We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY relaxing weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brandon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“REALLY relaxing weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Wonderful weekend spent here in October, the staff we very friendly and attentive despite the fact that there was a really big wedding and the bar was packed. The restaurant was well above average for a hotel restaurant and the spa was fantastic. In saying that the leisure centre had it's own relaxing features so if you don't go there on the spa package, you will still enjoy the hotel itself. Room very clean and contemporary, and the grounds are great for having a morning stroll. Breakfast was good and all in all a very pleasant stay was had!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Libra D,

I was elated to read that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us, I want to thank you sincerely for your kind comments.

The kind of positive feedback you gave us is exactly what we strive for every day and I am delighted that you got to experience what we call Soulful Hospitality!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.



Kindest Regards

____________________________________
Bettie-Marie Burger-Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    214
    78
    25
    13
See reviews for
185
240
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Myself and my friends stayed here recently for a SPA package and will not be going back. The SPA made a mistake on our booking and instead of receiving our treatments on the afternoon that we had booked be ended up having to have them the morning we were checking out and in stages not all together as planned. We arrived on the Wednesday and had a lovely lunch, we then proceeded to go to the SPA where we were told that we had made the mistake and booked the wrong day We didn't. The SPA receptionist was very abrupt in her manor of dealing with us initially and it was our fault and that was that. We were told we could use the Thermal suite for the afternoon (Thermal is not a word i would use to describe this) AND IT WAS SO BRIGHT IN THE RELAXATION ROOM. it was not the serene relaxing place that we have experienced in other places over the last 6 years. The Jacuzzi was cold it was only Tepid the whole area in the SPA was not very warm. We were offered a free treatment which was a session in the dry flotation bed. This was not at all relaxing again i was cold and the noise off the machine was very loud. On a plus side the food was FABULOUS the hotel staff were very nice. The room we were in was very old and tired the curtains were filthy, the nets were torn and shabby. There was an awful smell of smoke from our rooms. (we are all non smokers) There was also an awful smell of fish from the lunch in the bar that lingered all day. I would not return again and would not recommend it to any of my other friends. A relaxing night away from the kids we did not have.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Eleanor,

It was with surprise and regret that I read your commentary on your recent experience at the Brandon House Hotel & Solas Croi Spa. Directly after your departure I was made fully aware of your less then satisfactory experience by all parties concerned and was assured that we had salvaged the situation to the best of our ability. I would have loved to have met you in person but you had left when I was told. Needless to say your visit to us was completely contradictory to the high standards that we always try to achieve in the Solas Croi Spa and the Brandon House Hotel.

With regards to the rooms we are currently in the middle of a 3 year refurbishment programme, The Brandon House House Hotel and the rooms are all smoke free, however there are always 1 or 2 culprits in this regard and we do our best our best to eradicate the odour from a room if this happens.

Most importantly the Solas Croi Spa. I can only apologise for the complete breakdown in communication, but it was completely geared up and understood the reservation was for the Thursday morning and the staff tried to remedy this as much as they could under the circumstances. I will investigate further all the other commentary regarding heat etc, and would hope to speak with you personally to discuss this further with you.

On a positive note I am delighted that you found the food and staff to be “fabulous” and hope you accept that as many people will tell you 99% of the time people leave us having had a great time, however, it is most unfortunate that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations.

I do look forward to talking to you in person and would appreciate if you could contact me directly at bettiemarie@brandonhousehotel.ie

Best Regards

Bettie-Marie Burger Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is very easy to find, just off one of the main roads into New Ross, but is set in its own extensive grounds well away from the road. The restaurant is excellent - dinner both nights was superb (would recommend rabbit-starter, also the gorgeous pork fillet wellington main course in a wonderful sauce), breakfast is also good from an extensive buffet which includes health options such as fresh fruit salad. All of the staff were obliging... although my dinner reservation on the first night went astray.

The swimming pool is very good, although the water and changing rooms are just slightly on the cool side.

Our bedroom was badly in need of re-decoration. The wall shared by the bathroom and bedroom had a damp problem with much paintwork peeling. The bathroom looked dated and was a bit cramped. The hot water was not hot enough on both nights for a satisfying bath; shower was good and powerful though. Hotel TV channels are limited... but an update is apparently in progress.

Hotel location very convenient for Hook Head attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently-decorated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear A M,

Can I firstly say how grateful we are for you review after your recent stay with us. We love all kind of feedback as it gives us the chance to know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve and better ourselves!

Our Head Chef and myself were both delighted to read that you found the restaurant to be "excellent" and the food "superb", also that you found the staff to be obliging is very encouraging, I am happy to see they kept up their good work.

I do take on board your comments about the room you stayed in, can I just say that we are in the middle of a 3 year refurbishment plan and some rooms are still to be upgraded. It is a shame you didn't mention this to a member of staff during your stay and we would have gladly changed your room.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back with us at the Brandon House Hotel.

Best Regards

Bettie-Marie Burger Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Brandon House Hotel and we'll be going back. It's a great hotel with excellent staff who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The family room was huge and any requests were dealt with promptly and happily. The leisure facilites are really great too. Also the food is great both in restaurant and for room service. This hotel is spotless and friendly and ideal for families as lots to do in hotel and within a short drive of the hotel. Overall a great hotel but the staff are what make it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank errinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear errinf,

I just want to tell you how grateful I am for your taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to read your comments. Lets us know we are on the right track.

Our staff at the hotel is our greatest asset and I am delighted to hear they kept their good work up and contributed to making your stay with us memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Brandon House Hotel.

Best Regards

Bettie-Marie Burger Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner and our 6 year old son stayed here whilst attending a wedding and everything about our stay was fantastic the staff are amazing and attention to detail is absolutely top class we will be back again. Also the food deserves a mention all by itself top quality stuff all round. Thank You.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 42raydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear 42raydog,

Just a quick note to say I am really grateful for you kind comments and feedback. It really is encouraging to read your review as it lets us know we are certainly on the right track.

I am thrilled that you got to experience what we call our "Soulful Hospitality". We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back with us at the Brandon House Hotel.

Best Regards

Bettie-Marie Burger Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara falls
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

while visiting the Dunbrody we asked about accommodation in the area. we were told that the Brandon house had mid week specials? we checked it out and had a fabulous time. the rooms were lovely, the staff so accommodating, the breakfast was elegant and delicious. we even had dinner here because it was affordable and so friendly. There was not a staff member that was not over the top. we loved the pool and the spa. This was one of the highlights of our 40th anniversary trip.

Room Tip: If you want to feel special and pampered this is the place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Pat,

Firstly I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review after your stay with us last month.

Thank you so much for all your kind words. The kind of positive feedback you gave us is exactly what we strive for every day and I am delighted that you got to experience what we call Soulful Hospitality!

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards

Bettie-Marie Burger-Smit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

on a recent visit to Wexford I stayed in the Brandon Hotel.Very warm welcome,excellent restaurant food.Only 1 drawback,I thought the bar food menu was over priced for the menu that was on offer.nice hotel regardless.Management could keep an eye on attention to detail ie some tables left uncleared for some hours..gives a bad impression.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daramjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear daramjones,

Firstly can I thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay with us. Though of course we love positive feedback we do encourage constructive criticism as it gives us a chance to improve and better ourselves.

Thank you for bringing the issue of tables to my attention, I can assure you this not common practice in our hotel and I am looking into why this was the case during your stay. In regard to the bar menu prices I do feel that we are competitively priced and the menu is very diverse with something for every budget.

We were encouraged to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.



Best Regards,
Bettie-Marie Burger Smit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
19.2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
4.6 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Property: Brandon House Hotel
Address: Southknock, New Ross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross
Brandon House Hotel New Ross, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing