We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day and Cream Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spa Day and Cream Tea”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great day was had by all. The Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Sauna were all very pleasant and we had most of this area to ourselves for most of the time we were there. The changing room was quite small and there were only 2 shower cubicles, but between the 4 of us we managed. If it had been busier, it may have been a little awkward. We all had a treatment and this was very good and the rooms were fitted out very nice. To finish the day we had a Cream Team in the Hotel and it was served very well and the food was lovely and plentiful. A glass of Champagne was also included along with two pots of tea.
Would I go again? Yes, but would make sure it was mid-week as weekends I am sure will be busy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennettjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    210
    150
    125
    93
See reviews for
145
280
30
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

“Birthday Celebration - Spa Girls Night In Weekend”

I recently enjoyed a one night stay to celebrate my friends birthday with my 3 best friends. We had the Girls night In and we all had a fantastic time.
Lovely grounds, Nice rooms & friendly staff, especially Michael Watts who brought the food to our room, which was more than enough for the four of us, Choice of DVDs to pick from to you when you check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipagordon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went to the Botleigh Grange on Saturday 3/5/14 to have a look around,and to see if it was the place for my birthday meal. There are signs every where to say they are in the middle of a refurb. And you can smell the paint.
I am disabled and had to use a separate door,as there are 2 steps up to reception in the main entrance. Ok for limited mobility,but not wheelchair users. But this was ok,the staff were alerted and someone guided us to the door,which led to a lift. Hardly any issue really, next time we will park nearer this entrance.
Firstly,we arrived without warning,and there was a wedding due to arrive. Clare the events co-ordinator very kindly met us and showed us around. We saw the room we would have for a private dining room. Very nice, with windows and a door to the beautiful garden (the sun was out,always makes a difference)
Then she very kindly showed us some of the refurbished bedrooms. Lovely! All sizes and shapes. And done very tastefully,in keeping with the hotel and its history. Clare was so helpful.Answering so many questions poor girl.

Once finished ,we sat in the bar and had afternoon tea. Tea/coffee? No there were not lots of choices of tea but, I did not find it an issue.You were offered a second pot if you wished,which was plenty.
There were 6 sandwich fingers,3 different fillings. Scones with cream and jam. Macaroons,cup cakes and strawberry tarts. Very filling!
Service was great. Very helpful.Very polite and friendly. Nothing to much trouble.

YES some parts of the hotel do look a little tired, but at some stage you will stay just before a refurb. If you go in 6 months it will be fabulous every where! Plus it is not a modern hotel, it is a 17th century building.So it will be very difficult to try and make it ultra modern, it wouldn't look or feel right. If you want ultra modern ,clinical hotels,go to a big chain.

My daughter (18) loved it,and she is fussy. We had looked at other hotels that day,some modern ones too,but this was the one we liked.

So we are booking for a private function and to stay at the end of the month for my birthday.

The hotel has friendly staff,fabulous grounds,peace and quiet what more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms. If you need to use the lift ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Took my mum the Friday after Mothers Day for afternoon tea. Had a lovely time lovely setting overlooking the gardens, table was laid lovely with three tiered plate which included selection of sandwiches, assortment of cakes and scones with jam and fresh cream, a pot of tea and another if you wished we were also given a glass of bubbly each which I thought was a nice gesture.

Would definately recommend as a different present or just an excuse to spoil yourself, other packages are available if you want to add a spa treatment before afternoon tea, great value for money either way

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Had a gift voucher for afternoon tea and this came well over my expectation. Friendly staff and attentive, the assortment of cakes and sandwiches were lovely. We were very lucky with the weather and able to sit outside in the lovely grounds. Well presented and a very enjoyable afternoon tea will do this again and also give this as a gift having had such a nice time. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night stay to celebrate my 40th birthday with 3 of my friends. We had the Girls night In and we all had a fantastic time.
Positives - friendly staff, rooms lovely, spa great with good treatment, food brought to room is excellent and more than enough in quantity. Choice of DVDs which are given to you when you check in.

Negatives - not enough places to sit around the pool area, small relaxation room, no dvd player in my room to be able to watch the DVD for the Girls Night In package but luckily one next door in my friends room so just went in there. The main gripe was the robe and slippers. When we checked in and went to our rooms it looked amazing finding our robes and slippers on the beds waiting for us. So, we changed and went down to the spa in the gown and slippers to the Spa only to be told we weren't allowed to do that and would have to be chaperoned back to our rooms once finished. We felt like naughty children! On all the other spa weekends I have been on I have never experienced this. Two ideas: give guests the robes and slippers when in the spa OR put a compliment slip on the robes in the room saying "Here is your complimentary robe and slippers for your stay. Can you please change in the spa area."
We did have an amazing time and if the management just ironed out the robe issue they're onto a winner! Plus put a few more chairs in the other corner of the pool area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for one night on a dinner, B&B with a 30 minute spa treatment . Room was large and pleasant view, although the curtains could do with being thicker to stop the early morning sun waking you up. Room was a bit cold and no way of adjusting the temp.spa treatment was good and several choices with the option of extending for a fee but had to ask the staff to turn the heating up as was cold in the treatment room. The meal was two courses on our offer, not a great choice but food was good. We chose to have our breakfast in our room which arrived on time, tasted ok but flora for toast no butter , no spoons to eat cereals and only cubed sugar. Not really suitable for cereals and finally the coffee was only Luke warm. Oh the grounds looked fabulous from what we saw as it was a drizzly day. Overall ok but could do with some fine tuning, but staff were good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,020 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,355 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botleigh Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botleigh Grange Hotel

Property: Botleigh Grange Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Hedge End SO30 2GA, England (Formerly The Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hedge End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Botleigh Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botleigh Grange Hotel & Spa is a beautiful country hotel with all the character you would expect from such a grand 17th century building whilst combining traditional ambience with modern facilities.Ideally situated amongst 14 acres of stunning gardens and grounds in Hampshire, this beautiful country house hotel offers you the warmest of welcomes whilst our dedicated staff strive to offer all our guests a level of service that will surprise you. The combination of great service and facilities such as our luxurious Spa, award winning restaurant and spacious bedrooms, including four poster bedrooms, makes Botleigh Grange Hotel the perfect choice for leisure or business (our conferencing facilities being the largest in the south), as well as being a great venue for weddings, with infinite opportunities for photographs in its stunning grounds, which include two lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Botleigh Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Botleigh Grange Hotel
Legacy Botleigh Grange Southampton
Botleigh Grange Hotel Hedge End, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing