We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of John F. Kennedy Arboretum

John F. Kennedy Arboretum
Ranked #13 of 114 things to do in County Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visited on a day when entrance fees were greatly reduced: I don't think we would have paid the full fee. Went for a walk which was meant to be 3 km but because of poor signage, it turned out to be much further - more like 5km. This was a problem because one of our party was diabetic and their sugar went very low, and another had heart problems and while 3km was do-able, 5km was really too far for them to walk in comfort. We visited the cafe - tatty and badly needing a bit of TLC, with the usual high prices found in places where there is no competition. The cafe was full of wasps, I know this couldn't be helped, being a very hot day in late August, but didn't add to our enjoyment! The exhibition was interesting but could be made much more of. The arboretum in Co Carlow has a simply beautiful restaurant and lovely shops, making it a day out anyone would enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    29
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arklow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We visited during the summer and the Arboretum is very nice with a large playground for children, picnic area and several miles of pathway for walking and cycles as well as shops, its a pity that wexford council charge an entrance fee as places like this should be made available for everyone, the Arboretum in Wicklow is free and is just as nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Weather wasn't great but we still had a lovely afternoon.
Lovely walks, beautiful scenery and very interesting. Lovely play area for the kids as well.

We had just had lunch, so can't comment on the canteen/shop.

Would be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“View not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a review of only the Slievecoiltia Commons Scenic overlook. It was too late in the day for us to visit the actual Arboretum, but we drove to the Scenic overlook (which you don't have to pay for, but is considered part of the Arboretum) – by all means go out of your way to go to this overlook – it is spectacular. You have a 360 degree view of the beautiful Irish countryside – you can even see to the coast with binoculars. It is an absolutely breathtaking view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“why do you have to pay to go into this place???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

really lovely place but why do you have to pay to go in there? its no better than the many forest parks & playgrounds around the country which you can use free of charge or just pay for parking. Its not a privately owned park so why pay so much...wouldn't mind if it only 4 or 5 euro but 8 euro was way too much we only wanted to have a picnic, nice little train ride in the park at €1 per person which was good but they def need to look at the charges on the gate,...rip off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gwall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John F. Kennedy Arboretum also viewed

County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
New Ross, County Wexford
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 

Been to John F. Kennedy Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing