We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit-still very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rosslare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rosslare
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rosslare
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A return visit-still very good”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Returned for a two night stay - my children wanted to return!. Prices for the family room were excellent. We had a family room so we did not have a view of the port as all the family rooms are to the back of the hotel.

The food was good and its the best pint of Guinness I have tasted in a long time!!

Very convenient to the harbour for anyone heading away and very close to the beach - 2/3 minute walk

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoetheDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Joeoneill,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your return stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated. It is always good to receive such positive feedback.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    60
    31
    37
    47
See reviews for
66
100
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The food served in the Bar/Dining room is of a quality that matches that of a any 4 star hotel. It was hot, great service and of sufficient quantity and most importantly, it tasted great. Well done to the chef and staff of Hotel Rosslare, an altogether excellent experience, plus full of value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Steve K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and your comments are very much appreciated. It is always good to receive such positive feedback, it gives us great confidence that we are providing good customer care and service, which is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Rosslare in the future.

Regards

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this place with a grabone.ie voucher for a quick and easy weekend away and we had a fantastic time. We spent a wet May bank holiday weekend here and loved it !
The hotel is a little retro in style but in a good way ! Its clean, comfortable and the staff couldnt do more for you too.Everyone from check in, to the the bar staff, to the girl cleaning the room were really helpful and friendly.
The room we stayed in had recently been done up a little so it had lovely thick carpets and soft bedding and a flatscreen tv. There also was free wifi throughout the hotel. We had lunch in the bar one of the days (the daily roast) and though not amazing, it was pretty nice and good value for money. The bar has a great atmosphere and has music every weekend. As unlike many hotel bars this one is actually used by the locals. But the bedrooms were still quiet. An the lobby area has a lovely seating area with a big blazing fire if you dont want a drink. Also helpful to warm up after a walk on the beach !
We were lucky enough to be staying there while they hosted a Sea Shanty for a local maritime museum and it was great fun ! The downstairs has a good few maritime antiques too including an old diving suit and lots of framed photos and newspaper clippings of the area too.
But the best part was the view, It is weirdly fascinating watching the ferries come in and out and you can see everything, even the strand across the bay twinkling at night.
We had initially planned to head into Wexford town on one of the nights but ended up staying in the hotel both nights as it was such a good atmosphere. And I think that says a lot !
We found it a great base for a bit of shopping in Wexford and a walk (and some fish and chips!) around Kilmore quay, and a night of drinking before bed (good selection of wine in the bar too)
We came home relaxed and very contented and will definitely be back again
The only suggestion I would make is some coin operated patio heaters on the balcony would be brilliant !

Room Tip: Not always available but if you can, ask for a balcony room, we had room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lorraine O,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated. It is always good to receive such positive feedback; it gives us great confidence that we are providing good customer service, which is very important to us.

We are pleased you had the opportunity to stay in one of our seafacing rooms with private balcony, which boasts commanding views of the entire bay and harbour, and that the staff looked after you well during your stay.

We will pass your kind comments on the all the staff and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've seen some negative reviews for this hotel and I can't understand why. My family and I stayed here on a stopover before the morning ferry. The family room was clean and well laid out. The manager was very helpful and very good. The bar was very pleasant and prices were competitive. The following morning, breakfast was lovely with a lot of choice on the menu. We have nothing but good things to say about the hotel rosslare and we look forward to stopping over there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre925, Manager at Hotel Rosslare, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Anita J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to receive feedback from our guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our fantastic location in Rosslare Harbour makes us an ideal stop for those using the Ferry.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we will pass your kind comments on to all the staff. We very much hope that we have the pleasure of your company for another great escape soon.

Yours sincerely

Martin Mahoney
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Bought a voucher for here over Christmas, so said I'd give it a try. It Took 6 phone calls to the place before I spoke to somebody who took my booking. Previous to that, I was told there was nobody in reservations, or that somebody would call me back. If I didn't have the voucher, I definitely would have stayed elsewhere. Although we were told check in wasn't till 2.30pm, we decided to head down early and make the most of the sunny weather. Arrived at 2pm and were greatest by a sign reading contact bar for assistance. Went into the bar where we were told that the out room wasn't ready yet, so we left out bags in luggage room at reception. We returned at 4pm and there was still no one at reception. Went back into the bar where we then met a girl who got us to fill in a form and then gave us our room key. Views from room were fabulous, overlooking Rosslare Europort itself. We sat and watched the ferries coming into the bay before heading downstairs for something to eat. Although we had a dinner included in our package, we opted for bar food on the first evening. Bar menu is exactly that. Bar food that requires little imagination, anything but extensive. Reasonably good food for what your paying. Breakfast was okay too, but it appeared that young man serving breakfast also had to check residents out in morning time. It seems that everybody does everything in this hotel although no signs of any managers, or reception staff for that matter. No more than 2 staff on duty at all times! Phones ring constantly with nobody answering them. A sign at reception reads contact bar staff for assistance until at least 6 pm everyday.

Good hotel in South Wexford very close to beaches, with great views if the sea. Only thing missing to turn it into a great hotel - some more staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stopped here on my way home from trip to the UK. Great views of the port from the hotel bar. Nice place to relax and watch the world go by. Bar staff were very friendly and polite just a little slow to serve as they seemed to be also manning reception. Will call again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed before catching the ferry the other night. The cost of the twin room was around EUR 65 so I was not expecting the Ritz. What I got was exactly what I required. The welcome was warm and genuine and check in was quick and easy.
The room was clean with additional pillows and blankets which we did need.

We did eat in the bar and despite great service was a very poor offering. My hunch is it was the chef's night off as there is no way on earth this food was prepared by a trained professional. I'll give one example to explain. For starters I ordered brushetta which had a standard description on the menu. What promptly arrived was almost comical. In short it was two slices of bread with a smidgen of melted cheese and on top of that was a single lump of sun dried tomato. Not good.

Despite the below average food I was glad we stayed, the food was not expensive neither was the room. If the food were better this would be a very good-value hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NJF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosslare
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
397 reviews
5.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosslare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosslare

Property: Hotel Rosslare
Address: Rosslare Harbour, Rosslare Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosslare 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopen Under New OwnershipHotel Rosslare is pleased to announce we have reopened under new ownership. A new chapter has begun for Hotel Rosslare, nestled on the cliff top overlooking Rosslare Harbour. The Hotel was taken under new ownership at the beginning of the year and has undergone extensive refurbishment. Great news for people seeking a break away in the Sunny South East or travelling on the Ferry, we offer comfortable accommodation at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rosslare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rosslare
Rosslare Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing