We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run out of superlatives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathaspeck Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathaspeck Manor
Ranked #1 of 29 Wexford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff,Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Run out of superlatives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everyone else has already said it - this must be the best B&B in Ireland. Its better than most hotels. Loads of character with every attention to detail and a great breakfast. Betty is a perfect host.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ella' s room which was excellent but from what we could see and what other people h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
126
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Had an incredible stay in this wonderful B&B. A wonderful mix of old, but with the comforts of new. The ensuite itself was bigger than many hotel rooms I've stayed in! It had a wonderful roll top bath and power shower. Betty's hospitality was second to none, and the breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly recommend and can't wait to be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

When looking through the various hotels and reviews on TripAdvisor, it's hard to believe any of them can merit a near-perfect score. After all, there has to be a level of subjectivity… hasn't there?

Rathaspeck Manor was all we expected or wanted of it and more. We felt as though we were lord and lady of the manor. The drawing room was the picture of old-fashioned charm - though entirely unnecessary as additional living space given the significant size of our bedroom. It served as a great spot to relax and unwind after the drive down from Dublin. It was just so tranquil, away from any sound other than that of the occasional bird.

We stayed in the Fr. Albert's Room, which is without compare for its size, luxury… and, as other guests have mentioned, its notable bathroom. If it wasn't a two-hour drive from our apartment in Dublin, we'd have asked to move in! In fact, its size was comparable to our apartment!

So often breakfast is a let-down at B&Bs when the 'bed' (itself very comfy!) part is fantastic. In this case, it's hard to know which was better - the sleep or the food. I had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, which was a very tasty start to the day.

As for our hostess: she made us feel very welcome, without ever being overbearing. B&Bs can sometimes be discounted by holiday-makers on the basis that hotels give guests more privacy and anonymity. Betty struck the ideal balance between making it feel like a home and allowing us our freedom to settle in and relax.

There is nowhere else I could think of returning to in Ireland that's like Rathaspeck Manor. At such a reasonable price compared to hotels offering this standard of exclusivity (thinking even of the Monart, which is not far down the road and where we've visited previously), it's the perfect getaway from the city, yet just on the edge of Wexford, itself worth a visit. As a stopover en route from Rosslare, it's the ideal start to a trip around Ireland - and that's from a Brit who's lived here for over three years.

Room Tip: Fr Albert's Room, which was away from the Drawing Room and looking out the back of the house. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKOzEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to Rathaspeck was just as good as the first. How would I describe the stay? Just heavenly! Stunning decor, beautifully nestled in the grounds, the manor is all you could dream of for an extremely reasonable price. Betty greeted us and remembered us from our first visit. She has a perfect balance between friendliness and efficiency. She makes us feel so welcome!
There are four different rooms to choose from. We love Fr Alberts room because of the huge bed and bathroom. Other rooms are stunning too. The lounge has comfy sofas and fridge etc. Betty leaves out a firelog so you can light a fire in the antique fireplace.
A total gem of a place!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aranvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment you enter the property you realize how fortunate you are to spend time in a little slice of heaven. It is first class all the way starting with Betty and Mick! Your bedroom, bath, common areas and grounds are unforgettable. I can truly say Rathaspect is a one of a kind property. You cannot do any better than spend time at this beautiful Manor!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LINSHADOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This B&B is definitely worth staying at. It is incredibly well maintained, very classy, and the bathroom is amazing - the way they are described in 19th century novels. It is easy to find and Betty, the hostess, was very friendly.

One minor negative point for me was that I had reached out to her a few weeks beforehand, asking if it was possible to arrange something special upon arrival as I had planned a surprise weekend for my boyfriend (it was our anniversary). I was told that there would be a bottle of wine waiting in our room as we arrived, unfortunately this was not the case, so that was a bit disappointing. Other than that, the stay was very good and the breakfast was a-ma-zing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I and my father stayed in this lovely manor house for two nights, and it was by far the highlight of our accommodations during our two weeks in Ireland. The home has been renovated to an extremely high standard, and could easily be in a magazine. The lady of the house, Betty, is wonderfully down to earth and helpful. In the evenings, we retired to the upstairs drawing room and enjoyed a fire in the Robert Adam fireplace (one of only 5 remaining in Ireland). Being in Rathaspeck Manor was a little like being in our own mini Downton Abbey.

We walked the lane and enjoyed watching the resident terriers play on the lawn. If we were golfers, we would have enjoyed playing on their 18 hole golf course as well. Betty made reservations for us at Jacques in Wexford Town and it was a memorable meal. Come to this beautiful home...it will be your favorite too.

Room Tip: Father Albert's Room was magnificent, and is adjoined by an incredible bathroom. Must return for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Patriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty O, Owner at Rathaspeck Manor, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
1.4 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathaspeck Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathaspeck Manor

Property: Rathaspeck Manor
Address: Rathaspeck, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Country House Wexford, Rathaspeck Manor is a beautiful 300 year old Georgian style Home, standing in its own private mature grounds and surrounded by its own immaculately maintained Executive Par 3 Golf Course. The house itself has been sumptuously restored and refurbished in recent years, offering luxurious accommodation of the highest standards in a friendly, intimate environment.The drawing room houses an original fully intact Robert Adams Fireplace, and is one of only a few left in Ireland. We are delighted to announce that Wexford Bus now has a direct route from Dublin Airport and all other stops to Rathaspeck for all our customers. Offering Bed & Breakfast accommodation within easy access of Wexford Town and the Rosslare Europort, it is the perfect location for a quiet and leisurely weekend break, as well catering for the relaxed golfer, the ideal manor house Wexford. It is a good base from which to explore everything Wexford and the “Sunny South East” of Ireland has to offer – including the Wexford Opera Festival, Hook Lighthouse, Irish Heritage Park and Dunbrody Famine Ship to name but a few. Your comfort is our priority and we guarantee you will enjoy a memorable, if not unforgettable stay at our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathaspeck Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing