We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff & fantastic food”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We arrived late on Friday evening so all the car parking spaces were taken but you can use the Aldi carpark just around the corner at a discounted rate so no issue really over parking!

Staff at check in are really helpful & friendly they actually chat to you rather than just trying to check you in. The rooms are lovely & pretty standard size with plenty of room for a baby cot & luggage. The best thing was the shower, I wanted to take it with me in my bag!!! Water pressure is amazing. Comfy beds & really clean rooms. My daughter locked her "jewellery" into the safe but there was no problems or delays in getting it opened.

We had the wine & dine offer €55 per couple for 4 course dinner & bottle of wine & the food was delicious. Fresh tasty ingredients made into fabulous dishes. The restaurant is beautiful & I recommend booking a table as it books out fast.

The breakfast was a buffet of hot & cold food. There was a wide range to suit everyone & it was replenished often. The rashes are the best I've had in any hotel, top quality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Thank you Purple-swb for your very kind comments in relation to your recent stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel. Yes, unfortunatley, car parking can be limited at peak times but as you mention, we offer a very discounted rate at the adjacent aldi car park.
I am delighted to see you found our staff helpful and were iplressed by our facilities and the 'shower' :)
Our iwne & dine offer is extremely popular and i am happy you enjoyed your food as well as the service and atmosphere.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

Great location,good value and service. Very contemporary decor but warm and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was top Class.all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbiWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Hi Bobbi,

delighted to see you enjoyed your stay at the Fitzwilton. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass this to our chef regarding our top class restaurant food. (I agree, it is top class, biased view, but true)

Have a good day.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Dealing with your luggage: 1. Park underground. 2. Carry luggage up to the road. 3. Half-block on road. 4. Through lobby. 5. Up elevator. 6. Put down bags before 2-3 sets of fire doors. 7. Proceed through fire doors. 8. Get to room.

Friendly staff. Good location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frjbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Good afternoon frjbdc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and our firendly staff. If I may just clear up for other readers of your post - the car park is at ground level and not underground. It is a 1 minute walk at most to the hotel as it is attached to the hotel itself. In addition, it is standard practice to have fire doors in every hotel in the country. We would have been only to happy to provide a porter for you to assist with your luggage, and I apologise if this service was not made aware to you upon check in.

I do sincerely hope you had a lovely stay in Waterford City and will return again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Half of the Fitzwilton's problem they can't fix, and that is that it is in Waterford. When we asked the hotel staff what to do, they offered nothing more than the Crystal Museum and the other Museum in town. Litterally nothing else.

The hotel itself looked large, spacious and modern from the pictures. Upon arrival however it was clear the pictures were stretched out to make it appear larger than it actually was. Deciding to pay up for what looked to be a nicer hotel ended up being a regret as it was average at best and I could have had a great time at a B&B and paid half price. Not the worst, but definitely would't recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Do not stay here. Images on website are stretched out to make rooms/lobby look bigger than they are. I laughed out loud when I saw how small the room was (the table and chair was pushed into a corner so tightly that you couldn't even sit on the chairs). One good aspect was the breakfast which was good and located inside a modern and well-designed restaurant facility.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Hi Eurpoetraveler,

Thank you for your comments. I can assure you our images are not stretched nor do we make any attempt to misslead our customers at any stage. As the only 4 star hotel in Waterford City, Our rooms, public areas etc.. have to be a minimum standard size (which we exceed in every room) in order to comply with 4 Star achievement so I am sorry ther room siew was not suitable for you on this occassion. I am delighted you enjoyed the breakfast during your stay and the design of our Restaurant.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just back from a weekend at the Fitzwilton and was very impressed. Two nights bb and an evening meal for 99e was fantastic value especially as it was Valentines weekend. The only negative point was the car park which is really bad and when I pointed this out to reception we were told that we could have used Aldi as the Hotel send people here as an overflow. Perhaps this could be put on the website as it would certainly save the hassle of getting in to park and then finding no spaces..Overall however everything else was lovely very friendly staff and wonderful food and as for noise from the street, I really never heard a thing and I am a very light sleeper. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boo57Arklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 5th-7th Feb 2011, we had gotten a great one night B&B, massage and bottle of wine deal and when I phoned to book the receptionist offered us a second night as a discounted rate which we gladly took.

After recently reading some of the reviews on here I was very worried about our weekend, it is true what people are saying about the car park, it is very very pokey and although it looks like there is plenty of spaces until you go in and they are 'reserved for apartment residents'. Luckily we managed to get the last space round the back of the hotel which looked like a dumping yard for all the hotel's beer crates etc but was a ‘space’ nevertheless.
The car that came in after us had an awful time trying to manoeuvre about the car park particularly trying to turn to exit it. I would definitely not recommend to anyone new to driving or those who are not confident.

Having read the reviews about the hotel and knowing that we wouldn't be coming to the hotel to late evening (7pm) I emailed the hotel to the address provided on their website asking what the car park policy was and any alternatives, unfortunately they have still yet to get back to me which was over a week ago.

Hotel is very easy to find and it very nice inside. We arrived at reception to check in and was greeted by a nice girl who gave us our keys and informed us we are booked into the restaurant for 8pm, for the 55 EURO 4 course meal offer - this was the first time we had heard anything of the offer as I definitely did not book it!! I told the girl at reception who looked baffled and stay ‘don’t worry I will cancel your booking, sometime people get confused with what they book’. I certainly was not confused I know I didn’t book it as we were arriving quite late on.- despite the girl being friendly she did not offer any information on check out times or breakfast details (all info can be found in the hotel book in your room if in doubt)

The T.V worked but not with all the channels available, we had about 6 channels out of a plentiful list that was apparently available – assuming this was due to signal problems it was not the hotels fault but frustrating nonetheless (especially on Superbowl night)

Breakfast is what you would expect from a nice hotel, buffet style with full continental and hot food available, there was not much choice on the hot food but the essentials were there. On Sunday morning we were greeted at the door and asked whether we would like tea or coffee and had plenty of food. However on Monday morning things were a bit different the hotel was obviously less busy and the food was running low with some buffet plates being empty, there was no one to greet us and take our room number or offer us drinks. The hotel restaurant for breakfast was very understaffed, although it was considerably quieter than Sunday but still not enough staff. Breakfast was very nice, could maybe be improved with cooked to order item e.g. more than one type of egg like most 4 star hotels have but that’s probably being a bit too picky.

Due to myself being sick we decided to eat in the hotel on the Sunday night and order room service, there is a very reasonable menu to choose from and was promptly delivered to our room. The food was amazing we had the steak, was cooked to our own requirements and presentation was lovely. Would definitely recommend eating here – compliments to the chef.

Our room was lovely and very clean, bed was a good size (not the comfiest though). Our room over looked the street and it was like the other reviewers said very very very noisy. You could hear every car go past and any shouting on the street particularly on the Saturday night) – so wouldn’t suggest if taking small children or if you are desperate for a sound sleep. (maybe request a different view room)

Our offered included a massage in the beauty salon. The two girls that did our massages were lovely, very friendly and relaxing. However the ‘beauty salon’ is a just a hotel room without any beds in it – the girls have done great with what they had nicely decorating it etc. But would suggest going somewhere else if you wanted to treat a few people say maybe girly day out as it is quiet small.

On checking out, our bill was higher than expected after asking for a print out of it (which the girl at the desk gladly provided and was very helpful) I saw that the hotel had charged me for the 4 course meal that I had supposedly booked for the first night even though the girl said it was cancelled, the receptionist was very pleasant about it and took it off the bill as I assured her of what had happened. – so just have a wee double check of the bill before you check out so there is no nasty surprises.

Overall we had a lovely experience at this hotel, and would probably stay again due to the nice rooms and decor and excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing