We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great value and service”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great value and service”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Fitzwilton for 2 days whilst attending a wedding in Waterford. The hotel was very well located, with complimentary car parking, which for us was an added bonus. The service was great, very friendly and personal, you weren't made to feel like they were doing you a favour by letting you stay there, unlike a few other hotels we have stayed in over the years. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, even if some of the furniture was a little tired looking. The breakfast was hot, fresh and a great selection of everything, and plenty of it. We ate in the restaurant on our 2nd night there and had their ' wine and dine' deal 55e for both of us, which we thought was fantastic value for very nice food. We would definately recommend it!!! All in all a lovely hotel and an enjoyable stay. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Hi Wendy,

thank you kindly for taking the time for sharing your enjoyable visit at the Fitzwilton HOtel. I am delighted to see that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and that service, facilities and food were all to you and you partners liking. The €55 wine & dine special is indeed a great value offer and this is available 7 nights per week if you are back in Waterford anytime soon. Thank you both once again and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    402
    275
    159
    102
See reviews for
219
641
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

as part of a small hen party we stayed at the Fitzwilton for 2 nights & apart from nice, tidy spacious rooms, the hotel doesn't have a lot going for it & doesn't warrent its 4 stars.not wanting to walk the 10 mins into town we opted for lunch in the bar & despite being the only customers there we waited for ages for someone to come & take our order.their idea of an "open cajun chicken sandwich" was what i can only describe as cold chicken curry on warm bread! two other girls ordered a simp toastie & theirs was 2 slices of cold toasted rench stick with what looked like cheese & tomato accompanied by 3/4's of a plate of lettuce.the lift is painfully slow & there are no stairs.the rooms are perfectly adequate,if a little too warm.the shower wasn't very powerful & there was very limited complimentary toileteries.our included evening dinner was the worst part of our stay however.4 out of our 9 main courses had to be sent back as they were either stone cold or overdone.most were happy with starters & generally with deserts too but the choc belinis were very bland.we called for the manager & informed him of the staff member who served us & her rolling her eyes to heaven & he said he'd deal with it personally & gave us 2 complimentary bottles of wine, a very small token considering the numerous complaints made by many members of our party. the hotel is in a reasonable location but the quality & standard of service is what lets it down. parking is a nightmare too. bring a smart car if you're any way nervous in a tight spot.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritzabitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Hi



thank you for your comments. In response,

We are a 5 minute walk from town centre,

Cajun chicken is freshly cooked to order, and certainly nothing like chicken curry.it is in fact one of our top selling dishes in the bar.

We have 2 stairwells in the hotel, perhaps you didn not ask where they are.

We supply Plenty of toiletries,if you required extra all you had to do was ask - we are environmentally friendly hotel and do not overstock the room with unnecessary use of toiletries.)

2 main courses (not 4) were sent back to kitchen, replaced with new mains and your colleagues said that the dishes were “absolutely” lovely.

our Waitress was upset that one of the party clicked her fingers at her to get service – we prefer our guests dont treat our staff in this manner and i am sure this is perhaps why she seemed upset to you.

On checkout your group everything was fine we take this to mean that you had a nice stay and that all issues were dealt with.

Thank you once again for writing.

Kind Regards,



Geoff Dawson

Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We were intending to stay in Cork but no accomadation in our price range was available so we stayed in Waterford instead. The hotel was easy to locate and the staff were extremly helpful. Parking was available for no extra cost. Within walking distance to the central business district.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeJuview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you Dejaview for sharing your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel . I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourstay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and yours here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed for one night got it for cheap enough on Internet. It has free underground parking which us good. It's centrally located and easy to find. We had food in the bar and the food was lovely pity about slow service. Our room was dusty lots of dust everywhere... Apart from that it's a nice modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxcsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Met Bar and sorry to hear you found the service to beslow on that particular day - we do strive to train our staff to the hoighest of bord failte standards and efficient customer service is key to our operation so I shall take your comments on board.
I am also sorry to hear about the dust - all of our rooms are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and this surprises me. Again, I shall look into the matter with house keeping though it is not something i have come acrosss before.

Thank you once again for your time and i look forward to seeing you again soon at the Fitzwilton Hotel in Waterford.

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here for two nights after looking online and choosing this hotel for its modern decor. It's advertised as 4* and I guess that's facilities based...I would rate it a 3*, it's lacking the finish of a 4* in my opinion. The parking spaces are definitely tight and I'd assume people are often left without spaces as it's a very small car park. I'd agree with another poster who mentioned that the room was much too warm (without central heating switched on); we couldn't bear it so left the window open and had to put up with a lot of street noise. I'd also agree with the poster who suggested the room would benefit from less furniture; our double room had a single & double bed and squashed into the corner beside a work desk with chair were two further chairs (rather stained) and a table; unfortunately the carpet in the room also had some stains, However the bed was clean, the bathroom had both a bath & shower, breakfast buffet catered for most tastes, the hotel is well located, and reasonably priced. Average.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Inresponse, there are rare occasions when our car park is full for which we offer alternatives to all guests. I am sorry to hear you found your room over furnished. Had you raised this during your stay, we would have been glad to remove some of the furniture for you. 1 of the requirements of becoming a 4 star property is room size, and as the only 4 star hotel in the city, our rooms are amongst thelargest so again I am sorry to hear you found them tight for space.
I am delighted you enjoyed all other aspects of your visit and hopeful we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Fitzwilton Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

we decided to go on a girls few days away, the only thing i have to say we enjoyed was the laugh we had amoungst ourselves. We arrived at the hotel to find where it was situated to be very deceiving, the pic on the internet is lovely and then we see a hotel on a side street with our rooms overlooking a side street and skips. wasn the most appropiate view.The reception area is dark, small and with no music which i found to be rather dissapointing for a 4**** star.
As for the car park why is it not bigger? my friend had to park the car in the quays which she had to pay for.we went out one night on the town to find we were locked out of the hotel finding it rather difficult to find a porter. Only for our friend going home early that night we would probably have been homeless in waterford.The phone that was connecting to the door at night was out of order.
Breakfast was nice i have to say the food has/ had alot going for the hotel, but saying that we found a hair in our food.i was rather dissapointed with the hotel and dont understand how it is 4 star without a function room and leisure centre and air conditioning in the rooms. To wake up at night we felt like we were in spain

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleonegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed in this hotel. Looks exactly like the website. Very nice with great food. Modern clean rooms. Very reasonable for four star. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing