We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I booked an afternoon at Botley Grange for me and a group of friends to have Afternoon tea and entrance to the Spa.
As all of us are Gluten Free I contacted the hotel beforehand and was assured that they could accommodate our needs, I have been to many venues that have promised the same but have sadly never delivered so I was very optimistic on arrival.

However I had no need to be as what arrived was simply delicious and you couldn’t even tell that it was Gluten Free, there was a large plate of finger sandwiches, a selection of homemade cakes and very tasty scones.

I would highly recommend this to anybody with intolerance to gluten and will defiantly be going back for more!

The normal Afternoon tea looked pretty good too!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    210
    152
    130
    93
See reviews for
147
283
31
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Baby sitter for both kids overnight, rare opportunity to spoil ourselves! And what an excellent choice – the Botley Grange. Room was recently refurbished, to a good standard – spacious and well equipped (room 42). Spa was excellent, both shared a Razul experience, swim and massage treatment – all excellent. Restaurant was superb, with delightful food. Best of all was the friendliness of the staff – who seemed to go out of their way to ensure we were welcomed and comfortable. Even the owner joined us late in the evening while we enjoyed nightcap. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it. Package came with shared platter, champagne, sweet treats and even a choice of films from the DVD list. The Perfect Cozy Couples Night Away! We will certainly be coming back again. Fantastic.

Room Tip: room 42 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Do not stay in room 29! I have flea bites all over me! I brought this to the attention of the reception attendant upon leaving today, as courtesy to future guests. No compensation was offered! We arrived Friday 14th for a 2 night stay for valentines. Reception was hard to locate, but the receptionist was very helpful. The room seemed clean, it was tidy. The mirror in the dresser was broken. The bed uncomfortable and we kept falling into the middle. There were strange noises from the fan in the bathroom. Which woke us in the night. The restaurant team are lovely especially the host and waitresses. The food was below average, luke warm and flavourless. The bar was silent and had no atmosphere. You could hear everyone's conversations. Afternoon tea was average. The cakes were nice, sandwiches were plain and not enough of them. They forgot the clotted cream for the scones, I asked a bar man for some and he took over 10 minutes to bring us any. The spa was the best part of the stay but the facilities let the staff down. The pool is murky, steam room has little steam. There is one changing room cubicle and 1 toilet in the spa. Refurbishment is needed! I would rate this a 2 star hotel MAX!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hedge End hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Don't do it!!!

We are regular hotel go-ers, and although we were not expecting the ritz, we do expect a good standard. This hotel does not deliver.

We were checked in, (the reception looks untidy and disorganised which doesn't give a great impression). Our room although clean was like staying at my Nans house. Old and shabby. The corridors need work, the lift looks awful.

The hotel is undergoing a 'discreet facelift'....we politely pointed out to reception that as we had paid £200 for our 'Cosy night in' we were not satisfied with this room- could we see an upgraded room. The upgraded room was more modern and bigger. So we moved room. The hotel then said they charge extra for this room...we didn't pay extra.

The plug sockets don't all work, the bathroom light didn't work, the electric heater didn't work. The hotel central heating doesn't come on until 7, so we sat in a freezing room until then. Which takes me onto the bathroom. It's like an ice cave. FREEZING. The upgrade work in the bathroom is poor, it looks shabby.

The cosy night in platter was a small selection of 'Iceland style party food' alright if you like everything deep fried. Nice hot choc and ice cream to follow. Breakfast was fine.

The bar area, well it's like fawlty towers!! Old, odd, cracked windows, just looked tired and in great need of work.

We had valentines afternoon tea for £17 each, it was OK, not awful but not great. The cakes were dry and we we're given a pg tips tea bag and filter coffee- no selection of coffee/tea as u would expect. But it was OK.

The spa is the best part. It's the newest part. Nice jacuzzi, slightly merky pool, small but nice steam/saunas. Had a hot stone massage which was great- couldn't fault it.

The staff are great, all very willing to help and very friendly....

This hotel is NOT a 4 star hotel, I would certainly not recommend it. Especially if you are hoping for a pampering break. I would look somewhere else......

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickypara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived as part of an overnight stay for valentines. Hotel seems to be a little dated however it is in the process of being refurbished so should be even better once completed.
The spa was absolutely lovely, staff very helpful! We participated in mud Rasul; great for couples to do together. This has recently been refurbished and it looks amazing.
Dinner was TO DIE FOR. Food was of such high quality and the waiting staff couldn't hAve been any more attentive.
We very much enjoyed our stay :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EmilyandJames13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I went with my friend on 13.02.14 for this spa and champagne tea. We found the member of staff on duty in the spa to be 'half hearted' about things. Offered water with plastic cups, only given one towel to use and had to pay extra if we wanted a robe/slippers. The pool was lovely, however the relaxation room only contained 3 loungers and there were 6 of us in there so we had to sit on dinning rm type chairs. The coffee we where given (although asking for it seemed a chore to the girl) was barely luke warm. Then when we asked where to go for our tea, were only pointed in the direction. We had tea in the bar, I thought it would be at a proper table not swashed up on a low seat, the waiter was poor to say the least, shirt hanging out and didn't seem genuinely interested in us at all, the décor was tired. The food was nice particularly the cakes however the sandwiches where boring and 'chunky'. It was disappointing and not particularly good value. Their staff and standards need a good kick!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked the advertised Valentine Afternoon Tea for £17pp. On arrival, it was difficult to ascertain where the reception desk was and when we found it and said we had arrived for afternoon tea, we were told to 'go in there'. We were not met or greeted appropiately, indeed staff seemed to be bemused at our presence, unsure how to respond to us or why we were there.

Afternoon tea was held in the bar which was desparately in need of refurbishment, which is not what we expected from the website advertisment. The bar was not decorated or themed, we sat on lounge seats around lounge tables (wthout a tablecloth), and was serviced by an unattentive waiter.

We were served with Tetley tea bag tea, and filter coffee. We expected to be offered a variety of loose leave teas and a selection of coffees. The food was reasonable, although the sandwiches were somewhat basic and we were not given a choice.The food was basic and was not worth the money.

Staff seemed leaderless, and the hotel lacked a managerial presence. the hotel itself presented as, shabby, dated and desparately in need of a refurbishment, inside and out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,062 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Property: Botleigh Grange Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing