We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hedge End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Oaks Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hedge End B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just spent a fab weekend visiting friends in the area. Guesthouse within walking distance. Owners very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Our room was large tastefully decorated and quiet overlooking the garden. Lovely breakfast room and a good choice of cereals/fruit or cooked breakfast. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Suspect rooms at the back are quieter as they overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
7
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Twin Oaks is by far the most disgusting guest house I have ever had the misfortune to pay for. The whole house is untidy, cluttered, shabby and dirty. The carpets everywhere looked as though they haven't been vacuumed in ages, and the room I stayed in was dirty and dusty. There was an enormous length of cobweb hanging from the wardrobe. As for the bathroom, it was truly disgusting. The shower cubicle was filthy and the shower head and soap dispenser (which looked like something you would find in a public toilet) were black with mould. I was glad I was only booked in for one night as there was no way I would have used the shower! The towels were threadbare and extremely rough. The breakfast was average. Overall, definitely NOT worth £65/night and I certainly would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SAJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have stayed at Twin Oaks for 2 - 3 visits per year for 4 years, mainly to watch the cricket at the Rose Bowl. Penny and Martin are always welcoming and go out of their way to accomodate your needs.
We stayed in a well presented bedroom with en suite and they are always spotless and well maintained as is the whole house.
The breakfast is very good as usual and all requirements are catered for.
There is plenty of parking which is a bonus.
We sometimes see the same guests when we stay and they too have been going to Twin Oaks for many years.
I would encourage you to disregard the review by Lankalean.
I am sure you will enjoy your stay!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Sir I cannot agree with the guest who wrote glowingly about Twin Oaks at Hedge end . I have stayed six B & B in Hedge End and this one certainly gets the thumbs down.

Martin the owner seems nice enough although he barely acknowledged me. Penny the landlady couldn't even bring herself to say Hello to me. They were not very friendly
. When you arrive in this house you dont feel like coming from a home to a home. It was like going in to a unit in an industrial estate Owners live on the ground floor where four rooms are. The whole corridor was a mess with books , files and clutter every where . The reception area ( If you can call that ) was a terrible mess. Not a single ornament, a beautiful picture or stature you would see in other B & B was there. They havent put any thought about decor, or give the house that warm and welcoming feeling


The landlady Penny needs to go on a course about how to keep a professional B & B house nice, tidy and attractive to guests. .


The en-suite twin room I stayed was cramped . I didnt even have enough room to move about. Space wast enough to keep two beds in that room But the worst thing was the noise. You could hear everything the guests in the next room were saying . You could hear their Tv even at the low volume. I didnt need a alarm clock because the snoring of the guest next room woke me up at 2am. I guess their partition walls are made of cardboard.

It was more like a over crowded boarding house than a proper B & B. . Although they need your money you get the feeling that you are not welcome there. May be they can afford to ignore new guests because they have enough long term stayers
This is a good lesson for everybody not to fall for websites of B & Bs. They describe the place as fantasy land and you go there believing everything they say only to get very disappointed. The couple has young children so perhaps they have not got enough time to make the B & b a better place for guests.


if you are a builder and nowhere else to stay you are ok to spend the night here, But if you are a professional looking for short term stay in Hedge end do not go here

if you are paying yours,this place is not worth for £45 a night (Thats reduced Winter price) . You wont wake up relaxed and refreshed However, if your employer pays and you need a place to stay just one night this place is bearable.
I am afraid I would never recommend this to anybody


I have stayed at many other local B & B and first thing you notice is how friendly and welcoming the hosts are. Unfortunately, I didnt get that feeling here.

May be come Summer, Penny would start to Smile and Martin would be more attentive and you would be ok. But that may be wishful thinking

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LankaLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny s, Owner at Twin Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
A real shame that you did not inform us of any complaints that you had at the time. From your discriptions I do wonder if you have the right place?You have spelt Hedge End wrong and indeed Twin Oaks was also spelt incorrectly! If you look at our website, rooms can be viewed on line and it is plain to see the sizes and the high quality of them, prices for the rooms are also quoted there.
A vast majority of our guests return week after week/year after year and vary from professional people to holiday makers and visitors to the Hampshire cricket ground. Both new and returning guests are always made very welcome.
We do hope however that you find somewhere else more suitable for your requirements in the future and that should you have any complaints next time that you raise them with the owners face to face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Twin Oaks is a small, friendly guesthouse in a good location. We were warmly greeted by Martin and immediately felt at home, meeting Penny a little later that day. Twin Oaks is run primarily by Penny, who is obviously very keen to make her guests feel at home, with some assistance from Martin when he is not at his regular job. We had a lovely week there. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm with a very nice en-suite shower and toilet. The breakfast, which was served in a lovely conservatory, was tasty and filling. Penny was keen to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and she has a great rapport with her quests. We intend returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny s, Owner at Twin Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
A lovely honest review, it was a pleasure to have you stay in our home. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Botleigh Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedge End
775 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.0 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Guest House

Property: Twin Oaks Guest House
Address: 43 Upper Northam Road, Hedge End SO30 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hedge End
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Guest House Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing