We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our cup of tea!”
Review of Portree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portree House
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

In fairness to this Guesthouse, it did have some plus points..... But at the end of the day, we would not stay here again. It comes across much better online, than in reality.
The positives: The man who greeted us was friendly and pleasant.... good wifi.... and the room was clean and tidy with some little extras like soap, flannel and a toothpaste and brush set.
The negatives: We were asked for money upfront before we were even taken to our room.... This never really happens and made me quite suspicious. The rooms are dated and tired. The lower levels are hostel style with shared rooms..... Which ordinarily would not be a problem, but this was not obvious when we booked, and we believe that it is overpriced for a hostel. Also, the location was a bit ordinary, although it was within easy walking to the town centre, it wasn't located in a very nice area of town.
Unfortunately, we were looking for somewhere to stay at the end of the day and didn't have much to choose from..... as the Ploughing Championships were on that weekend!! Whatever you do, don't visit this area when the Ploughing Championships are on unless you are going to them..... We had a 2 hour delay in traffic before we decided to turn around and start again and head in a different direction.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    36
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
59
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

A work colleague booked this to save money and unfortunately it was disappointing. The host was very nice but that only painted over the cracks. Small shower (nigh on impossible to get into) and rooms that have seen little maintenance and look dated. Investment does not appear on their list and with a little investment this could be a good place. The Guinness factory is noisy and alarms are permanently going off. The beds are not the best and I don't think I will be staying there again. It is however a good location for the quay and shops.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The shower would cycle from cold to hot every 30 sec. Just bring your own tubes and MasterMix, and you could run PCR while cleaning yourself (Note: gel run not included). Life, Agilent and Illumina take note!

The host was friendly, Wifi perfect, the building was a charming Victorian, but accoutrements were dated. There was parking, but it was a fun one to enter/exit without a spotter. My wife struggled to sleep in the bed, but part of that was jetlag.

Room Tip: First in line to the boiler?????
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radom, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Nothing wrong to say about this hostel. Good location close to the river and the city center, clean and specious room, friendly stuff. I spent there one night and my general impression is positive. In fact there was nothing special about this place but still nothing to complaint, it was simply fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The host seemed helpful enough but that was where the positive part of this review ends. The bed was rock hard and the pillows not much better. We had the Guinness factory right outside our window which, although not operating all night, didn't make for the most enjoyable back ground noise. The curtains were paper thin and moldy and did nothing to stop the light getting through at all. We wanted to check out early (7am) but no one available to hand the key back and get our 10 EUR key deposit, even when we called the reception from the phone in our room. We couldn't have been more happy to get out of the and on to our next stop!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We are exploring Ireland and stumbled across Portree. The building is huge. We were warmly greeted my Patricia and quickly. He checked in. There is a Hostel in the very bottom part and ensuite rooms on the upper level. They are really charming rooms with very high ceilings. Remi ds me of an old huge Victorian home. Can't believe it was only $59 a night! Just stay there, you won't be sorry. There is also free wireless, parking and a
Small flats screen tv in the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squinsey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Christopher and Patricia the owners of the hotel were quite accommodating and the accommodations were clean, everything worked and the rate was quite reasonable, plus it is in a vintage building and there is a fully equipped kitchen for the use of guests. There is also a hostel section for even better prices and a nice garden with a friendly dog named Toby who played soccer well enough to play for Manchester.

The location lends itself to strolling along the river quay and in a few minutes there are many pubs and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room number 8 is cheerful with good light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,368 reviews
2.4 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree House

Property: Portree House
Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing