We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy homestead”
Review of Kennedy Homestead

Kennedy Homestead
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Kennedy homestead”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

A little pricey 7 euros 50 per adult. But Very informative. And a reel look back at times gone past. I spent about one and a half hours there looking at all the exhibits in the museum and out buildings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DONAL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

nice little interpretive centre with knick knacks kept from JFK`s big visit in the 1960s such as the very teacup he drank from - but essentially you are paying an overpriced €7.50 per adult (so a steep €15 for 2 of us, glad we didn`t bring the kids) to look around someone`s farmyard. It was a nice touch to be greeted by JFK`s direct relative but we were too embarrassed to ask for a photo with him! We were in and out in under and hour an that included reading all the info, toilet stop and coffee (nice coffee but we only had it to pass the time) - only for JFK diehard fans at this price, sorry if just giving 3 stars and an "average" rating seems harsh but €5 might be a more realistic entrance fee

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mountainmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“educational”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very interesting to see where Mr Kennedy came from and get loads of information on his ansosters life. Very interesting

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After the reviews we weren't sure what to expect. We enjoyed the visit and reading all the information and the guided tour. Interesting to see how from small beginnings the Kennedy family moved up the social scale of life. Lovely scones in the cafe!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

At €7.50 I expected more. The new visitor centre is quite small. The displays can be viewed in 10-20 minutes. The buildings themselves are somewhat interesting. It is interesting to see the homestead where the Kennedy family originated from. However, I expected more.

The site is also out of the way. The road to get to the Homestead is quite narrow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjohnScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kennedy Homestead also viewed

New Ross, County Wexford
 
New Ross, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Kennedy Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing