We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for work purposes, it is tired and run down, it could be a very nice place with a little t l c. The bedrooms were dated with heavy floral drapes over the bed, the chairs in the room were grubby, the valance sheet had lots of dirty marks on it, all the doors were dirty. The bar felt like an old peoples home with no atmosphere, and after looking at the expensive menu and other peoples meals that were being served we decided to eat in the village, the tables and chairs in the bar area again had not been cleaned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Botleigh Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break whilst we attended a nearby wedding. The room itself was an excellent size but some of the decoration was tired. Lovely grounds and a nice area, although fairly expensive for the level of facilities on offer. Staff were very friendly and service excellent throughout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just completed a 2 night business trip staying at the Botleigh Grange. Normally I stay in Winchester but fancied a change and saw that this hotel had a swimming pool and spa facility and therefore decided to book Botleigh Grange.

Hotel is quite grand in a faded glory kind of way (ie rundown). Check in went smoothly and staff were always very friendly and welcoming. Initially I was given a room on one of the periphery wings which was clean and tidy and ok for somewhere to sleep but not what I would class as a comfortable or luxurious hotel room. The bathroom had a dated feel with the usual slightly grubby bath with shower over and half shower screen that doesn't really keep water off the floor completely. Some of the sealant and grouting was past its prime and black in places.

The worst issue was that the supposedly free wifi just didn't work at all from the room. I rang reception who promised to reboot the router but this still didn't either happen or didn't help with the internet access only working for about 30 seconds briefly on the following morning.

As I had a lot of work that had to be done of the 2nd evening I complained to reception who promised to move me to a new room with working Wifi. They did move me to another room above the conference facilities in the main part of the building and the wifi was faster and more reliable here but still not 100%. With outages of 10-15 minutes on a regular occurrence.

Unfortunately this second room smelt like an old ladies bathroom with an overpowering smell of scented soap which hit you every time you returned to the room. It became unnoticeable after a period of time being in the room and helped having all the windows open but not ideal in middle of October when temperatures are dropping.

The Spa facilities at the hotel are quite small with reasonable pool probably 12-13m, Jacuzzi, steam and sauna and Rahul mud room treatment seemingly available. Luckily the pool was quiet when I used it so could get some swimming. However I think if more than 10-15 people were to use the pool area at one time it would quickly become crowded. There were only 12 lockers in the gents changing rooms and it was all done in the usual spa hotel style being what must be a recent addition to the hotel.

Breakfast whilst I was there was ordered from the waitress for full English. This came out very hot and with poached eggs with runny yolk as hoped for something that a lot of chain hotels fail to achieve. With a smaller selection of cereals and pastries set to one side. Bread was very nice quality and left to each person to cut their own slices from the loaf.

Dinner was also good with a reasonable menu. All courses were nice and well presented and averagely priced. Although an automatic gratuity was added to the bill which I didn't realise at the time and didn't notice on the menu.

The main restaurant is a little unusual being a large banquet / ball room type room. Unfortunately it doesn't feel cosy just a more functional large room that lacks atmosphere in some way.

Reasonable accommodation for the price paid however I would not stay here again due to quality of the rooms and specifically the very poor wifi internet access in this hotel making it unsuitable for business travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms near conference rooms in main part of the hotel have better wifi access.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was a member of the Girls Night In package commented on by The Gillards. I agree with everything said. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, both before our arrival and whilst we were there. Nothing seemed to be any trouble. Apart from the table set aside for our breakfast, they had also set up a table for us for lunch when we arrived. I would also recommend this weekend.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandSue186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Like most potential guests we read the reviews on here prior to booking, and as always after my visit I do find myself puzzled by some of the comments.

I can only speak as I find and we had a most wonderful stay at this hotel.
Myself, ,my sister and 2 close friends booked a spa package for £89 each, this included, overnight stay, use of all the spa facilities, a 6 course dinner, along with glass of complimentary champagne, and breakfast the next morning.

The receptionist on arrival was lovely and couldn't have been friendlier, or more helpful. Yes the hotel was slightly dated but it added to the character of it. The rooms were spacious and catered to all our needs. The spa was lovely. We are frequent visitors to spa hotels and this spa was most impressive. The staff in the spa were welcoming and very friendly.

The 6 course meal was outstanding and in comfortable surroundings. We were served by 2 young ladies Jade G and Meghan and we were very impressed with the service and their friendly dispositions. The breakfast in the morning I also could not fault.
The next day we spent more time relaxing in the spa, then coffee, sat in the grounds.
Our whole experience was delightful. The only negative was a wedding taking place with, shall we say some guests that were not very respectful to other staying guests . We arrived to a plume of smoke with people standing smoking at the entrance. This wasn't the fault of the hotel and in fairness they were extremely apologetic and did all they could to make amends. I highly recommend this hotel . The deal we had was superb value and as 4 ladies that visit spa hotels on a regular basis the Botleigh grange is most certainly high on our return/recommend list. We enjoyed every second and hope to be back in the near future . Thank you

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kaykissyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Sorry to say this was very average hotel.

If you like cheap tasting wedding style food dressed up as quality food this is for you. One night away for a business trip was enough.

Very dated hotel, paint peeling off wall, dirty.

Fan in toilet was do loud it sounded like a plane.

Restaurant was like a school hall with chairs. Service fine but good was deeply disappointing. Tasted like very cheap wedding food.

Sorry but must try harder.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We booked the girlie night in package as a surprise for a friends birthday. We were unsure of total numbers but the hotel were great before hand confirming over email all the smaller details we wanted to check with them. The package was great value for money £99 per person got you bed and breakfast. A treatment in the spa, platters of food served to your room at dinner time, ice cream and hot choc. You also got a glass of bubbles and you could have a DVD player in your room with a great selection of films to watch.

The spa was lovely and clean. It looked new and everyone commented on how relaxing it was. Again the spa were brilliant before the day in booking in our treatments.

The hotel is a quaint hotel with lots of traditional features. It's not a modern hotel but that added to its charm. We had a big triple room for our night in. We all arrived in our pjs and settled down for our night in. The platters were huge followed by the ice cream and hot choc. The next morning for breakfast there was a great selection and they had a table laid up ready for our party. We all had a brilliant time and I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thegillards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,082 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range: £67 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing