We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An English hotel with English staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An English hotel with English staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just spent two rain drenched days at Botleigh Grange Hotel in Southampton to see the P&O cruise ships leave on their 175th anniversary. The first impression when we turned into the drive was very favourable, immaculately manicured grounds surrounding a very imposing and grand looking hotel. Parking right outside, we made our way through the grand entrance doors into another age. We were warmly greeted by smiling faces from the English staff. We had arrived a little early for check-in but were directed to our room without any problems.
The single lift to the top (third) floor was functional but should have been in the Otis Lift Museum!
The room however was a pleasant surprise, large, airy and with a fabulous view of the rain drenched gardens. Lots of original features with cornices, ceiling roses, and wall panels all in good condition. The bed was a standard double but could have been a king size given the size of the room. This did not prevent us getting two good nights sleep though.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the set menu was first class. Once again lots of smiling faces and good manners from even more English staff. Drinks were taken in the bar after our meal where we had a good rapport with the staff.
As will all properties of this age, they are a money pit and there were signs, as you looked more closely that lots needs to be spent. In room 34 for instance, the two chairs had collapsed, there was mould in the shower and the wood bath panel had been seriously affected by water.
In the public areas the lift grab rails were hanging off the walls and could have been a problem for anybody relying on them for support and the impressive brass handles on the gents toilet doors were badly tarnished and dirty. We also noticed some crumbling stonework on the garden balustrades (through the rain).
Would we stay there again if in the area, definitely.
Would we recommend Botleigh Grange to others, definitely.
We have never stayed at a Legacy hotel before so can't say if this is typical of the chain but it would be pleased to investigate further.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosmadanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    207
    147
    124
    91
See reviews for
144
275
30
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were treated curteously and professionally at reception, signed in quickly and went to our room. We had booked late and did not expect much due to the timing and the fact there was a wedding on. The room was a delight, large airy and spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfortable. The view of the lake and gardens so unexpected and so beautiful with some very old majestic trees.
I went for a walk and met up with some local anglers (at the lake!!) who were enjoying the good weather and they showed me what they had caught and told me a bit about the history and that there was a ghost unfortunately I did not get to meet her.
Food was delicious, the breakfast one of the best we have had anywhere, service outstanding and all the staff were so friendly and professional.
I got the pool at the Spa all to myself for a whole hour this was heaven, towels snowy white and soft.
We were not disturbed at all by the wedding party due to the reception room being at the opposite end to the bedrooms. The service at the restaurant and bar were outstanding.
I noted on our last day how the staff looked after the wedding guests and their families in particular those with small children and babies, so attentive and arranging tables to suit safe access for push chairs and prams and wheelchairs .
We were both so relaxed.
Thanks so much, what a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We were placed in room 11 with a view over the lake and woods, it was lovely with windows that opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriandSue950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights for ny brothers wedding. The hotel and grounds are picturesque and a great setting for an event. The food quality was amazing and was well presented with attentive service from the staff. Be aware that it is an old house so expect long walks to the wings etc. The furniture is also starting to show its age, with a very soft bed, arm chairs with no support in them etc in the room. The bathroom was clean with traditional fixtures, let down by small details such as a bare ceiling bulb with no shade. Overall a nice hotel but they need to start spending on a refurb.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bristol-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our room was large and at first glance ok. Then a trip to the bathroom revealved dirt and grim never seen by me in any hotel. The floor had cracked tiles, missing grout and the grout that was there was grimy. The bath had a shower shield which had grim and matter around the edge. Brown stains were on the tiles on the wall and in the toilet. Not a nice place to be. On the positive side there was bottled water, on the tea tray, but only whole milk. I asked for skimmed milk and waited four hours for it to arrive and this was only after going to reception twice! The restaurant was supposed to be first class, IT IS NOT. No free range chicken, or pork, the beef was supermarket standard. The waitresses did not know the menu and there was no wine waiter. I would not bother going to this hotel if you like fine food and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth2012a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hedge End hotels

Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just stayed one night in this hotel, which was very convenient for a family event in Southampton. Some reviews we read talked of "faded grandeur," but if had faded it has certainly brightened up now. We found it to be very good and justifying its 4 star rating. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was very impressed that the bar of a hotel like this had real ale on draught and it was in good condition! All in all a good experience that we would be happy to repeat when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here before flying from Southampton Airport on a short break. The hotel is nice, just not great and lacking a little something. The bedroom was nice and had some character, the four poster bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean.

Our dinner was part of a package and was very reasonably priced. The meals were nice, but did not blow us away. Breakfast was a little disappointing, not a huge variety on the buffet.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The SPA was very clean and nice to have. My fiancée and I both had a treatment which was in keeping with the whole experience, ok just not great.

Overall the value of the hotel was good, it's just lacking in a few areas. We would stay again if we we in the area.

Room Tip: Dealt with the hotel direct and got a deal on the evening meal which I did not see advertised on ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My freind and I had a relaxing spa day for my birthday,and it was wonderful.
we had tea on arrival whilst choosing our treatments and lunch.
we were shown around,then went to the gym which was alittle on the small side but we enjoyed it
then had a swim and went to the steam room we also went in the jucuzzi.
our first treatment was a full body scrub and it was lovely,then we had a mini manicure our nails looked beautiful.
lunch was very nice tuna ciabatta there was quite a lot of tuna but was very nice,we then had a glass of champagne and choclates.
our second treatment was a full body massage which was wonderful.
we sat in the relaxation room until we were ready to get changed.
a very relaxing fantastic day.

Room Tip: definatly choose the massage or body scrub it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyb11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Property: Botleigh Grange Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing