We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
210
238
180
141
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
238
180
141
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotleigh grangegirls nightspa facilitiesgroupon dealrelaxation roomcream tealovely hotelwedding partylick of paintsteam room and saunafour poster bedbit datedrelaxing staysunday lunchfull englishnew forestan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Do not stay in room 29! I have flea bites all over me! I brought this to the attention of the reception attendant upon leaving today, as courtesy to future guests. No compensation was offered! We arrived Friday 14th for a 2 night stay for valentines. Reception was hard to locate, but the receptionist was very helpful. The room seemed clean, it was tidy. The mirror in the dresser was broken. The bed uncomfortable and we kept falling into the middle. There were strange noises from the fan in the bathroom. Which woke us in the night. The restaurant team are lovely especially the host and waitresses. The food was below average, luke warm and flavourless. The bar was silent and had no atmosphere. You could hear everyone's conversations. Afternoon tea was average. The cakes were nice, sandwiches were plain and not enough of them. They forgot the clotted cream for the scones, I asked a bar man for some and he took over 10 minutes to bring us any. The spa was the best part of the stay but the facilities let the staff down. The pool is murky, steam room has little steam. There is one changing room cubicle and 1 toilet in the spa. Refurbishment is needed! I would rate this a 2 star hotel MAX!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Don't do it!!!

We are regular hotel go-ers, and although we were not expecting the ritz, we do expect a good standard. This hotel does not deliver.

We were checked in, (the reception looks untidy and disorganised which doesn't give a great impression). Our room although clean was like staying at my Nans house. Old and shabby. The corridors need work, the lift looks awful.

The hotel is undergoing a 'discreet facelift'....we politely pointed out to reception that as we had paid £200 for our 'Cosy night in' we were not satisfied with this room- could we see an upgraded room. The upgraded room was more modern and bigger. So we moved room. The hotel then said they charge extra for this room...we didn't pay extra.

The plug sockets don't all work, the bathroom light didn't work, the electric heater didn't work. The hotel central heating doesn't come on until 7, so we sat in a freezing room until then. Which takes me onto the bathroom. It's like an ice cave. FREEZING. The upgrade work in the bathroom is poor, it looks shabby.

The cosy night in platter was a small selection of 'Iceland style party food' alright if you like everything deep fried. Nice hot choc and ice cream to follow. Breakfast was fine.

The bar area, well it's like fawlty towers!! Old, odd, cracked windows, just looked tired and in great need of work.

We had valentines afternoon tea for £17 each, it was OK, not awful but not great. The cakes were dry and we we're given a pg tips tea bag and filter coffee- no selection of coffee/tea as u would expect. But it was OK.

The spa is the best part. It's the newest part. Nice jacuzzi, slightly merky pool, small but nice steam/saunas. Had a hot stone massage which was great- couldn't fault it.

The staff are great, all very willing to help and very friendly....

This hotel is NOT a 4 star hotel, I would certainly not recommend it. Especially if you are hoping for a pampering break. I would look somewhere else......

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickypara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arrived as part of an overnight stay for valentines. Hotel seems to be a little dated however it is in the process of being refurbished so should be even better once completed.
The spa was absolutely lovely, staff very helpful! We participated in mud Rasul; great for couples to do together. This has recently been refurbished and it looks amazing.
Dinner was TO DIE FOR. Food was of such high quality and the waiting staff couldn't hAve been any more attentive.
We very much enjoyed our stay :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank EmilyandJames13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I went with my friend on 13.02.14 for this spa and champagne tea. We found the member of staff on duty in the spa to be 'half hearted' about things. Offered water with plastic cups, only given one towel to use and had to pay extra if we wanted a robe/slippers. The pool was lovely, however the relaxation room only contained 3 loungers and there were 6 of us in there so we had to sit on dinning rm type chairs. The coffee we where given (although asking for it seemed a chore to the girl) was barely luke warm. Then when we asked where to go for our tea, were only pointed in the direction. We had tea in the bar, I thought it would be at a proper table not swashed up on a low seat, the waiter was poor to say the least, shirt hanging out and didn't seem genuinely interested in us at all, the décor was tired. The food was nice particularly the cakes however the sandwiches where boring and 'chunky'. It was disappointing and not particularly good value. Their staff and standards need a good kick!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked the advertised Valentine Afternoon Tea for £17pp. On arrival, it was difficult to ascertain where the reception desk was and when we found it and said we had arrived for afternoon tea, we were told to 'go in there'. We were not met or greeted appropiately, indeed staff seemed to be bemused at our presence, unsure how to respond to us or why we were there.

Afternoon tea was held in the bar which was desparately in need of refurbishment, which is not what we expected from the website advertisment. The bar was not decorated or themed, we sat on lounge seats around lounge tables (wthout a tablecloth), and was serviced by an unattentive waiter.

We were served with Tetley tea bag tea, and filter coffee. We expected to be offered a variety of loose leave teas and a selection of coffees. The food was reasonable, although the sandwiches were somewhat basic and we were not given a choice.The food was basic and was not worth the money.

Staff seemed leaderless, and the hotel lacked a managerial presence. the hotel itself presented as, shabby, dated and desparately in need of a refurbishment, inside and out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews