We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, great people, splendid location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #10 of 11 New Ross B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great people, splendid location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Note that this is now called Docks Hotel. It is modern and the upper floors cater for meals with disco nights on Friday and Saturday... we stayed on a Friday and were very specifically warned at reception about possible noise. Since we live in a very quiet place - bring it on! In fact, we did not hear a thing. Our twin was beautifully appointed - and a moment later we were offered a double, equally fine, so we took it. Very thoughtful, since I had been too dim to specify. All staff were extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, easy parking, excellent views, walking distance of the whole town. Excellent continental breakfast. Note that the building echoes the traditional wharf-side architecture of this ancient port so the bedrooms - where you go at night! - at not flooded with light; instead, they have put them in the "area" and used the upper floors for dining etc. I would happily stay again, often!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crianlarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
2
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

I have to say prior to our stay we where a little put off by one review but when we arrived on a fri eve we where greeted by a lovely gent at reception who made us very aware that a late bar was running on fri and sat nite till 2, he also asked if we would be up late or would prefer a quiter room on a lower level! we where happy to stay in any room as we where away on a precious childfree weekend and intended on enjoying every second of the late bar :) when we arrived to our room all I can say is wow, def no expense spared and the beds are huge and comfy, i do agree that the view is nin existant but the price reflects this, when I commented on this I was made aware that 2 of the rooms were suites and had great views onto the river, I was also told should we be staying again to phone and ask for one and if available on the night it would not be a problem! also have you ever stayed in some dublin hotels your lucky with a view of a wall!!! when we went upstairs to eat the same gent immediately asked if our room was ok and reccomended daily specials- we danced the weekend away and couldnt believe how quiet and relaxing the sunday night was, so maybe the late nights are not for the faint hearted but I would go back in the morning! I would reccomend weekends if you fancy a good weekend of fun and mid-week for a relaxing stay. But definitely worth the price and excellent staff

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Slow service, noisy noisy noisy, worst noise I've ever heard in a hotel, bang bang bang from the bar until 3am then kitchen noise at 7am. Phoned reception during the night it rang out, complained in the morning and was told that no one else complained and basically I was just a moaner. Room view? Try a muddy ditch literally 2 feet from the window! Do yourself a favour, save your money, sleeping on the street would be better than portovino!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Ross hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Excellant room and bed with view over river, Excellant value food and quality, Excellant broad band reception, with friendly staff. Will stay again, the staff explained that it is the place to be on the weekend and would go back with my wife for a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosscmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dromiskin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed, two adults and 12 year old girl, over the weekend of the Dunbrody Festival, but what we didn't know was that the place had a late bar licence that kept everyone regardless of when they went to bed up till 2.30am like it or not.

Basically this place needs to decide what it is - is it a bar ? Is it a hotel ? Is it a grill and bar ??? It can't be all of them !!!!!! Needless to say we were all kept awake until 2.30 in the morning by the loud music above, despite being two floors down !!!! Would not go again. Whats worse is that we specifically asked for a quite room when checking in as we have had experience of loud rooms before, but we were told the our room was quiet. Staff were obviously misinformed. The next morning at breakfast the upper floor was still being tidied as the crowds of the night before had made a mess of the place. To be fair the breakfast area was clean and tidy and the nasty side was curtained off while the staff tried to clean up the mess, but the lift was filthy where drink had obviously been spilled on the floor and walls, not pleasant.

On the good side I wanted to bring the bed home.. it was that comfortable. The room too was lovely and very comfortable, but the tv only had four irish stations, which was a bit disappointing, especially when you can't sleep at 2am in the morning. Breakfast was a bit slow in the morning, but nice none the less.

If this place was just hotel pure and simple it would be lovely, but a late night bar and hotel combined just doesn't work and is not compatible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iandromiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed here with my partner on Saturday night, and we absolutely loved the place. The staff were very helpful and efficient, on what was a very busy day, Leinster match in progtess. Beda, the manager was also above and beyond helpfulness, and very proffessional. Rooms were immaculate, beds are to die for, and the food was Egon Ronay caliber, will be many awards on the wall in wekks to come. We stayed up for the music but could hear it in the room, it ended bang on 2 am so had no bother getting to sleep after that. Smoking balconies overlooking Barrow river, were beautiful, for a coffe, beer or alfresco meal. I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and the majority rarely live up to there own hype. Thankfully the Portovino delivers. The hotel is situated on the edge of town and right on the banks of the barrow. It is a lovely old brick building tastefully modernised. The second you walk throught the door you are greeted by friendly and attentive staff (for once this does not seem like an act). The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. The beds are large and comfortable plus the room had a great flat screen tv. The en-suite is something you would expect to see in a 5 star hotel. The food was delicious and well presented. During the day the hotel was a great place to relax with a veranda over looking the river. At night the bar had a great buzz with a lively crowd and music.
This hotel definitley bats above it's average with it's friendly staff making the diference. If you are looking for a place to stay that can offer you the best of both worlds, relaxation and a lively night life, I could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
0.7 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.8 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenbarry B&B
Glenbarry B&B
#2 of 11 in New Ross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beaufort House B&B
Beaufort House B&B
#3 of 11 in New Ross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Carbery Guest House
#9 of 11 in New Ross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar

Property: Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar
Address: 15 Craywell Road, John Street, New Ross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Ross
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Docks Hotel & Cafe Bar New Ross, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing