We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner and I arrived on a Friday and decided to eat in the restaurant. The setting was terrible with bright lights shining onto the tables, no music and general chaos! during the meal we had 6 different people serving us so no one actually knew what was going on and there was no personal touch. The food was extremely poor, my partner got the beef bourguignon which looked like and tasted like a microwaved dinner and with my fish was raw!! When I told the waiter the fish was raw he said that it was meant to be like that??? by the time they asked me if I would like something else my partner had finished his meal so i didn't bother ordering anything else. I would eat elsewhere in the town. The breakfast the next morning was no better.
The rooms are basic and did not even provide information about the spa or amenities in the hotel or surrounding areas.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Deda20

Thank you for your recent review, I have discussed your comments with our Head Chef Sean Ahern and Gary Hunt our Food & Beverage Manager and their teams, who assure me that they will do their utmost to keep the high standards we are renowned for over the years.

We regret that we did not live up to your expectations and at this stage can only ask you to accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us the chance at some future date to redeem ourselves, please contact me personally at pwilson@whitesofwexford.ie, when you wish to return.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review as we need every now and again to be “kept on our toes” and keep up the good name of Whites of Wexford.

With good wishes.

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

was here for a few days in march with a bus trip and had an awesome time gorgeous food excellent staff and spotless rooms.very highly recommended.was here for the st patricks weekend and the atmosphere was electric very comfortable rooms.will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerri4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dead Kerri

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments following your recent visit to us here at Whites of Wexford. We are truly delighted to learn that you were impressed with you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future. If I can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly on pwilson@whitesofwexford.ie.


Kind regards,

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a twin standard room.Hardly any daylight as the room is in a dungeon.Looking out the window the view is of the walls of the car park,So there is no view.The fuse board was buzzing therefore we had to remove the key card to sleep.We had no light during the night.The shower is a wet room and very small,all the floor is wet after a shower,and had to go into the bedroom to dry ourselves.Dont book standard rooms there not fit for purpose.Had dinner in the restaurant on one evening,one of our party had chicken.It was red raw next the bone and very small.The chips were slightly undercooked.Overall the meal was not good value for money.Ordered a bottle of Pennier champagne in the lounge which cost 85 euros.The barman proceeded to open a bottle of sparkling wine ,when i informed himi had ordered a bottle of champagne ,he replied champagne is very expensive sparkling wine is better value.I took insult to his comments as i am 64 years of age and know my drinks.On the plus side the staff are very pleasent.The standard rooms are not up to 4 star.

Room Tip: Dont book standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paula k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Paula

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to have had the opportunity to speak to you in person concerning your difficulties and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Wexford in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at that time my email address is pwilson@whitesofwexford.ie.

Warmest Regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed one night mid-week for a work engagement in Wexford. Nice modern hotel and all very clean. Ate in the bar that evening and decent bar food. Room itself large and all you would expect from a modern day 4 star hotel. Had lunch earlier that day in the lobby restaurant and nice also. Staff was limited at times though and there was some waiting involved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmet_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Helmet,

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to us here at Whites of Wexford and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back to Wexford in the future.

Regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed one night B&B in Whites this week and found it to be a very nice hotel. Reception staff were very nice and efficient. Rooms were well appointed and comfortable with good views of river and town(superior room). Breakfast was very good - great buffet but could have been a few more staff as nobody came to table re tea/coffee order. That said the food was very good quality. Had food in the bar and same also of good quality - service was a bit slow but we were not in a hurry so no problem. Leisure centre is very nice - the pool is very clear and the water feels almost soft - strange but a nice experience. All in all a good hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have best views of town and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Larry

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we were delight to read your comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Whites of Wexford, I will ensure our team is made aware of your review as it is always a great morale booster to them read such comments and to know that all their hard work is appreciated.

Many Thanks

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here over the easter holidays. We had requested a double room and had even phoned to confirm this however on entrance to the room it was set up for a twin room. This delayed our check in and it was approx 5pm by the time we got into our room which after a four hour drive was disappointing. Wifi was available in the lobby but not in the bedroom which I would have expected of a 4 star modern hotel. The room was adequate however the shower was disappointing and certainly not of 4 star standard. The wall/floor area and rubber mat where not very inviting. On the first evening we had dinner in the hotel which was nice and good value. Breakfast equally was enjoyable with all the regular breakfast buffet and cooked items on offer. The pool and spa was also a nice addition. In general the hotel is lacking what I would expect of a 4 star establishment and simple things like maintaining the outdoor seating area have been overlooked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Catherine,

I would like thank you for having taken the time to complete your Tripadvisor review regarding your recent visit to Whites of Wexford. We most certainly appreciate all feedback which assists with reviewing and improving the hotel’s services and can assure you that were improvements are need these will be implemented immediately.

Many Thanks

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary and could not fault it. We were upgraded to a suite which was beautiful with a bath and view both to die for! Staff were so pleasant and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was busy but quick and delicious. Location is perfect literally a stones throw from the centre of town. Would recommend this hotel to everyone :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wbearsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind words and review. My team and I very much appreciate them and we are delighted that you were well looked after during your recent stay.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back some day soon.

Kindest regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
863 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: £65 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing