We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week on a pigs back deal, and I must say, it was a pleasure to stay here, not like some hotels, if u have a pigs back r groupon voucher, ure treated that little bit less??, the whitford treated us like VIPs, from check in to check out, food was fantastic, got the burger in the bar, and I had to tackle it with a knife and fork, it was that big!!!!staff were great, also the barmaid was also fantastic, Linda.the pool was lovely, I went with the missus, but nxt time, I,ll bring the little one down, as it seem to be very family orientated aswell .also, the beauty spa was lovely, I even got a facial!, very 21st century man thing to do, so I've been told!!!!!, usually in reviews the bad points go here, but I'm sorry to dissapoint you, but I can't fault the place. Wil be back here soon

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank razor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Razor2000,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of the Whitford House Hotel.

I am absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your facial at Serenite Beauty Salon, I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Sally-Ann.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Warmest regards,
Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    195
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
225
279
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Negatives
Over priced 210 for triple room
Staff rude
Problems getting in at night
Really Slow service
Staff seemed incompetent or really just very uninterested

Positives
Clean
Good food

Wouldn't recommend for groups of adults looking to go away for a night out ( and I don't mean just hens or stags)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Typicalirishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Typicalirishfamily,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We apologise if we have fallen short of the usual high standards that our team are dedicated to providing to our valued guests at Whitford.

I have spoken with our team and unfortunately, there is no record of your feedback being brought to the attention of management during your stay. Consequently, in an effort to establish the specifics, I would ask that you contact me as a matter of urgency in an effort to discuss your comments in further detail.

It is evident from our previous reviews that our team are one of our greatest assets and we are all eager to understand the exact nature of your grievances and your assistance in expanding on them would be much appreciated.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from your shortly on 053 91 43444. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Whitford at some future date.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned today from a two night break in the above hotel. This is an excellent hotel where the customer comes first. Service was faultless in every part of the hotel and always delivered with a smile and a friendly word. The food was delicious and plentiful. The accommodation was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. On this occasion I did not get a chance to use their pool and leisure centre but heard great reports about it from other guests. A very special thanks to a wonderful staff team who helped to make our stay so enjoyable. I look forward to staying in Whitford House Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay of the Whitford House Hotel and for indeed choosing to stay with us.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments on to our team.

Thank you again from myself and Team Whitford. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hello,

We stayed here last Tuesday night. Lovely hotel and staff. A special thanks to Ann on reception for everything. Food was very nice. Enjoyed our time in the Whitford and will definitely stay here again.

Eddie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdScul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly, couldn't do enough for you !! The food was excellent with great service. The waiters were brilliant. Swimming pool is very modern and child friendly with great sauna/steam room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay would highly recommend !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aidan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Aidan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Whitford House Hotel and also for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Wexford.

Your wonderful comments regarding our staff and our service are greatly appreciated. I will be certain to forward your review to our whole team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent hotel, good food, accomodation and service. Will return without hesitation. Position on outskirts of Wexford means access to most of the road network without having to find a route through the town.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of reception are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Arthur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to the Whitford House Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with all aspects of your stay. Your kind words mean a great deal both to the Whitty family and Team Whitford as we celebrate our 50th year in business.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Whitford House Hotel again soon.

Warmest regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked this hotel on a whim to take my wife and son away for a couple of nights. Got a really good rate and didn't really know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised, my 3 year old son loved the pool, we had a massive room, (3 double beds) with a balcony/patio area which would be nice in the summer. Hotel was very nice although felt a tiny bit dated (actual metal key for my room for instance). Food in bar/carvery is cheap and cheerful and plentiful, staff are very helpful and polite.

The restaurant is a bit off target I felt, it's trying to be fine dining but it's not quite there, when we dined there it was a fixed menu which bizarrely didn't have the price listed (you had to ask the staff which is a little embarrassing) however the food was nice and the service prompt and friendly.

Their kids menu options are excellent with lots to choose from and they are very large portions.

I would completely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice getaway in Wexford, we will be back for sure.

My only quibble is that there's no craft beer available in the bar (which is typical of most Irish hotels it seems) it would have been nice to have an option other than Guinness/Smithwicks etc. But again, this is just my own niggle and doesn't reflect on my experience on the whole.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garthicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Garthicus,

Thank you sincerely for your valuable feedback as we are dedicated to providing the very best in customer care to our guests. We are delighted that your family enjoyed your recent visit to Whitford.

In relation to your comments regarding the Craft Beer, coincidentally we are in the process of sourcing some good quality craft beers at present and look forward to having them on the menu shortly.

We apologise for the price omission on the Table d’Hote Menu on the evening in question, it was an error on our part. In the Season’s Restaurant the diner has the option to dine from our table d’hote menu or alternatively to choose a smaller option as it is also priced a la carte.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Whitford in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Property: Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing