We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas period in idyllic Irish B&B”
Review of Clifford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifford House
Ranked #1 of 16 Rosslare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
1 review
“Christmas period in idyllic Irish B&B”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Visited this very beautiful, wonderfully-located residence over the Christmas holidays. We were made extremely welcome by both Michael and Margaret. Margaret was very accommodating and immediately offered us a hot drink and biscuits on our arrival. Given the wintery weather, the house itself was very cosy and inviting, with coal fires burning in the guest living rooms. We would highly recommend this B&B for both its warm and welcoming hosts and its breathtaking location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Stayed here for one day following a long motor bike ride across England and Wales (and of course ferry ride!). We were very tired when we arrived and the owner was more than accomodating. The room was large and all was very clean. We were provided with tea and biscuits and encouraged to use the guest lounge. The house was lovely, gardens: gorgeous and views stunning. We didn't actually want to leave. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
August land
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed here as close to ferry as we were travelling early the next morning. It is such a beautiful house with gorgeous gardens and a beautiful view. As with the previous comments, we found the bedroom small but comfortable but not on the same scale as the rest of the house. The owner offered us tea/coffee on arrival and provided us with a tiny kettle in our room so we could warm our sons bottle up. Although she provided us with what we needed, she was unfriendly, and stand offish. She made no attempt to make us feel welcome nor did she attempt to engage in any conversation/small talk.
However lovely the house is, it isn't somewhere I would consider staying at again especially since there are other b&bs to chose from.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

My wife & I stayed one night here as we were travelling on the early Rosslare-Fishguard ferry the following morning. Firstly, the house is probably the most impressive B&B I have ever seen. Tastefully furnished and with comfortable guest sitting rooms with good sea views. However, the bedroom, while not particularly bad, was a let-down compared to the rest of the house. It was verging on mediocre with intrusive sloped ceilings. The bathroom was clean but small and in need of redecoration. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in either the bedroom or the guest areas. We were actually surprised that we weren't offered any tea or coffee when we arrived as the owner was aware that we had just completed a 5-hour drive. In fact, the house website says that tea/coffee is provided on arrival!
As with the previous reviewer, we found the host not to be particularly friendly and somewhat detached. However, she was efficient and provided a full breakfast for us at 6.30. Apart from mouldy toast, the breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Beautiful house with comfortable seating areas for guests both indoors and in the garden.
  • Disliked — Small bedroom. No tea/coffee making facilities. No Internet access.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed in this coastal b&b on our last night in Ireland because we needed to be close to the ferryport. It is a wonderfully adapted home right on the coast with beautiful gardens. We had 2 double rooms for our family of 4 as their family room was booked. The rooms were comfortable but not luxurious. There was a TV room available for guests and also a sitting room with big windows and views over the harbour. It was a wonderful place to sit and watch the sea mist rolling in at dusk. The host, Margaret has a huge selection of assorted books on Ireland available in the sitting room, some of which I wish I had been able to sneak into my bag! The only thing I would say was that she was not overly friendly. Certainly very obliging in providing us with an early breakfast before our departure and making sure we were comfortable but a little stand offish. Perhaps it was just one of those days. I would certainly recommend this b&b to anyone staying in rosslare harbour.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rosslare hotels
6.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
262 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
93 reviews
2.0 mi away
Padua Bed & Breakfast
Padua Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 16 in Rosslare
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ferryport House
Ferryport House
#6 of 16 in Rosslare
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford House

Property: Clifford House
Address: ROSSLARE HARBOUR | CO. WEXFORD, Rosslare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifford House was built in 1898 as a Victorian summer house set in beautiful landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea.. The house is family run and has a lovely relaxed ambiance as you arrive. It has undergone extensive refurbishment to an exceptionally high standard. . The owners Michéal and Margaret have sympathetically combined the traditional old-world style of the house with the very latest in quality and design, providing guests with a unique blend of comfort and style in one of the most beautiful corners of South East Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing