We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignorant staff .. sick from restaurant”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“ignorant staff .. sick from restaurant”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

travelled recently here with a large group and would absolutly not recommend to stay here. a friend and i were booked into a room that was for 1 person. when i complained i was told it was a double room! 1 cup i toel and 1 pillow . ontop of this the manager was completly rude. i have never come across such rideness and was told by hm to stop raising my voice.i felt upset by the way he spoke to me and completly ruined my night in waterford. ontop of this the meal was rotten and one person got sick from the fish and the desert may have been fi for a dog.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prendep2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    401
    275
    158
    102
See reviews for
218
640
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We went for a Valentines Weekend break and were disappointed with the standard of the hotel for the price we paid. On arrival the lobby floor was dirty and one of the lifts was out of order resulting in a ten minute wait to get to room. The light in the bathroom didn't switch off and as a result the fan was always on. This was extremely noisy at night. The tables and floor in the bar were also dirty and felt sticky to touch on both occasions we went in. Room service was extremely poor. We left for the day at about 10am and when we arrived back at 6.20pm the room hadn't been serviced. When I brought this to the attention of the reception staff I was shocked when they said that they had had a number of complaints about this already. If that was the case, why hadn't something been done about it? We waited in the bar while room was being done only to arrive back to the beds unmade and the room service tray from the evening before left exactly where it was.
For a FOUR star hotel, we expected a lot more. I wouldn't advise anyone take a romantic break there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixibelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Hotel car parking very small.
This was our valentine weekend, but this was terrible weekend. A glas of wine - 1/4 glass. Food not so bad but to mach oil. Our dinner start at 6 PM but this place was not ready.
Sparkling Wine was in water not in ice in our room on arrival.
The fan in Bathroom was working 24/7 and make noise.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcinjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I was recently brought by my partner for a night to Waterford as we both work in bars we were busy over Christmas so it was our 1st break since then. My boyfriend booked the fitzwilton as it was in a great location pretty much slap bang in the centre of town, we got there about 6 and were starving and went into the bar for a light bite, i got a burger and chips which was delicious and hit the spot my boyfriend had a sandwich and chips was just as good, service was very fast and with a smile, bar was buzzing with groups of people down so great atmosphere ended up staying for a few beers there first and heading down town only took us seconds, the room was very large and clean with a nice big comfortable bed and check out was with a lovely bubbly girl Ellen she was so helpful and happy a nice change, all in all we had a great stay and would defintly go back and tell others to go as Waterford is a great city

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headdaballMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

My experience of the Fitzwilton Hotel could not have been better. We chose it as the venue for our wedding reception. The food and beverage manager Gerry was patient and extremely helpful throughout the whole planning process and was always available to answer questions.

The service on the day was great. The staff were unobtrusive, polite, efficient and friendly & the food was gorgeous.

The hotel itself is fabulous. The decor is modern and it really has a classy feel to it. The rooms were a great size, all our guests thought the place was brilliant.

Of all the hotels in Waterford, we chose this hotel for our big day and we were delighted with the choice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We recently stayed at the Fizwilton Hotel in Waterford. The 2 night stay was a perfect battery recharge for the new year. I got good directions when I booked but I didn't need them as you can't miss it once you come over the bridge into town. Car park was ideal but next time I think we'll take the train as it's literally 2min walk from station. They checked us in very quickly and we got a great welcome. We were very pleased with the room, very trendy,comfortable and in keeping with the rest of the hotel. we have stayed in other hotels who claim to be Boutique hotels but were definatly not, The Fitzwilton ticked all our boxes. It was in the city center , modern trendy style, lively bar ( but not roudy ) and a great resturant with great food. We ate in the hotel on 1 night and got a lovely meal in town on our secound night. I must admit to being quite fussy about food but they had a great choice in the resturant and the bar food was good too. The evening we ate in the resturant their was music in the bar afterwards, great night had and availed of room service the next morning. Overall we found it to be great value for money and we'll definatly come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakosIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Arrive at the hotel to a very small carpark which i was informed was not safe.. at check in the receptionist was not very pleasant.. Bedrooms are very modern and clean.. Meal was disgusting even the dessert which isnt hard to get wrong..

very nice hotel but very unprofessional staff including the management, as i made a complaint over one week ago and am still awaiting a reply.. i am working in a 4* hotel for the past five years and in all my experience of hotels i have not seen staff so unprofessional and unpleasant..

I would not recommend to anybody!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easypleaserWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing