We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty bedding, doors hanging off and unable to lock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bugler Doyles Bar & Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 29 Wexford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Three of our engineers who work nationwide stayed here overnight on 12 August 2013. They arrived after office hours and as the 3 x rooms were prepaid by company credit card they reluctantly stayed. They telephoned the office at 8.30am to complain about the conditions of the rooms and none of our staff will ever stay in this establishment again! All they wanted was a fresh clean bed and room with a clean ensuite and a door that closes and can be locked. Do not stay here.....

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here - full stop....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susancarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Travelled to wexford with a group of friends for a weekend of fun. Buglers was ideal for us -parked the cars on Friday evening and everything was within walking distance after that. No breakfast is a bit of a nuisance but lots of cafes nearby. Bar downstairs had music both nights which we really enjoyed. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Disgraceful, smelt the rooms before I even saw them, bathroom absolutely filthy, decided to go without shower rather than use the black mouldy option. Arrived late so only option was to stay. Covered pillow with my own clothes rather than sleep on it. DISGUSTING! STAY AWAY! HEALTH HAZARD! Nothing like photos advertised.

Room Tip: Don't ever use this B & B. ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BouseCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Myself and friends stayed here recently if you are looking for a relaxing break it's not the place to stay its more for young people looking to have a good time and not have to worry too much about other guests, rooms are not great but beds where comfortable which was all we expected when we just paid 25 euro a night , it's location is perfect and the bar staff are very efficient and friendly, whilst there was a stag staying there and got very loud there was one member of staff trying his best to keep everyone quiet and dealt them very well. The bar is very popular and lively and we enjoyed it a lot but as I said before very very basic interior decor needs updating etc but other than that what u expect for such a low price ! Defo not a place to bring kids!! And no amenities in it at all which we already knew but I think if there was a kettle in it at least it would have been nice to make tea or coffee. If your just looking for somethin cheap and bed to lay ur head down after a heavy night it's place to go

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heyjudex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

had a great nite at the hicksters stag...........until i went to collect my deposit. had to give 30 each last nite plus the room fee,was told it would be given back this morning on inspection and without any damage . no problem, hit the leba ,only damage i did was to myself. was told his morning my deposit would be put in a friends account tomorrow once all rooms were inspected. was also told i would not get deposit back if any of our party did damage to their rooms even if ours was fine, which it is, BUGLERS DOYLES IS A KIP. stay away. i never stayed anywhere as bad in my life. pure money grabbing people. next time i'll sleep on the street sooner than stay in this shantytown. surely places like this should have to reach some kind of standard before they are given a license before being allowed to trade

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Having looked at the photos on their website I was looking forward to spending a nice relaxing night in this place. Unfortunately this was not the case, shabby would be one of the nicer words I would use for the rooms, old carpet that looked like you would put in an old part of your grannys house that nobody ever went into, old wallpaper with a very thin lick of paint over it and a bathroom that not only had cigarette stained lino beside the toilet but had a floor that sloped away like you were on a ship in a force 9 gale. We did have a window but this only had 1 hinge on we had to use the chair to prop up against it to stop it becoming an ex window. No not for the faint hearted, 2 lads on a bender looking to sleep it off maybe but not as a getaway for couples. I should have known when the barman took for the room before we got into the filthy hallway leading up to the room, anyway you live and learn, cant comment on the bar just wanted to get as far from the place as possible, we did sleep eventually but I think it was more to do with the great night out in the town than anything to do with this "bed and breakfast" that thank the lord didnt do breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevbob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank clara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wexford hotels
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jim McGee's Traditional Bar and Guest Accomodation
0.3 mi away
St. George Guest House
St. George Guest House
#5 of 29 in Wexford
108 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Foggy Dew Inn
#24 of 29 in Wexford
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bugler Doyles Bar & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bugler Doyles Bar & Guesthouse

Address: 83 South Main Street, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Wexford
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bugler Doyles bar and guesthouse is a traditional family run Irish pub with 12 guest rooms overhead situated in the centre of Wexford's historic main street. Buglers affords easy access to Wexford's bustling shopping streets and all of Wexford's great restaurants and nightlife are within strolling distance. With the tourist information centre just a street away guests have easy access to all the treasures Wexford holds. Buglers hosts traditional Irish music sessions weekend nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bugler Doyles Bar & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing