We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLANT”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Great value for money. Very modern hotel very comfortable. On arrival we were met by a lovely receptionist (MARINA) very helpful on check in had all her information even had time for a chat with our granchild, even let her feed the fish behind reception.
Our room was lovely & spacious wit everything we needed & spotless.
Restrauant food was fab couldn't fault anything staff were even better.
Bar aera is lovely again staff were very nice, food in bar was just as good as the restrauant.
Had to get a babbysitter for one night this was no trouble for reception had one confirmed with in ten mins, Lovely girl our granchild took to her straight away, even asked if she could see her before we went home.
We were on a 3 night stay midweek & will be back again soon. Would defitnely recommend this hotel. Outstanding staff even the babysittter. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toby41268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    385
    261
    156
    100
See reviews for
210
614
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Hotel advertised itself as a four star hotel. It is clearly not. That being said it is clean and comfortable, also the rooms are quite large. The location is convenient and is a short walk to many of the restaurants/pubs in downtown Waterford.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripel_wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Booked into this hotel for 3 nights. Hotel is nice, the bedrooms and and bathroom were clean which is very important to us. The phone wasn't working in our room and when I told the receptionist she said she would have to get someone in to fix it but it didn't happen during our stay. We had dinner the first night in the hotel and it was lovely no complaints there, however the noise level from the street beside the hotel is unacceptable, it went on the second nigh until 5 in the morning. perhaps we were just unlucky on this occasion but it ruined our weekend, were absolutely wrecked leaving so its unlikely we will return which is a pity as the hotel is fine but definately not 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Fitzwilton Hotel was clean, tidy and enjoyable. The pictures online show a quite elegant hotel and it is exactly that. Staff were polite and friendly. Dinner was in their adjoining restaurant "Chez K's". It was absolutely some of the finest food ever. Breakfast next morning was self service in Chez K's. Help yourself to whatever fried breakie (sausages, bacon, b&w pudding, tomatoes, sc egg etc), cereals, danish pasteries, toast and juices . Waitresses will bring the pot of tea/ coffee. We liked it.
Dinner was so good on the first night we went back the third night. 55euro four courses for two people inc bottle house wine. No problems getting late drink with night porter.
Down side : Heat in the hotel room at night was just too much . We had to sleep with the window open . Street noise. No air con. Room was spacious elegant and very clean, tidy.
We would recomment it . But may be suggest that hotel look at installing air con.
Would definitely recommend it and go back.
Questionable as to it being 4 star, but it tries hard. If they sort air con, and noise it would help, but don't let this put you off.

Waterford itself. Doolans bar 5 mins walk. Pints good resonable priced. Live music every night i believe. Other bars between bridge street and city center were quiet - mid week. Looking at some of the other Hotels nearby we chose the right one . One was even way out of town ...
Tramore is 15 mins drive, Dungarvan is about 30 mins drive.
Looked in to Waterford Crystal, beautiful , but twice to three times the price for the same great quality you get in Galway Crystal. Buy Galway Crystal if your lookiing for Great quality at reasonable prices - Sorry but Waterford Crystal is for the Rich USA visitors !
Reasonable shopping to be had in city center, mixture of some quaint sole traders a welcome sight from the usual irish (uk styled) shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paGalfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel with extended family for one night. Our party included all ages from age 3 to 83. My young family were put in a room on the 4th floor, this was fine as it was further away from the bar downstairs than most of the hotel rooms. The only downside of the room itself was that the window could be opened fully by my 3 year old and she could easily have thrown herself out a fourth floor window. If I was staying a second night I would have asked for a room with safety windows, but we just kept a close eye. We could still hear the music from the bar downstairs aswell.

The hotel lifts and carpets in the hallways are disgustingly dirty, I can’t believe they are a 4 star hotel. Rooms were clean and big I will give them that, TV worked, tea making facilities grand, Iron, hairdryer… all provided. Bathroom was lovely, nice powerful shower.

The bar downstairs is not family friendly, the tables are too high to eat at, and there are steps to toilet, rooms and lobby, not wheelchair friendly. The music is too loud, my 83 year old grandmother was very uncomfortable as were a lot of people in the party as we could not hear each other speaking, this was at mid-day. The parking situation is a nightmare. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel, do not go in there if you are not a confident driver. It’s a tight squeeze, we couldn’t get a space, so we went to the car park behind ALDI a short walk from the hotel, €3 for the night and day, hotel rates. Thankfully it wasn’t raining as we had to carry our luggage and navigate with 2 young children across a busy road to the hotel.

Our night sleep was interrupted by a man from the bar downstairs running up and down the corridors in the hotel screaming and knocking at doors in the early hours of the morning. This didn’t even happen on our floor. Apparently the man was arrested and removed from the hotel, he wasn’t even a guest, it’s easy to get into the lift and navigate around the hotel as there is no security on the lift. The bar seems to be a very popular spot and was packed that night, its right beside the lifts and literally anyone from the bar could just hop in the lift at any stage. How safe is that for hotel guests????

The food in the restaurant is all it has going for it… fabulous, delicious and fast service, well co-ordinated by the lovely friendly staff. Staff in reception and the restaurant were lovely, very friendly and full of information.

This hotel is not for families at all, but there were loads of stags and hen parties in the restaurant and bar and it would be perfect for a mad weekend. Busy contemporary bar, good food and central to the town and near train station.

Avoid if you are planning a trip with family, it’s just not suitable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflipgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Sunny south east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I will start with a positive breakfast was lovely - but that is where the positive ends. Myself and my better half went on the sleep, wine and dine offer with this hotel. When I heard the restauraunt was ChezK's I had no hesitation in booking as I had many previous excellent experiences. But what happened?? Both starters were fine, the mozerella salad could have been a bit more exciting but the main courses were very disappointing. I had lamb with a very overpowering cous cous which ment I tasted nothing else, my wife's chicken dish was dried out with what I would swear was instant gravy (the red wine jus that is!!). The new potatoes were microwaved for sure and I could taste sand/grit as though they hadn't been washed properly, there was only one veg (broccolli). For dessert we had pear tart which was 'grand', couldn't fault it but nothing exciting and chocolate brownie of which the middle was edible as the outsides were microwaved to excess and so chewy that it just couldn't be eaten.
As an aside we weren't offered tea or coffee at breakfast :(

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 199301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed in the Fitzwilton for 2 night's B&B.

We were given a room on the 4th floor which for me was a disaster as I dont use lifts....The room was absolutely roasting day and night. We asked to be changed on the 2nd night to a cooler room which was much better. So if you are staying request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.

Rooms could do with a bit of work, loose fittings eg. toilet seat, mirror on the wall. Carpet was stained.

There was one lovely receptionist with short red hair, always pleasant to deal with. The rest were pretty sullen and unfriendly.

Food was nice in the evening (ate in the bar). Breakfast was pretty basic. And the same fruit salad was used both mornings as by the second morn the juices in the bowl had gone brown.

Location was good to use as a base for travelling around Waterford. BUT it is located by a large high rise block of flats and we were woken up on the second night to the sound of drunks fighting outside the window!! Not the hotels fault obviously but bear this in mind when booking with small children!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,070 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing