We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming little place”
Review of Portree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portree House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were travelling through Waterford and found two beds in the dormatory here.

The hostel is located at the corner of the city center, everything is easily walkable.

The guy at the reception made us feel very welcome, although the place has a relatively old feeling to it. And I get why someone above said it feels a bit creepy.

But if you're looking for a cheap bed for a night, this is a good choice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in this hostel for one night. I didn't really like the road which leads to it, it wasn't very lively, and everything was closed. The house itself is very nice, and the owner was absolutely lovely and very welcoming! :) The hostel is under the reception, offers two five-bed-rooms with comfy beds and a lot of space. The common room, which is also the kitchen, is probably the coziest one I have ever seen in a hostel, thumbs up for that!

The only thing that made me feel very uncomfortable - some might see this as an advantage, though - was the fact that I was alone in the hostel. There was another guest, a girl of my age, but she went out and didn't come back until the next day, which made me worry a little about her. The fact that it would be very easy to get into the room from the street (through the window) and big spiders in the bathroom didn't make it any better.

The feelings I have about this hostel are very mixed, and I feel very sorry for the lovely hostel owner, because of course it had nothing to with him or the hostel itself. So, let's say: this is a lovely hostel, as long as you're not alone and as long as you're not as anxious as I was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosfresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here a couple of years in a row,always found it good with no problems,however this year was a different story,we were met on arrival by a very arrogant security person ,there was a mistake made with our booking ,on their behalf !!,this ignoramus made out that my wife was lying,we never met anything like him !!,we asked to see the manager and he wouldn't come down to talk to us,knowing that they were in the wrong !,.That security person was not the type of person to have out meeting guests on arrival,he alone will close this place down,personally after this experience , i will never stay here again and would advise people to be weary of this place,if you can get a cardboard box on the side of the road you would have a better experience !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Close by the centre of the city, this guesthouse is in a well preserved older building with clean, modern facilities. Everything worked well. The shower is very small. The wi fi would not work in my room. Breakfast was bountiful. Staff were friendly.
Parking is in an open yard at the rear of the premises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When we arrived to check in we thought the place was a bit creepy because it was old and smelled bad. The owners were not welcoming at all. They didn’t expect us to arrive because they had lost our reservation. Fortunately we had a copy of it and there was no one in the hostel so they gave us a room but they didn’t let us in until we had paid. They didn’t seem to care about us at all and we didn’t get a smile or even a word in two days.

Even if the kitchen and the common room were fine, all we’ll remember is that weird feeling as if we were in a bad horror movie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for one night. It was good for the price. I could see where some people might not like it, as the rooms are a bit outdated. It was chilly out and the room had plenty of heat, and the shower had plenty of warm water. The owners are pleasant and they have parking out back if you have as car as I did. Its in a good location to a short walk to everything you want to do. The breakfast was ok, nothing great, but overall good for the money. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevens281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at the Portree Guesthouse on several occasions, staying in different rooms as I sometimes travel alone (for work) or with my partner. I have never been disappointed.

It is accurate to say that the Portree Guesthouse has it all - a wonderful, friendly welcome on arrival; very helpful and courteous staff; rooms are clean and well laid out. The location is perfect - close enough to walk from the train / bus stations and also close enough to walk into Waterford city centre (only mere minutes).

There is a private car par; breakfast is made to order and in the sitting-room you can just relax and read the newspapers or enjoy complimentary tea & coffee. If you don't want to dine out there's a kitchen where you can cook your own meals or use the microwave etc....What else can I say about the Portree Guesthouse? It's great value for money and it is certainly my home away from home - I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Simply ask Christopher (the manager) and I have no doubts that he would do whatever he can to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
423 reviews
2 mi away
Diamond Hill Country House
2.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree House

Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Waterford
Price Range: £28 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing