We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality, lovely service , overall a very enjoyable evening.”
Review of Taste Restaurant - CLOSED

Taste Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, lovely service , overall a very enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Visiting Wexford over the Patrick's weekend my husband and I dined at Taste on the Saturday evening as we had eaten there on a previous visit to the town several months ago. We were delighted that again it lived up to our previous enjoyable visit. Food was excellent. Fresh and tasty. Really liked the decor and ambience and especially the relaxed atmosphere. No rush between courses, just the way I like to enjoy a meal out. Its great to get top quality food at such good value . Hope it wont be to long before our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    5
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value, good ambiance and very pleasant service in Taste!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked a table for four for last night and it was my first time to visit this restaurant in Wexford. On arrival we were offered the menus in the lobby while we sat and waited for our table for about 10 mins. The waitress was very pleasant and smiled warmly on arrival! We were led to a nice table in the back of the restaurant, past nice booths for couples, and the place was dimly lit, warm with a nice atmosphere. We did wait for our food between courses but there was nice bread and oil on our table while we waited for our starter. Personally I like to have some time between courses rather than be told on arrival 'we need the table for our next sitting in an hour’! All courses, including the prawns to start and thetender steak I had were very good. The cost of two courses each and a glass of wine was €20 per person on a Friday night which was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabreeze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“such a shame”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had heard some really good reviews about Taste and thought we would try it out for ourselves, we had the chilli garlic prawn starter with lime - lime was the only taste to this starter, which had a tomato based sauce on the side (possibly for decoration not sure). Next up i had the clam risotto - very stodgy and over cooked and once again very little taste - my partner had another fish dish which was also disappointing - strange note but both of these dishes also had the tomato sauce attraction on the side of the plates. We decided not to have dessert and wont be returning. Decor was nice, and staff pleasant but food in taste was actually taste-less

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msfishatarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Let down by STAFF”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We attended this restaurant last Saturday night our reservation was for 8PM when we arrived and the table was not ready so we took a set in the waiting area, eventually after ten minutes we got seated. The restaurant was not full but yet the staff appeared frazzled and disorganized. We received the menu and had more than sufficient time to look at it. No member of staff asked if we would like a drink. Several staff members were asked by one of the party, who had brought his own beer, for a pint glass with ice, four times in fact!!!, eventually someone returned to say they had no ice and obviously no glass. They resorted to using a wine glass rather than ask for a glass for a fifth time.

Eventually a member of staff returned to take our order. We ordered one bottle of white wine and a bottle of Merlot from the wine menu, the girl returned with the wine and then asked were we happy to pour it our self??? she informed us that that was all she had, a bottle of house red! when we ordered subsequent bottles we discovered a Merlot.!! We waited at least 30 minutes before starter and had to ask for some bread as the party were beginning to be getting very hungry!!.

On the plus side the food was very tasty with multiple flavors and beautifully laid plates. Such a shame that the staff were so poor lets the restaurant down badly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loughderravaragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My Husband and I had a meal in this restaurant last week, and I am feeling a bit guilty about giving it just an average score, but some things were right and other things were very wrong so to be fair I will just give you our experience and you can make your own mind up.....
We had an early table booked for 6pm and were one of the first to arrive in the restaurant, on arrival we were very warmly greeted by the Lady who was going to wait on our table, she was very nice and let us pick our table ourselves, but The Restaurant was very cold, and as it was a very cold night this did impact on our overall enjoyment of the meal.
We were given the menu and everything was explained to us ie. house specials and what we had to pay a subsidy on and so forth, gave our order and sat having a glass of wine while we waited, and waited for our starters... when they arrived they were very nice and we had no complaints about the food, then another long wait for our main course, this was unacceptable as it was more than half an hour by which time I was frozen solid and had put my coat back on. that said the food again was lovely and the lady serving us was so friendly and helpfull but in the end we left without dessert as we were too cold to enjoy it

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Restaurant also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing