We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here as a family.One time there was 15 of us.Me and my wife both stayed here as kids so we would like this tradition for our kids
The staff are all very friendly,hotel spotless and the food very good.
The only thing that did let it down was one evening we ordered food in the bar for the 5 of us.I went up to the bar to get a drink's and was left waiting 10 min while the bar man ignored me and served 4 people who came up to the bar after i was standing there.I was right by the beer pumps in front of him so he cant have not seen me.His name was "David" i think on his name badge.Why is it one person can ruin all the good work the other staff do.Its the only thing that let the holiday down.As a seasoned traveller with my job.Last year i took over 26 flights and stayed in a dozen hotels but this incident really got to me.I didn't bother going to the bar again and the next night we ate out.Its the only only bad thing i can say about our holiday.

Room Tip: Any time we have stayed the rooms have been of exxellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Gussie08,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us on so many occasions.

Your views are extremely important to us as it is only through feedback from pro-active guests like yourself that we can hope to maintain the high standards for which the Whitford House Hotel is renowned. I will ensure that this matter is investigated and I apologise that this incident affected your stay.

In saying this, I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Whitford House Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    206
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
236
295
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland, Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the 2nd time my family have stayed here. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The bar food is fantastic, the restaurant is even better....this hotel is ideal for families. Overall I found it very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Olandini,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Whitford House Hotel and for indeed choosing to stay with us again.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Whitford House Hotel again soon.

Warmest regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were at a One-name Gathering organised by the family who run the hotel, as this is also my wife's family name.
It was a thoroughly well-organised event, and the hotel was very comfortable. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and good ensuite bathroom, although the view was only of part of the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent, with a very good selection. The evening meals we had were most satisfactory, and the staff were very helpful. We had use of the swimming pool, and (once the children's lessons were over) we enjoyed our swim. The hotel is conveniently located on the edge of Wexford, just off the ring-road, so both going into town and exploring the area are easy. We would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear John,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

I am absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. The entire team will be over joyed with your comments and this will be a great motivator for the busy times ahead.

I sincerely hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Whitford House Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Whitford is really a family destination. My boyfriend and I went here for a romantic weekend away but it really was not the place for us. Our room was small and dark and very old fashioned. The bathroom wasn't great either. We ate at the restaurant and although the food was excellent and staff very friendly the tables around us were being set for breakfast while we ate our meal. At 8 in the evening it is completely unnecessary to set the room for breakfast when people are having their dinner. The restaurant was oddly lit. Only half the room was in light while the rest was in darkness which is not very relaxing. The bar was busy the night we stayed so there is plenty of life. The leisure centre is quite nice. The pool and jacuzzi are the two best features. If you are looking for a great place for the kids then whitford is the destination. If you're a couple looking for something special you should look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Amihill,

Thank you sincerely for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed our internationally awarded Leisure Club and the excellent food and service that Whitford is renowned for.

We are naturally disappointed that in your opinion your guest room was not as you would have wished. For a quiet romantic getaway in the peak season, we would always recommend our first floor or indeed our superior deluxe rooms. it is most regrettable that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay as we would have been delighted to have exceeded your expectations and not to have fallen short of them.

In relation to your comment on our recently refurbished Season’s Restaurant, we experienced a minor fuse problem on the Saturday evening of your stay which unfortunately affected one section of the restaurant lighting. This was corrected once all diners departed on the same evening and I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you again for your time and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to Whitford at some future date.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having stayed a twice before we bought the kids for a weekend break.we had a very warm friendly welcome from the staff and really enjoyed the stay.Top class dining in seasons restaurant with an excellent kids menu the best I have seen yet, Very family friendly and relaxing atmosphere.we diffinitly will be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melandfergaloneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mel and Fergal,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Whitford House Hotel recently and also for taking the time to write your review.

Your wonderful comments regarding our staff and our service are greatly appreciated. I will be certain to forward your review to our whole team.

I’m delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you all to Whitford on your next return to Wexford.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This very impressive, very modern Whitty family hotel has all the charm and grace of old Ireland. Just out of Wexford town on the Rosslare road with some 40 rooms with plenty of space, parking, excellent food and friendly service and Irish musicians in the lounge bar most nights. The Wexford locals love the place.
We had three nights there for a family reunion with 120 guests from the USA, Canada, the UK and Ireland and I believe all of them would go back anytime.
David and Lesley Gray, Victoria, Australia.

Room Tip: The hotel is on two levels and some have balconies. Take your swimmers, summer or winter, as they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidalangray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear David,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Whitford House Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the weekend of the Whitty Clan Rally, a great weekend was had by all.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our first trip away with a young baby , everything was well catered for on arrival and all requests met( ground floor room which was extremely quiet ) .The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble to ask for. The food in both the restaurant and bar was fantastic and service was very efficient. The pool was perfect , the right temperature and not too busy , the changing rooms were well equipped and clean . There was always a life guard on duty and the pool was well maintained . I had a massage which was also excellent ( by Debbie) All round a prefect hotel for a family getaway , there is also a play ground for older kids, a swing for younger children would be a welcome addition . Will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byrne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford House H, Guest Relations Manager at Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Byrne2013,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Whitford House Hotel.

Your positive feedback regarding the service, the quality of food received, our dedicated team along with the leisure centre facilities is most welcome. .

Thank you again from myself and Team Whitford. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eilish Whitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Property: Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing