We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice 'dated' hotel under refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botleigh Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Wroxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice 'dated' hotel under refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before when in Southampton, nice hotel slightly dated however has comfy feel.

Bar menu limited and food extremely average, lasagne microwaved and think cook had poured tin of tomato soup over it. Not great and disappointing. Garlic bread in edible, over cooked and hard as nails, great as door stop. Tomato in side salad had a rotting taste...yuck!

Seriously unimpressed!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    205
    139
    115
    86
See reviews for
138
265
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our group of 20 had a marvelous New Years Eve/night at the hotel. It was a Titanic theme but it was certainly not a disaster! The Millenium Suite was an amazing sight, decorated as if we were aboard the Titanic dining room. Obviously a lot of time and trouble went into the whole organisation to ensure the party was a success. We were welcomed 'aboard' with a Kir Royale followed by a five course meal which was of a high standard, the entertainment, fireworks and champagne at midnight (despite hail and wind) was very good. We all had a memorable New Years Eve party and would certainly recommend. Agreed the hotel is in need of upgrading but it was more than comfortable, quiet rooms, the staff were very obliging and the brunch was very tasty. A big thank you too to the General Manager for making sure we were looked after on our afternoon arrival. All in all a big thumbs up Botleigh Grange - we all had a lot of fun and will be back next year for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandgill_hodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked for New Year's Eve. Millennium suite was decorated with red and gold swags and looked amazing. One of our party did not like the suggested starter and it was no problem for her to have an alternative. The entertainment was a group called The Spitfire Sisters, who overcame the acoustic problems with ease. Food was wonderful and the only blot on the landscape was the weather, which meant we had to watch the fireworks from indoors. The disco was totally geared up for our age group, and not too LOUD. A very enjoyable evening, and a great start to 2014

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here on the girls night in package and we had 3 rooms between us all three rooms were cold, dusty ,musky smelling and very tired and dated!! In my room particuarly there was an extractor fan in the bathroom that made a noise like a plane about to take off it was awful and a shower head that was broken so everytime i had a shower it soaked the floor so most of the towels and robe had to be used to mop up the water!
As part of the girls night in we had a food platter for the five of us bought to our room when it arrived not only did it have a peanut dish on it and one of our party had a peanut allergy (we were not asked if anyone had any food allergys nor did we know what would be on the platter) but it also came with no plates, we requested plates but never got them i must say eating salad off of a napkin was very difficult!! Next we were bought up ice cream and hot chocolate suppose to be with marshmallows but they seemed to be absent. We went down to express our disappointment with the hotel and was told a manager would speak to us the next day well lets just say he was useless!
On a good not i would say the shambala spa is very nice and the staff are very welcoming and the treatments very good i would recommend going there seperately from the hotel! I definetly will not be returning to this hotel there are much better hotels in this area for the same price or less!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tizzy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hedge End hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I've stayed here once in the Summer, and have frequently returned for day visits to use the spa and to eat in the dining room and bar, as well as for several meetings.

Yes, the hotel could do with some renovation, but it's almost shabby chic - it really draws you into it's own world. But everything is very clean. The rooms are huge, and the bathrooms are of significant size, with proper baths too!

The hidden away Spa at the back of the hotel is almost a treasure not worth sharing - I use it to relax on quiet Friday afternoons away from everyone, followed by dinner in the bar.

The service is tremendous - predominantly all local staff who can't help but go out of their way to ensure you are looked after. They really have impressed me every time, and now seem to know my name.

Room Tip: Ask which ones are haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCrossuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We returned to The Botleigh Grange Hotel for our first wedding anniversary ( as part of the wedding day package a free nights stay was included ) the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and what a difference it is making. We loved the hotel on our wedding day especially the reception room with the domed ceiling but we were aware the hotel was a bit tired.
The room we stayed in was just lovely, recently decorated, clean, lovely sparkly wallpaper, really fresh.
We experienced a massage in the spa, it was so lovely and such a relaxing, clean environment .
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and were really impressed with the food. Well presented and very tasty, we would highly recommend it !
The reception staff were welcoming, knew it was our anniversary and made it feel very personal.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was of high standard and clean with furniture in keeping with the period image of the hotel. Breakfast was a big disappointment and as this is a big part of my enjoyment of a hotel stay it was a big let down. I ordered bacon, egg and fried bread. The fried bread was like a ceramic tile and shattered all over the table when I tried to cut it. So much for that. I feel sure that it was not butter in the butter dish so I asked the staff who assured me that it was "real butter" It tasted of nothing. The bread for toast had to be cut from one stale loaf and so was also not a pleasing experience. Usually my breakfast makes my day but not on this occasion.

Room Tip: I just left it to the hotel to put me somewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Property: Botleigh Grange Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing