We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff went above & beyond in an emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rosslare
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staff went above & beyond in an emergency”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

So this isn't technically a review about a stay but last Sunday (07.08.11) I barrelled through the doors of Kelly's Hotel in a panic pulling my crying child behind me. He just been stung inside his throat by a wasp, he couldn't swallow anything and I had no idea whether he was allergic to wasps or where a doctor was to be found on Sunday in Rosslare and we were pretty freaked out.

Everyone who helped us from the porter at the desk and the ladies in reception to the man I think was a manager, a lady called Anne and Dr. Paul (who may or may not be connected to the hotel) was brilliant. They just jumped straight to action, found us a doctor, contacted the emergency care centre, got us medicine and generally convinced us that nothing terrible was going to happen. They were just so fantastic and I couldn't be more grateful.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdisvor. We are so delighted that your son was ok. I will certainly pass your compliments and appreciation on to Eamonn our Duty Manager, Dr Paul who is a regular guests and all the other staff members who assist you.

Look forward to seeing you again in Rosslare soon.

Kind regars
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    143
    70
    17
    7
See reviews for
412
257
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was my birthday in July and we always go away for it my husband suggested this hotel as he came as a child. My review is based on a young couple 30 something. The hotel is very expensive and would be worth it if you had children with you as their meals activities are free but for us it was not worth it we were asked on arrival if we wanted half board full board or b&b we went for half board we were told we would get breakfast dinner and afternoon tea cost for 2 nights was 580 we had dinner which was free but was e43 pp and it turned out the afternoon tea was free to everyone anyway so we were out of pocket. The decor is very old fashioned and dull there are actually pictures of nuns all over the place. The food was amazing menu changed regulary and children not allowed in dining room the service was excellent we felt a lot out of place as I was the only woman without a Louis vitton bag seriously the view and gardens are amazing and it's right on the beach at night there was music with the older ppl doing the foxtrot on the floor again we felt out of place. An hour or so into our visit I noticed we were surrounded by a lot of elderly ppl wheelchairs everywhere! While getting a very poor manicure which I had to remove I asked is this hotel mostly for older ppl she said yes this is not bad u should see it in sept when kids are back in school the swim and spa facilities are wonderful the food amazing great service and clean but it's not for a young middle class couple I got to checkout was feeling peeved by being overcharged for going half board when I got charged an extra e70 for service charges I was not told in advance about this and when asked still wasn't explained to me I was outraged they had already charged so much the vat decrease was not applied to my account either

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandarounddworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Ms Fahy,

Further to your letter on Trip Advisor, that only came to my attention today. I and all our team were happy that you enjoyed the food and the gardens, but most upset and disappointed to hear that Kelly’s did not live up to your expectations during your weekend visit in July.

We realise that you had requested a seaview room for your special celebration and regret that it was not possible on this occasion, as it was the Bank Holiday weekend and all our Seaview rooms were pre booked for that week. We regret you were peeved by the price on departure, your half board rate included B&B, Dinner, afternoon tea and all the activities of the hotel, this is better value than buying B&B plus Dinner. The lower VAT rate of 9% was indeed applied to your account, as has been the case with all charges since July 1st. The Service charge is added to all bills and this is advertised in all our brochures, internet information and explained when making your booking.

We regret that you didn’t like our décor, the hotel has a large collection of Irish and International art, the series of four Nuns are in fact a piece of art by Jackie Nickerson from a series called “Faith” recently exhibited in New York. The nightly entertainment does change every evening and varies with the audience.

We try hard to keep the standards up and regret that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. It is a pity you did not mention any of this to me during your visit. Please contact me personally and I would be happy to discuss your stay with us.

With good wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Bill Kelly,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

i went for lunch there last week and as soon as i stepped in the front door it just seemed to relax all of us. all staff were smiling and all public areas were bright and cheery. we had food in their bistro and it was very tasty. after we walked around the back of the hotel and it could have been the french riviera. right on the beach, everyone in relaxed mode, wonderful....

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jons6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal at La Marine and that my team looked after you well. I will certainly post your comments on our staff notice board for all to see.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Bill Kelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

we travelled to kellys this weekend for our daughters 8 ~ birthday .once we arrived we were treated to a welcome that immediatly made us feel at home .complementary newspaper comfortable lounges to sit in .we had sunday lunch at 1 o clock lovely menu very fast attentive sevice.A lovely welcome by hotel owner BILL KELLY and manager EDDIE CULLEN both men met every guest with a smile and a few welcoming words .
BILL surprised our daughter with a birthday cake and candles which made her day.we have told so many people of our visit to kellys since we got home because attention and service like this is hard to find .I wish this hotel well and we will return very soon . FOOD # EXCELLENT. SERVICE#EXCEPTIONAL.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murraygrangeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that your daughter enjoyed her 8th Birthday at Kelly's. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff who will be delighted; it will certainly boost them coming to the end of busy summer season. We pride ourselves is making every occasion a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming back for many more anniversaries to come.

Kind regards.
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The accommodations, activities, food, beautiful view, and great personnel made our stay one to remember. We would strongly recommend to anyone visiting Ireland.
Close to the City of Wexford for shopping ... many good shops. The people in area are very friendly. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and your kind comments will certainly help to boost our moral coming to the end of a busy season. We appreciate your recommendations to your friends.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kelly's in the near future.

kind regards
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Kellys. We stayed full board and everything was included(except drinks). We have been going to Kellys for many years and our family love it. We have 3 kids and this is the perfect place for them.
There are many activities for them and the teams that run the camps are brilliant. There is a big Pirate Ship climbing frame which is over sand and fully enclosed, very safe for kids to run out and play while you sit and enjoy your afternoon tea. A well stocked creche/ play room that you can drop off the under 4's or stay and play with them. The TV room has a pool table, table tennis and also an area with Nintendo WII. There are two swimming pools. Our kids have learned to swim at Kellys. They offer private lessons which are reasonable and very good. Liam had our kids swimming within a few days. There is crazy golf in the garden as well as a tennis court. (Golf clubs and tennis available at the gym reception) Also a soccer pitch and tennis across the road from the hotel, and indoor courts for bad weather, all also owned by the hotel. The hotel is located right on the beach, we spent a couple of afternoons digging in the sand.
We stay in the family rooms, we all sleep in the same room and they are a little small but that doesn't bother us now. The kids love it. The rooms are serviced to a high standard everyday.
We all eat in the Ivy room for breakfast and lunch. This is self service and there is an extensive variety of food that suit us all. The kids eat their dinner there also, and enjoy the daily disco/entertainment at 6pm. Then they can be signed into the TV room to enjoy movies while mum and dad dress up and have a wonderful dinner in The Beaches restaurant. The hotel has a list of babysitters if the kids are too young to stay up late. We have had sitters and they all have been lovely. The food in the Beaches is always very good and the menu changes everyday. Lots of lovely fresh fish, and lots of other choices too. Whipped ice cream for dessert which is a wonderful touch. It has a great wine list and very good value. There is also baby room with formula, jars of baby food, milk on tap and sterilizers, etc.
In addition to all the activities for the kids, there are as many for adults, loads of competitions run each week, golf, soccer, bowls, tennis, table quiz and many more. We have not taken part in these as yet, we sign the kids into the camps and spend the day lounging on the couches reading and drinking tea. If you want to be active and get involved, there is lots to do.

The one thing that places Kellys above the rest are their staff. All the staff are so helpful. From the moment we check in, the staff are at hand to look after everything, nothing is too much trouble. Lovely relaxed gentile service, a smile and a chat if time permits. Thats what makes the difference. Cant wait until next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FSRAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind letter on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kelly’s and that the Hotel lived up to your expectation.

A lot of our guests avail of the full board packages as all your meals are included. I will certainly pass your comments onto Liam and to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed recently at Kellys Resort Hotel with our 4 year old little boy. I went as a small baby to Kellys and throughout my childhood, with my parents and have continued the tradition with my family. I absolutely love Kelly's and have great memories of it growing up.

The staff were very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They also make you feel welcome and you never feel uncomfortable with any request you make. We couldn't rate the food highly enough. The standard, preparation and presentation would do service to a five star restaurant. You can easily tell that they take great pride in choosing the best produce and ingredients.

We always choose the all inclusive option when we stay at Kelly's and it is very good value. You certainly will never be hungry.

There is also an excellent wine selection and the Proprietor has huge knowledge of this subject and sources all the wines himself.

There are excellent facilities for children included and the children's organisers are very friendly and make huge efforts to make all little people feel welcome, even if they are shy like our little man!

There is night time entertainment for adults however, we think that this is aimed at the more mature guests. However, if you do not wish to part-take in such entertainment you can always enjoy a few quiet drinks at the marine bar.

The rooms are excellent and very well kept.

It is not cheap to stay at Kelly's Resort, however it is excellent value and we don't think you would find any hotel in Ireland that could provide such a high and consistent standard.

We hope to be back at Kelly's in the near future and our 4 year old is looking forward to his Kelly's ice cream again.

We would highly recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in providing good customer service and always look forward to seeing our guest returning time after time, as a result we have built up many good friends over the years. We like to consider ourselves also "A Home away from Home".

The whipped ice cream has become one of our many trade marks, people love it. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosslare
5.8 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.1 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Rosslare Strand | Co. Wexford, Rosslare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895 the Kelly Family has personally overseen this truly fine beach side resort hotel. Locally produced food, specially selected wines and nightly entertainment are very much part of the tradition as well as tennis, snooker, bowls, croquet and a choice of local championship golf links. Pamper yourself and relax in our luxurious SeaSpa, incorporating thermal spa, 12 treatment rooms, seaweed bath and serial Mud Chamber. Focus on health and well-being in our Aqua Club and gym or come for our special activity midweek breaks in Spring and Autumn. Voted "Hotel of the Year 2011" Georgina Campbell Guide and Hospitality Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly`s Hotel Rosslare
Kelly`s Resort Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing