We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a guest house! Not a 4* hotel.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hedge End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Oaks Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hedge End B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I needed an overnight stay, comfy bed, hot shower, TV, wi-fi, quiet, and early cooked breakfast, for a reasonable price. And that's what I got, and if I worked in this part of the south again, I'd stay once more.
Owner is very pleasant, happy, no fuss, full car park but got me sorted easily, and that's that.
Yes it could do with a little more tlc but where does someone stop on expenditure when trying to run a simple and modest B and B, so allow for minor things and see the picture, it's not a 4* hotel! and it does the job. So all good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank JohnHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Family Run Bed and Breakfast.
Friendly welcome and service.
Good value, starting from £40 per night for a single room.
One of a very few that welcome dogs and with a large park area adjacent.
Easy walking distance from heart of Hedge End and few miles from Southampton central.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for dogs. Ground or First floor for others. Double and Family Rooms equally wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RogerPaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The cleanliness of the room was not great, the small bin in the room was full from a previous visitor, I could clearly see hairs on the floor of the ensuite from a previous person. The ensuite flooring finished short of the soil pipe, leaving a big gap. The shower had black marks of mould around the shower tray. But apart from these little issues, it was a nice friendly place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Room were tidy and clean, and the bed was comfy. Landlady was welcoming and cooks a nice breakfast. Had a family room, the shower door could have done with being a bit more opaque... Overall a pleasent stay at a good price

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

An excellent stay for a budget priced hotel. Most welcoming proprietor (Penny), and she is extremely helpful.

Room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was modern and everything worked OK. The place is on a busy-ish road in the daytime, but becomes most acceptable at night. Quite surprised how many rooms the place has, as from the road it seems smaller!

Lovely breakfast room. Real family atmosphere, with a share of Penny's own young family in the back garden (bunnies etc).

Room Tip: You could ask for a room at the back, but I have to say the traffic really wasn't a bother at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grovesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Rooms are clean and the breakfasts very good. Very good value and good location, close to the centre of Hedge end as well as the cricket ground. Owners very welcoming. Would recommend this b and b and would use it again if I was in Southampton or the surrounding area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank ahw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having to make a sudden visit to Hedge End for work I was very pleased with the Twin Oaks. From the moment I spoke to Penny on the phone, right through until the time I left I felt welcome, and Penny was a great help. The room was fine, the breakfast was great and the location was perfect.
I dont think that the bad reviews on here are fair, if you expect 5*, book 5*, the Twin Oaks is what it is, maybe not to everyones taste but good value, and ticks all the right boxes for me.
I have rebooked now for a return business trip at the end of the month, and will not hesitate to book into the Twin Oaks whenever I go to the Southampton for business or for pleaseure

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluff1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
1.0 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Botleigh Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedge End
818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
980 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Guest House

Address: 43 Upper Northam Road, Hedge End SO30 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hedge End
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Guest House Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing