We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Nice hotel. Central location. Bar staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for Saturday night as we got an excellent deal and we also opted for the €55 euro dinner deal.

We arrived in the afternoon and were lucky enough to get a place in the car pack. This is literally around the corner from the entance to the hotel. Check in was promt and the lady on the desk was very helpful and friendly. We booked a table in the restuarant for 8:30pm and went to our room. The room was slightly smaller than those shown in the pictures but for two there was more than enough space. The rooms were warm and comfortable and perfectly clean.

The hotel is a short walk form the centre of Waterford so shops and pubs are easily accessible. Before dinner we went to the bar for some cocktails and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (and the mojitos were delicious too!!). After dinner we returned to the bar and one of the girls (can't remember her name, she doesn't usually work in the bar) was so helpful in offering suggestions on other bars in the area and how to get there rather than us rambling around the unknown city trying to find somewhere to our taste.

Dinner was AMAZING. The food was cooked perfectly and the choice was extremely good. The dinner deal is 4 courses plus a bottle of wine for €55. The restaurant was very busy (as you would expect with such a value for money deal) but that didn't impact on the service we received. Staff were extremely attentive and again...very very friendly.

Once again, check out on Sunday morning was efficent and the same lady was on reception as had checked us in. She was genuienly interested in how we found our stay and offered some lovely suggestions on where to spend the afternoon as it was such a lovely day.

All in all this is a fabulous hotel with amazing staff. If you want some time away in friendly surroundings with amazing food put this hotel on your list.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_shells28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Myself and my husband got a great deal with this hotel and decided to stay for the weekend. We got a room only rate and arrived late on the Friday evening. The only problems we had was with the car park as it was quite full and if we didn't find a space we had to park in the Aldi car park. We managed to get a space in the car park luckily enough but I can see how some people would be put out by that. We got to the hotel and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. There was one room left which did not have a bath but was very spacious and a nice enough view. We were offered to change the room the following day for a bath but we were quite happy with what was offered. The place was clean and the bed was gorgeoulsy comfy. I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to Waterford.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Specialk-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit friends who live in waterford city. Know the city really well as visit quiet alot. Hotel is in good location 5 mins walk to centre of town and 5 mins walk over bridge from train station. The hotel is new so obviously it is clean and looks well. There is nothing special about this hotel, no character and would rather spend time out of it then in it. The bar is sleek but cold with no atmosphere, same applies to the restaurant. We had a meal here one night and the food was ok, nothing special, so if not included in the deal eat elsewhere (try Goa Indian restaurant on the quay...best Indian food outside of GOA!) Breakfast was your bog standard self service with tea/coffee on request. The rooms are typical hotel room (holiday inn/jurys inn style). It is prob one of the newest hotels in the city and the more common hotels like the Talbot/Grandville/Bridge are probably quiet run down compared to it...but it just didn't do it for me....if you get good deal take it but only if you don't plan on spending much time hanging around it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Hi Tashaka,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to see however you did not find our food and or atmosphere to your liking. You are correct in saying that we are the newest hotel in Waterford city and also the only 4 star property in the city. For breakfast, we do provide a full buffet of Irish & continental choice including tea/coffee, and again I am sorry to see you this was not to yourr liking.

Thank you for visiting the Fitzwilton and also for taking the time to share your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We arrived late on Friday evening so all the car parking spaces were taken but you can use the Aldi carpark just around the corner at a discounted rate so no issue really over parking!

Staff at check in are really helpful & friendly they actually chat to you rather than just trying to check you in. The rooms are lovely & pretty standard size with plenty of room for a baby cot & luggage. The best thing was the shower, I wanted to take it with me in my bag!!! Water pressure is amazing. Comfy beds & really clean rooms. My daughter locked her "jewellery" into the safe but there was no problems or delays in getting it opened.

We had the wine & dine offer €55 per couple for 4 course dinner & bottle of wine & the food was delicious. Fresh tasty ingredients made into fabulous dishes. The restaurant is beautiful & I recommend booking a table as it books out fast.

The breakfast was a buffet of hot & cold food. There was a wide range to suit everyone & it was replenished often. The rashes are the best I've had in any hotel, top quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Thank you Purple-swb for your very kind comments in relation to your recent stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel. Yes, unfortunatley, car parking can be limited at peak times but as you mention, we offer a very discounted rate at the adjacent aldi car park.
I am delighted to see you found our staff helpful and were iplressed by our facilities and the 'shower' :)
Our iwne & dine offer is extremely popular and i am happy you enjoyed your food as well as the service and atmosphere.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Great location,good value and service. Very contemporary decor but warm and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was top Class.all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Hi Bobbi,

delighted to see you enjoyed your stay at the Fitzwilton. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass this to our chef regarding our top class restaurant food. (I agree, it is top class, biased view, but true)

Have a good day.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Dealing with your luggage: 1. Park underground. 2. Carry luggage up to the road. 3. Half-block on road. 4. Through lobby. 5. Up elevator. 6. Put down bags before 2-3 sets of fire doors. 7. Proceed through fire doors. 8. Get to room.

Friendly staff. Good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frjbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Good afternoon frjbdc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and our firendly staff. If I may just clear up for other readers of your post - the car park is at ground level and not underground. It is a 1 minute walk at most to the hotel as it is attached to the hotel itself. In addition, it is standard practice to have fire doors in every hotel in the country. We would have been only to happy to provide a porter for you to assist with your luggage, and I apologise if this service was not made aware to you upon check in.

I do sincerely hope you had a lovely stay in Waterford City and will return again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing