We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked this on their over 50s three night break, which usually stays in the old wing but was full, however they could not have been nicer and when told the reason for the trip they upgraded us to the new wing which are better rooms. They were very comfortable and quiet with an excellent shower. There is a fridge and free room safe. Free wifi, just get a code from reception, who will also endorse your parking ticket everytime you go out.
Decent Gym and good pool with Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, all free, towels provided, lockers €1, returned to you.
Excellent buffet breakfast with a really helpful cook, dinners also very good, great menu and service. Good coffee and tea bar, specially the afternoon teas.
Town is a two minute walk away with many local shops.
Main thing was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dogleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very lucky indeed to be situated in such a great location in the heart of Wexford Town yet so close to all route ways to the beaches, ferry and all the tourist amenities on offer throughout County Wexford.

Your views are extremely important to us as it is only through feedback like yourself that we can hope to maintain the high standards for which Whites of Wexford has become renowned over the years

Kind Regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here one night in order to attend a social event. Very central location with underground parking (€3 charge). Impressive lobby and very friendly efficient check in. Room was very very functional, not luxurious - but that was not expected or required by me. Food was of a very high standard. Staff friendly and efficient. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at Whites of Wexford. I really do appreciate your positive comments and I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay again.

Many Thanks

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a living social voucher . Deal included 1 dinner. When we mentioned voucher were given a divergent menu from rest of diners. Meal was a big disappointment. It was like a dinner dance menu. I had the roast beef and 2 veg. It seemed like it was reheated. My wife had trout and it wasn't much better. I had heard that Whites was noted for its food. Wouldn't bother again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bargerCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and I was naturally disappointed to read your comments on dinner and regret that we did not live up to your expectations, at this stage can only ask you to accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us the chance at some future date to redeem ourselves, please contact me personally on pwilson@whitesofwexford, when you wish to return and I will make all the necessary arrangements to ensure that you have a very positive and enjoyable stay here at Whites of Wexford.

Regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay in this excellent hotel. This is one of our very favourite hotels. We have stayed here on a number of occasions and we look forward to returning again. We have never met a friendlier or more helpful staff in any hotel. They always seem happy and eager to please. We had an excellent room on the 5th floor with a beautiful view over Wexford town and the river. The food here is always top class and the ¨early-bird" menu in the restaurant offers excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kick,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delight to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay, It is always a pleasure to receive recognition from our guests and I will certainly forward your comments to each and every member of the team as I know it will mean a great deal to them knowing that all their hard work and effort has been recognised and that you would recommend us to others.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again.

Warmest regards,

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked a family room for 3 nights. We had a huge room with the biggest bed, a set of bunk beds and a fold out bed.
Room was so quiet even though there was a wedding on.
Check in staff lovely as were breakfast staff and the ladies we met in the terrace bar.
Could not fault the place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiceytralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to Whites of Wexford.

Kind Regards

Peter WIlson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight on a business trip. Central location and easily accessible car park. Lobby area is spacious and staff are helpful. Bar food is cheap and cheerful, breakfast next morning was very good with plenty of choice and nice quality. Unfortunately, my room was of poor quality, a two star at best. Worn furniture, poor shower unit, stained chairs! Bit of a let down compared to the rest of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Paul

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us here at Whites of Wexford, I note your comments on dinner and agree that after eight very successful years some of our bedrooms and in need of some attention, this is an ongoing process and I can assure you that we will continue investing in our bedrooms in the months and years ahead.

We greatly appreciate your comments and sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and if at that time you contact me directly I will ensure that you are allocated a room that has been refurbished.

Kind Regards
Peter Wilson FIHI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed here on the May bank holiday weekend with my boyfriend. We were going to a function in the Wexford Opera House. This hotel is pure luxury from the moment you enter the reception area. You are greeted by friendly helpful reception staff within a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The decor of the hotel is very modern and up to date. We upgraded to a superior room for a small fee of 10 euro. Our room was very big, clean and with a lovely river view to top it off. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was big. We dined in the terrace Restuarant for dinner and breakfast and the food was delicious, with plenty to choose from. I am a fairly fussy eater. The service was friendly and efficient and the decor of the restuarant was beautiful and the view overlooking the courtyard area was lovely. The location of this hotel was perfect. You can't get more central that Whites of Wexford. We were only five minutes walking distance to the opera house and the pubs in town. We availed of the leisure facilities also, which were great. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The staff could not have been more friendlier and helpful and the location of the hotel is fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying her on our next visit. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWOW, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Louise

Just a brief note on behalf of the management and staff here at Whites of Wexford to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and share your experience with others. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Wexford in the near future, if I can be of further assistance to you at any time please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Peter Wilson FIHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
864 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing