of drunks signing on the street and motor cycles all night. Our. Friend had a drunken woman yelling and trying to kick down the door. When we called front desk- nobody answered. Resturant was good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaptain597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days last week and honestly couldnt fault a thing. Staff very friendly from check in to check out and everything in between. Eat there on 4 occassions at night and food was excellent as was the service. Too class breakfast and wifi is without a doubt the best iv ever experienced in a hotel. Keep up the good work

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelier1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing