We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
222
262
202
155
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
262
202
155
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botleigh grange girls night spa facilities groupon deal nice grounds relaxation room lovely hotel lick of paint steam room and sauna four poster bed wedding party bit dated relaxing stay sunday lunch new forest full english tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Yes, unbelievable that this establishment has any stars at all as there seems to be a complete lack of professional involvement either for staff training, cleanliness, interior decor and the list could continue.
Despite our booking being for two there was only sufficient shampoo/ conditioner for one and only one hand towel in the bathroom which I used to dry the dirty bathroom glass after washing away the toothpaste detritus. Amazing I could see the dirt as the bathroom lighting was pathetic.
The armchairs in our bedroom were covered with very tired, haphazard throws which seemed to be the theme throughout the hotel - tired and rather scruffy.
We thought a drink might cheer us up, so next visit was to the bar, the counter of which was swimming in liquid. I did ask the bar man, after he had put away his phone, if there was a leak in the roof but was told it was just spilled drink, which incidentally was still there after we had finished our drink and awful bar food.
Adorning the rather unkempt garden was a used champagne glass which remained there, uncollected, for 48 hours-probably still there!
This could be a beautiful destination if a lot of attention to detail and money was spent on it along with training staff properly. So sad to see such a pathetic excuse for a hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hindle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Charged £120 for a night in a deluxe room, old and tatty nothing like the pictures on booking.com. Took 2 hours to get a refund as they could not offer another room. Staff incompetent and unprofessional. I don’t understand how this hotel was awarded 4 stars.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave_S5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

I was actually dreading spending a night here after reading the reviews... But we went with an open mind and loved it!! Yes it is oldie and yes it could do with some bits being repainted etc but its the history of this place that makes it what it is and you wouldn’t want to modernise it. It just wouldn’t be the same! It is so quiet and peaceful here. Our room was spotless, very clean bedding. All the staff were very lovely and the food was really good! Cocktails were amazing and the grounds are lovely to walk around.. The pool and sauna were great. We have stayed in many hotels home and away but this was so lovely for our night away. Will def revisit :)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 398BiancaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine F, Director of Sales at Botleigh Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This place needs to be upgraded because this old and tidy and bathroom was fine and bed was fine and stuff was ok and food was ok and bar was very very very nice and clean bar and nice car park was ok

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank hurst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine F, Director of Sales at Botleigh Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback, the hotel is going through an up-grading but due to the time of year this has to be put on hold due to the wedding season.
I do hope you return in the future to see the developments which are planned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Botleigh Grange hotel on the 25th of May. It was absolutely perfect and ran smoothly throughout. Becky and Ryan assisted us throughout the day to make sure all our needs were met, them as the rest of the staff were always helpful and kind making sure everything was how we wished. We opted for the less traditional BBQ buffet for our meal which went down perfectly with our guests and have had many compliments on it since, later to follow we had a hot and cold buffet which was also fantastic. We stayed in the bridal suite which me, the bride, and bridesmaids had used that morning to get ready. On our return the bedroom had been completely transformed and also had a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting to us. We were able to get some stunning photographs taken and also a film made using the stunning grounds around us. All in all we had the best day ever which wouldn't have been possible with out the staff at the Botleigh Grange to assist throughout our day. We will be returning soon for a cream tea and a stay. So thank you to all the staff of the 25th of may for giving us the perfect day. Kindest regards Zac and Marie.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews