We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rosslare ”
Review of Hotel Rosslare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rosslare
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rosslare
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Rosslare ”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Bought a voucher for here over Christmas, so said I'd give it a try. It Took 6 phone calls to the place before I spoke to somebody who took my booking. Previous to that, I was told there was nobody in reservations, or that somebody would call me back. If I didn't have the voucher, I definitely would have stayed elsewhere. Although we were told check in wasn't till 2.30pm, we decided to head down early and make the most of the sunny weather. Arrived at 2pm and were greatest by a sign reading contact bar for assistance. Went into the bar where we were told that the out room wasn't ready yet, so we left out bags in luggage room at reception. We returned at 4pm and there was still no one at reception. Went back into the bar where we then met a girl who got us to fill in a form and then gave us our room key. Views from room were fabulous, overlooking Rosslare Europort itself. We sat and watched the ferries coming into the bay before heading downstairs for something to eat. Although we had a dinner included in our package, we opted for bar food on the first evening. Bar menu is exactly that. Bar food that requires little imagination, anything but extensive. Reasonably good food for what your paying. Breakfast was okay too, but it appeared that young man serving breakfast also had to check residents out in morning time. It seems that everybody does everything in this hotel although no signs of any managers, or reception staff for that matter. No more than 2 staff on duty at all times! Phones ring constantly with nobody answering them. A sign at reception reads contact bar staff for assistance until at least 6 pm everyday.

Good hotel in South Wexford very close to beaches, with great views if the sea. Only thing missing to turn it into a great hotel - some more staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    38
    38
    50
See reviews for
74
107
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stopped here on my way home from trip to the UK. Great views of the port from the hotel bar. Nice place to relax and watch the world go by. Bar staff were very friendly and polite just a little slow to serve as they seemed to be also manning reception. Will call again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed before catching the ferry the other night. The cost of the twin room was around EUR 65 so I was not expecting the Ritz. What I got was exactly what I required. The welcome was warm and genuine and check in was quick and easy.
The room was clean with additional pillows and blankets which we did need.

We did eat in the bar and despite great service was a very poor offering. My hunch is it was the chef's night off as there is no way on earth this food was prepared by a trained professional. I'll give one example to explain. For starters I ordered brushetta which had a standard description on the menu. What promptly arrived was almost comical. In short it was two slices of bread with a smidgen of melted cheese and on top of that was a single lump of sun dried tomato. Not good.

Despite the below average food I was glad we stayed, the food was not expensive neither was the room. If the food were better this would be a very good-value hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NJF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've seen some negative reviews for this hotel and I can't understand why. My family and I stayed here on a stopover before the morning ferry. The family room was clean and well laid out. The manager pointed us to the local chippy as we arrived at eight o clock and we had to get the kids to bed. The bar was pleasant and prices were competitive. The following morning, breakfast was lovely with a lot of choice on the menu. We have nothing but good things to say about the hotel rosslare and we look forward to stopping over there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ferry port!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clergue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Clergue,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated. It is always good to receive such positive feedback, it gives us great confidence that we are providing good customer care and service, which is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Rosslare in the future.

Regards

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here over the October bank holiday. When booking the manager Martin gave us the online cheaper price. He went to extraordinary lengths to kennel or little dog. He showed us our room came by to greet us that evening giving out kids treats and spending time chatting and telling us about the attractions.

The hotel had fantastic views of the sea and the rooms were well appointed and very clean. The food is great value. It's a proper Irish family friendly hotel absolute gem and a welcome change from the homogenous best westerns maldrons etc. these family run hotels need our support and we for one are delighted to have found it. Thanks Martin and staff we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willbertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear willbertj,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated. It is always good to receive such positive feedback, it gives us great confidence that we are providing good customer care and service, which is very important to us.

We will pass your kind comments on to all the staff and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I spent a night here before catching a ferry, and it was excellent. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room with balcony, and good wifi. It was also excellent value, including a good full Irish breakfast. It is only a couple of minutes from the ferry port, and you can see the ferries coming and going so you know when to head for the port.
Ok, so the TV only has Irish channels, and I didn't seem able to get hot water in the morning, but for an overnight stay close to the port I think this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear diverdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to stay in one of our sea facing rooms with private balcony. Our fantastic location in Rosslare Harbour makes us the ideal stop for those travelling on the ferry.

Due to lower occupancy levels at this time of the year, hot water may take a little longer to reach some of our rooms and leaving the tap run a little longer would have rectified this - we appreciate the you were unaware of this and we have taken steps to address this by making all our future guests aware of this on arrival. We are aware that guests are anxious not to miss their ferry, however we start breakfast at 7am to allow plenty of time for ferry users and also we are only a 2 minute drive away from the Ferry Terminal.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future to experience this for yourself.

Yours sincerely
Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We are four ladies who stayed at the Hotel Rosslare recently and were treated like royalty. We left with the most wonderful feelings of friendship for the hotel staff and all of Ireland.

Susan Little, Clearwater, Florida

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear susanlittle48,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you during your trip and are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the staff looked after you well.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of your company for another stay soon.

Yours sincerely
Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosslare
3.9 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,623 reviews
5.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
5.7 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosslare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosslare

Property: Hotel Rosslare
Address: Rosslare Harbour, Rosslare Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosslare 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopen Under New OwnershipHotel Rosslare is pleased to announce we have reopened under new ownership. A new chapter has begun for Hotel Rosslare, nestled on the cliff top overlooking Rosslare Harbour. The Hotel was taken under new ownership at the beginning of the year and has undergone extensive refurbishment. Great news for people seeking a break away in the Sunny South East or travelling on the Ferry, we offer comfortable accommodation at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rosslare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslare
Rosslare Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing