We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, great hotel.”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed here for their "two nights B&B and one dinner offer" and it did not disappoint. The breakfast was a buffet and was very substantial. Dinner in Restaurant was excellent with starter, wine, dinner and dessert all included. Rooms were spotless, roomy and very comfortable. There was free wi-fi in the rooms. Bathrooms were more than adequate space wise. Free underground parking which was reassuring. Great hotel, lovely staff and we will definitely be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayoMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

We chose this hotel for 2 reasons, firstly it's a realtively new hotel and easy to find for people traveling to Waterford and secondly because of the reputation that 'Chez K's' has had over the years as a top restaurant when it was in a different location.
The hotel is clean and nicely furnished and the reception and porting staff obliging. Rooms were of a good standard and could not fault them. Our dispapointment was with the restaurant. The service and quality of the food was appauling. We complained to the head waitress minutes after the main courses were served and all she said was 'sorry to hear you didn't like it and walked off', after the main course the teas and coffee'e were brought out, followed 15 minutes later by the desserts which were tasty but at this stage we had nothing to wash them down with. Steaks were undercooked and overcooked, chicken cold & the accompanying vegetable was inedible. My advice to others, by all means book the cheap rooms, enjoy the breakfast buffet if it's part of your package but eat elsewhere. Waterford has a lot to offer in terms of good food.
Apart from our small group this hotel seems to be a magnet for hen and stag parties on the night and as long as it's a roof over your head that you're looking for then this place is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeclanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

stayed here for two days midweek with a friend , found the hotel small but lovely and compact with everything you would need for a short break .I is ideally situtated for shopping etc .the staff are very friendly and efficent and the food in the restaurant was excellant . well done to all the staff and aidan the manager .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretcowexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, during the St Patrick's day celebrations. Although the room was beautiful and very clean, I found it too small. My husband was on crutches and I seemed to be watching where I was walking all the time, for fear of knocking into him! The food in the restaurant was lovely, but they were very understaffed, also no atmosphere in there or bar. When we checked in, I found out they had a hair and beauty salon. This was not mentioned on their web page. Had I known, I would have had my hair done and a massage. However, it was too late to book by then. All that being said, I would stay there again, but not travelling with someone who had a disability.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank minnihandbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I was very surprised about the fitzwilton based on some of the reviews given here. We travelled with an extended group on a hen party. We booked into clean rooms, there was a bottle of sparkling wine for the hen. The next morning we had a buffet breakfast. The evening we had a meal ChezK rest which was lovely, two of our party's fish arrived slightly cold which was remidied immediately and accompanied with a complimentary drink, the service in the restaurant and the duty manager of the hotel was over to our party checking on everybody. Very happy 2 reccommend

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norabtralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

From the other reviews my expectations were fairly low but I dint believe them! I think I got the same fawlty room as someone else, big chip out of the sink, the tap falling off, one chair at the bedroom table! Dodgy lookin shower curtain, but all in all the place clean and cosy bed! Hen party here too, and a cryin baby next door, not to worry... Restaurant looks rr, bar food wz nice. Hotel is quite boutique in that it's smaller than it looks online. For 60€ I happy to stay. As long as have got 4 star expectations. Maybe 2.5 or 3. It's not awful, just not 4 star. Needs a revamp or something. I dunno!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icecreamcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We booked a two night stay in the Fitzwilton in Waterford, after we saw an advertisement for it on a social networking site for 2 nights including breakfast both mornings and one evening meal. The stay offered good value for money so we were decided to give it a go.

We checked in and received a room which was clean and nicely decorated. However when we looked a little deeper there were a few things that could have made the room perfect, but unfortunately their absence only added to a weekend which turned out to be, "meh", at best.

Firstly there was only 1 chair at the table, so if we wanted to eat in our room (as we did one morning at breakfast) we had to use the bureau chair. Not a huge inconvenience, but when you're paying good money for something you'd like to think you're getting the best you can afford.

Secondly the towel rack in the bathroom was broken. Again this wasn't solely going to spoil our weekend but when a hotel has a 4 star rating you would expect 4 star furnishings and not broken towel racks.

Thirdly, the room did not have an air conditioning appliance which would allow you to control the temperature of your room. Instead there was a radiator in the room with a knob, which to be honest we didn't bother touching as we didn't want to set it wrong. So we had 2 nights of waking up so warm we had open the windows to let some air in. Not a very comfortable night's sleep was had.
Lastly there was no pen / pencil or writing pad in room. We thought this was a staple in any hotel room but apparently not. Its a little silly when you consider the hotel expects you to fill out a comments / feedback card, but don't actually give you anything to write it with.

All these things are fairly minor, we will be the first to admit, however what happened on the Saturday night of our stay would cement the sour feeling we had while leaving the hotel. We were unfortunate enough to be staying on the same night as not 1, not 2 but 3 stag / hen parties. So while we enjoyed drinks in the bar before our dinner, we had at least 2 of the said parties in there with us. All enjoying the weekend, but as the time went on, they got progressively louder and louder. They weren't hugely annoying and so we decided that it was all just a bit of fun, and besides it was now time for our dinner.

We entered the restaurant of the hotel, to eat at a time, which I had requested 3 weeks prior and found ourselves sharing a medium sized restaurant with 2 hen parties. Each party was about 30 in size. So because the medium sized room was already overtaken with 30 seater tables, we were shown to a table which basically was shoved in the corner beside the entrance to the kitchens.

The food made up for what was a mediocre experience at Chez K's. But the hen parties got louder and louder we actually found it hard to hear one another from across our table! Withing 55 mins we had eaten our 3 courses and by this time a stag party had come in...so we were thoroughly fed up of listening to wolf whistles and shouting and cheering, so we resigned ourselves to going back to the room.

Then later that same night at about 2 am we were woken by girls from one of the hen parties singing in our hallway. They made no effort at being quiet or even considerate to the fact that more than just their party was staying at the hotel too. Slowly over the next 2 hours more of the hen and stag parties came back to the hotel, each one waking us.

While I don't actually put blame on the hen or the stag parties, and I'm not that naive or selfish to think that hotels in this recession can afford to turn away business, surely someone with a bit of foresight from the hotels staff, could put couples etc on a different floor to the bigger groups who are going to be inevitably making noise, and to be fair, having a a good time?!

And the same thinking applies to our designated dinner time. Could we not have been warned that these hen parties were eating at the same time as us. We would have had no problem waiting an hour or so and eating a little later, if it meant we didn't have to share a dining room with feather boas and willy whistles! But again, no one asked us. No one seemed to care.

For these reasons we will not be revisiting the Fitzwilton any time soon. There were just too many faults which ultimately mean, we cannot give this 4 star hotel a good review. And if you're planning on staying here, you must make sure you request a QUIET room .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing