We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worst hotel we have stayed in”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner booked this hotel as a birthday treat as we were going to the Goodwood festival we were booked in for 2 nights b&b. from the pictures and reviews left we were looking forward to the spa hotel. Well from the drive down towards the hotel it wasn't what we were expecting at all. A run down hotel inside and out. There was a piece of paper that we noticed after we checked in and went to get our bags telling visitors that the spa was closed for maintenance, would of been nice to of been told upon check in.
Our room number was horrendous as we arrived on one of the hottest days this year the windows had to be wedged open with mugs to keep them up to get little air that we could. The walls had water damage but thankfully the wallpaper was hiding the massive water damage the curtains were heavily stained, the room was very dusty, we were not impressed at all apart from the other water stain on the ceiling of the bathroom the last straw was the black gunge at the bottom of the bath which we later found that it was water and black gunge bubbling up with an added ammonia smell which was lovely!! We called down to reception to ask for the general Manager and 2 young men arrived at the door(NOT the manager we asked for) after explaining everything we were told that we had basically put the black gunge in the bottom of the bath and what did we expect it is an old graded building. The also said they would see what they would do. Expecting to have a reply from the actual manager as we had decided not to stay the next night with being so disappointed. We didn't dare try the food so cant pass comment. Staff unfriendly apart from 1 gentleman on reception but still didn't couldn't tell us anywhere to eat in the area, helpful. Our room was above what must of been the bar area so had all the noise and smoke coming up from underneath until 2am when the staff started slamming doors and vacuuming. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. We did have 20% taken from our bill when we checked out in the morning. Because we were so annoyed and when we got back home and still had no apologies from a manager I wrote a letter explaining our issues. I did get a reply back at last still using the excuse that it is an old building and just gone back to being privately owned, but come on guys there is no excuse at all. After asking we did get a full refund.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma and mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    214
    156
    131
    94
See reviews for
151
293
32
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
691 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Room large but so so dated. Bathroom clean, but plumbing not the best. Service very good in hotel and bar. Food nice but tasted better. Spa nice but quite small. Free wifi, nice grounds but no air con and dirty carpets.

Feel very mixed about the hotel ... not convinced it deserves 4 stars in all areas ... and hopefully the refurb will sort the not so goods.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a wonderful time we had! The package was great value for money. Not often I come away and not got the feeling I've just been ripped off. Ladies go and give it a go you won't be disappointed.
The staff were all attentetive, polite, fun and they couldn't do enough for us.. Facilites were beautiful and extensive.Great Spa with relaxation room:)
Nothing short of excellence. May make this an annual event with the girls!!!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were there for a wedding it is a lovely place, the staff were very helpful and friendly. An older building but I liked that, some refurbishing being undertaken somewhere but we weren't disturbed. The room was spacious and clean, everything you needed was supplied. The grounds were lovely and we were lucky to have good weather to be able to sit outside. One of the few hotels we've stayed at that be weren't bothered by slamming doors :)

Only one down side, the waiters/bar staff were quick to clean up so watch you don't leave your drinks for too long or they may disappear, however they did give me a new glass of wine free of charge :)

Breakfast was as most hotels full English etc and they did do poached eggs to order - you just have to ask brilliant.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room at the front of the hotel but because of the location we weren't distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed on 28th June for belated Mothers Day. Wonderfull staff, excellent food and lovely spa treatments. Receptionist was very helpful as were the waitressing staff. Everything was wonderful and I want to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have just left this hotel after staying for four days whilst on business and I wanted to write a review having read some of the negative feedback that has been left. The first thing I would say is that if what you are looking for is an anonymous hotel room and all that comes with it, then this is not the place for you. The place has a very homely feel with extremely warm and genuine service. I was very impressed by how service was always with what appeared to be genuine rather than plastic smiles. No surly atitudes from anyone I encountered. I would remind everyone who visits to manage their expectations of fixtures and fittings etc in accordance with what this hotel costs. My impression was that if you make a reasonable request, the staff will do their best to meet it. That said, there is bags of character and a lovely terrace overlooking grounds where I strolled around a mini lake with ducklings who seem quite tame as they came up to me as I meandered around. Wonderful for photos for a wedding reception if you are getting married I think. There was also a lovely wooden panelled ante room with sofas for you to sit and read or have a drink in before you enter the dining room as well as the bar area leading onto the terrace. I did not eat a lot of food there but what I did was very good. There is a kettle and tea/coffee so you can have a drink in your room if you wish. I noted that I had no problems with morning wake up calls or the hotel booking taxis for me every morning which were always on time. All in all, a most enjoyable stay and a place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIB3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We came here for our wedding anniversary today! The hotel is looking a little tired, nothing a lick of paint wouldn't solve however the grounds were well kept and it was very peaceful! The spa was a nice treat and had prepared our towels in the lockers ready which is a nice touch, good facilities (powerful hairdryer and straighteners) and everywhere was scrupulously clean. The afternoon tea had a nice selection of sandwiches all fresh and ample for both of us even though we hadn't had breakfast. The tea and coffee was hot and the staff were so accommodating nothing was too much trouble and even though waited a few mins for the food (no time at all) we were offered refills etc for the wait and the member of staff made a very good impression and checked whether we were happy a number of times which goes along way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char181284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,395 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Property: Botleigh Grange Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing