We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Myself and my Boyfriend recently stayed at the Fitzwilton Hotel In Waterford for 2 nights for Valentines weekend.
My Boyfriend booked the package as a surprise; I was a bit hesitant due to the trip advisor comments but was pleasantly surprised.
When we arrived the carpark was full but the girl on reception directed us to a nearby car park which only cost 5 euro. Check in was busy but we were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner, our table for the restaurant that night had been booked in advance & we were reminded of the time etc on check in.
When we got to our room there was wine and strawberries which was a lovely touch for the weekend that was in it. The room was warm, modern, comfortable & clean. Very impressed with our meal in the hotel restaurant, service was good, staff were friendly and helpful. Throughout our stay the service was great and we were really happy with our weekend. We will definitely come back to Waterford and this great hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlysue68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

bed and breakfast were fine no faults with either the room or the breakfast room was bright and large breakfast was a fine buffet and we enjoyed it. dinner was terrible in the restaurant food was not good and service was like it was hired from are you being served slow and incompident . when we approached the managerto tell him we were bye passed as he walked away to talk to someone else so we talked to the girl at the desk for a minute found out the manager was aidan well if his policey is to bye pass his customers i would suggest you bye pass this hotel servie in the bar was n better than in the restaurant its only saving were the b & b and the reception food bad service bad and hardly no parking it was like a scrum to get a parking space 5 star my eye run by basil faulty

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pajo1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Having read some of the reviews I have to say that both my partner and I were slightly hesitant prior to arriving due to the varied reviews the hotel had gotten on here. However we really wanted to get away for valentines weekend and since we were quoted a decent price we decided why not and have got to say we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay.
Hotel looked very nice and modern and check in was hassle free. Rooms were okay, our meal was very nice and my fiancé was delighted that they made cocktails. Barman advised us what bars and clubs to go to which was fairly helpful. If there was one thing that I would complain about though it would be the parking as the car park was very tight but other than that it was a nice break away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbojangles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

travelled recently here with a large group and would absolutly not recommend to stay here. a friend and i were booked into a room that was for 1 person. when i complained i was told it was a double room! 1 cup i toel and 1 pillow . ontop of this the manager was completly rude. i have never come across such rideness and was told by hm to stop raising my voice.i felt upset by the way he spoke to me and completly ruined my night in waterford. ontop of this the meal was rotten and one person got sick from the fish and the desert may have been fi for a dog.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank prendep2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We went for a Valentines Weekend break and were disappointed with the standard of the hotel for the price we paid. On arrival the lobby floor was dirty and one of the lifts was out of order resulting in a ten minute wait to get to room. The light in the bathroom didn't switch off and as a result the fan was always on. This was extremely noisy at night. The tables and floor in the bar were also dirty and felt sticky to touch on both occasions we went in. Room service was extremely poor. We left for the day at about 10am and when we arrived back at 6.20pm the room hadn't been serviced. When I brought this to the attention of the reception staff I was shocked when they said that they had had a number of complaints about this already. If that was the case, why hadn't something been done about it? We waited in the bar while room was being done only to arrive back to the beds unmade and the room service tray from the evening before left exactly where it was.
For a FOUR star hotel, we expected a lot more. I wouldn't advise anyone take a romantic break there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixibelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Hotel car parking very small.
This was our valentine weekend, but this was terrible weekend. A glas of wine - 1/4 glass. Food not so bad but to mach oil. Our dinner start at 6 PM but this place was not ready.
Sparkling Wine was in water not in ice in our room on arrival.
The fan in Bathroom was working 24/7 and make noise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcinjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I was recently brought by my partner for a night to Waterford as we both work in bars we were busy over Christmas so it was our 1st break since then. My boyfriend booked the fitzwilton as it was in a great location pretty much slap bang in the centre of town, we got there about 6 and were starving and went into the bar for a light bite, i got a burger and chips which was delicious and hit the spot my boyfriend had a sandwich and chips was just as good, service was very fast and with a smile, bar was buzzing with groups of people down so great atmosphere ended up staying for a few beers there first and heading down town only took us seconds, the room was very large and clean with a nice big comfortable bed and check out was with a lovely bubbly girl Ellen she was so helpful and happy a nice change, all in all we had a great stay and would defintly go back and tell others to go as Waterford is a great city

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headdaballMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing